$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Aston Waikiki Beachside

2 stars
2452 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
262 reviews
Aston Waikiki Beachside

This hotel was small, clean and in a fantastic location across the street from the beach. For a... See full review

  • Bob1966
  • Jan 16, 2014
Great Time for Ava's Birthday

We stayed in Waikiki for my girlfriends birthday! She enjoyed every minute. The hotel location was... See full review

  • Hawaii Birthday Surprise
  • Jun 16, 2014
Exotic beachside hotel priced for value

The Aston Waikiki Beachside features a taste of Hawaii's Asian element through exotic furnishings and artwork from around the world. Original style is matched by grand, panoramic views of Waikiki Beach and the Pacific Ocean from many rooms. Located on Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's main shopping and dining street, Aston Waikiki Beachside sits amongst Waikiki's favorite attractions. This stylish hotel, priced to suit a modest budget, is also a member of the Green Hotels Association.

Highlights
  • Ideal location on Kalakaua Avenue  along Waikiki Beach and a short walk from Kapiolani Park
  • 24-hour front desk and guest services agent
Location

The hotel sits across the street from the best sand and swimming stretch of Waikiki Beach and right on Waikiki's most happening shopping and dining strip. A 10- to 15-minute walk takes you to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the enormous Kapiolani Park, perfect for walking, jogging and bird watching.


Rooms

Rooms reside in a tall tower, but offer a personal, boutique feel. Decorated in blonde wood, creams, pale blues and accented with creative furnishings such as Chinoiserie cabinets, rooms have a soothing effect. All rooms include a refrigerator, safe, air conditioning, TV and telephone with voice mail. Some rooms have balconies, marble showers and sweeping ocean views.

Dining

Walk to Kalakaua Avenue for a collection of budget-friendly and fine dining favorites. Noteworthy mid-priced choices nearby include Hula Grill Waikiki and The Cheesecake Factory, located at the Royal Hawaiian Center.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Diamond Head Crater
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center

 

 

Hotel Map

21.2751 -157.8245
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Overlooking famous Waikiki Beach and located four blocks from Honolulu Zoo and just two blocks from International Market Place.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beachside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beachside Rooms

Standard Interior Hotel Room
Standard Interior Hotel Room with one Queen bed and corridor window. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Moderate Hotel Room
Moderate Hotel Room with private lanai and one King bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Partial Ocean View Hotel Room
Partial Ocean View Hotel Room with one Queen bed. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Ocean View Hotel Room
Ocean View Hotel Room with private lanai and one Queen bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Deluxe Ocean View Hotel Room
Deluxe Ocean View Hotel Room with private lanai and one Queen bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beachside

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 262
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Kavikas mom
Oxnard, California
Feb 14, 2014

More than i expected

I thought I was getting a room with two twin beds, instead I got a room overlooking the beach and a queen bed. Nice upgrade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PeteSC
San Carlos
Jan 6, 2014

Great Location

Great location. Partial ocean view rooms has lots of noise from A/C of the adjacent building. Interior A/C is also a in-wall unit and quite noisy as well. I needed ear plugs. Some Room Key problems as well. Otherwise a lovely location and great people that work in the hotel make up for these smaller inconveniences...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT Steakhouse has a good food

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PeteSC
San Carlos
Dec 30, 2013

Great Location

It's a very nice location in Waikiki. Hotel is better than most other 2-3 star hotels around that area. Parking is adjacent and valet-type but not too complicated ($23/day - dec 2013). There are some issues with shower doors so bathrooms get soaked up, and also sometimes key cards are not working, but those are really minor technical glitches that excellent staff makes up for as much as they can!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not stay in Waikiki for beach activities. It's definitely the worse water quality you will find on the island. Go pick one beach on North Shore and/or Kailua region and just spend your sun/swim time there away from hustle and bustle of Waikiki. You should rent a car for that purpose as The Bus may be too complicated to take around the island, although it exists!

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Rez
Long Beach, CA
Sep 14, 2012

Great choice!

Based on the reviews I read I chose this hotel. Everything in the review was true to statement. I will stay there again based on the staff and location. Great price, great location. Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A cheap way that I found to see much of the island without getting lost was the bus. There's a bus that could take you anywhere. It gives you the chance to not get lost, not have to drive, and save some money. The bus is $2.50, but you get a return ticket that allows you to go back for free. So really, it's only $1.25 each way. I merely put in where I wanted to go into my MAP app on my phone and it gave me the bus number, time of pick up, location to catch, as well as distance and ETA. Just a simple way to see the island and the common everyday folk from the island. I enjoyed my experience from not having to drive myself around as well as feel cheated for being over charged for a taxi ride.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
skim shady
marina del rey, ca
May 27, 2012

ok just to sleep

perfect location, but rooms are not good. staff is friendly but the parking is confusing. Definitely call in advance to ask about where to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Goldendale, WA
Jun 6, 2011

Horrible, not sure where to begin!

I stayed 10 nights at the Aston Waikiki Beachside. I arrived to find my room not only did not have a closet for my clothes but also the window was slats in the entrance door. I was assigned another room with 2 tiny, uncomfortable beds and a view of a concrete wall. I had two issues with noise, one entailed the room right next door that they were doing repairs to..Hammering, drilling banging. The man from the hotel doing the repairs apologized and said if I wanted to send myself something from the menu that the hotel would pay for it. I mentioned this to the front desk and was told they would not do something like that. I was then awakend another morning at 7:30 AM to more construction noises. It was not uncommon to share the one and only elevator with construction workers or equipment. I complained to the front desk about the construction noises and was told they would be forwarded to management. I never received a response from management in regards to these events. On my last day I asked if the front desk could have a shuttle pick me up and take me to the airport. I then asked to change the time to earlier time to ensure I made it to the airport on time. I was under the impression it would cost $11. I went down stairs to find a limosine waiting for me. The man at the front desk said he arranged something with someone he knew. I asked about the price and was told their would be no additional cost. When I was dropped off I was told the cost would be $37 and paid this amount. There is no pool, no continental breakfast, the front walk looks like a construction zone and the entrance usually is full of laundry carts. It is also very dated and my room curtains had stains on them. My only positive comment regarding this hotel are some of the friendly employees. I would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Early bird breakfast special at Cheese Burger in Paradise between 7 and 11 for under $6.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Goldendale, WA
Jun 6, 2011

Horrible, not sure where to begin!

I stayed 10 nights at the Aston Waikiki Beachside. I arrived to find my room not only did not have a closet for my clothes but also the window was slats in the entrance door. I was assigned another room with 2 tiny, uncomfortable beds and a view of a concrete wall. I had two issues with noise, one entailed the room right next door that they were doing repairs to..Hammering, drilling banging. The man from the hotel doing the repairs apologized and said if I wanted to send myself something from the menu that the hotel would pay for it. I mentioned this to the front desk and was told they would not do something like that. I was then awakend another morning at 7:30 AM to more construction noises. It was not uncommon to share the one and only elevator with construction workers or equipment. I complained to the front desk about the construction noises and was told they would be forwarded to management. I never received a response from management in regards to these events. On my last day I asked if the front desk could have a shuttle pick me up and take me to the airport. I then asked to change the time to earlier time to ensure I made it to the airport on time. I was under the impression it would cost $11. I went down stairs to find a limosine waiting for me. The man at the front desk said he arranged something with someone he knew. I asked about the price and was told their would be no additional cost. When I was dropped off I was told the cost would be $37 and paid this amount. There is no pool, no continental breakfast, the front walk looks like a construction zone and the entrance usually is full of laundry carts. It is also very dated and my room curtains had stains on them. My only positive comment regarding this hotel are some of the friendly employees. I would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Early bird breakfast special at Cheese Burger in Paradise between 7 and 11 for under $6.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawaii
Apr 19, 2011

Great location and friendly staff

The Aston wikiki beachside is in a fantastic location on the main strip right across from the beach. It is a very basic hotel, it does need to be updated however it is clean, convenient and the staff are outstanding. I have traveled to many place and never received better service. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawaii
Apr 19, 2011

Great location and friendly staff

The Aston wikiki beachside is in a fantastic location on the main strip right across from the beach. It is a very basic hotel, it does need to be updated however it is clean, convenient and the staff are outstanding. I have traveled to many place and never received better service. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii traveller
New York, NY
Apr 16, 2011

Great price for a hotel on Waikiki beach

The hotel is in the center of Waikiki beach area. For the price it is a great hotel. Small but comfortable rooms (ask for one that faces the ocean at the time of booking). The service staff is extremely polite and shall help you with arranging transportation to and from the airport as well as to other places of interest such as Pearl harbor. There are many restaurants around the hotel which I found comfortable. The room service is good and the rooms are clean with a good bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Surfing, relaxing on the beach taking in the sun, parasailing, visit to Pearl Harbor and Honolulu Zoo.

Back to menu Return to top