$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beachside

2 stars
View map of 2452 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
199 reviews
Aston Waikiki Beachside

This hotel was small, clean and in a fantastic location across the street from the beach. For a... See full review

  • Bob1966
  • Jan 16, 2014
A Local's First Stay in Waikiki!

Definitely a good first stay in Waikiki, it took us a bit of time to find the hotel. But when we... See full review

  • Jenny C.
  • May 5, 2015

The Aston Waikiki Beachside features a taste of Hawaii's Asian element through exotic furnishings and artwork from around the world. Original style is matched by grand, panoramic views of Waikiki Beach and the Pacific Ocean from many rooms. Located on Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's main shopping and dining street, Aston Waikiki Beachside sits amongst Waikiki's favorite attractions. This stylish hotel, priced to suit a modest budget, is also a member of the Green Hotels Association.

Location

The hotel sits across the street from the best sand and swimming stretch of Waikiki Beach and right on Waikiki's most happening shopping and dining strip. A 10- to 15-minute walk takes you to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the enormous Kapiolani Park, perfect for walking, jogging and bird watching.


Dining

Walk to Kalakaua Avenue for a collection of budget-friendly and fine dining favorites. Noteworthy mid-priced choices nearby include Hula Grill Waikiki and The Cheesecake Factory, located at the Royal Hawaiian Center.

Rooms

Rooms reside in a tall tower, but offer a personal, boutique feel. Decorated in blonde wood, creams, pale blues and accented with creative furnishings such as Chinoiserie cabinets, rooms have a soothing effect. All rooms include a refrigerator, safe, air conditioning, TV and telephone with voice mail. Some rooms have balconies, marble showers and sweeping ocean views.

Highlights
  • Ideal location on Kalakaua Avenue  along Waikiki Beach and a short walk from Kapiolani Park
  • 24-hour front desk and guest services agent
Nearby attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Diamond Head Crater
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center

 

 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beachside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beachside Rooms

Standard Interior Hotel Room
Standard Interior Hotel Room with one Queen bed and corridor window. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Moderate Hotel Room
Moderate Hotel Room with private lanai and one King bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Partial Ocean View Hotel Room
Partial Ocean View Hotel Room with one Queen bed. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Ocean View Hotel Room
Ocean View Hotel Room with private lanai and one Queen bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Deluxe Ocean View Hotel Room
Deluxe Ocean View Hotel Room with private lanai and one Queen bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beachside

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose CA
Apr 5, 2010

Aqua Waikiki Beachside

I went shopping while I was there. Rooms smell like old furniture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lomelika
Business
Montebello Ca
Sep 19, 2010

suck

not good got their did'nt have our name on their system had 2 wait a very long time they finally gave us the only room available which was by a huge loud genarator had 2 hear that 247 it did'nt turn off ask them if they can please change us 2 a diferent room they said no cause they did'nt have nothing since they gave us the left over room and gave some1 elese the room we original had 2 had and just because you guys never send our reservation and to top it off we were on vacation 2 me is was not a vacation and I have been a customer 4 a while with you guys thanks a lot for the worst vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 28, 2011

Advertising non-existent amenities.

We're going to write a review about: (it may be extensive)Aston Waikiki Beachside hotel. (AWBS for short) This hotel is now called "Aqua Waikiki Beachside". (they were fast to change their name after our visit).They even handed out sheets with "Aston" printed on them, where they stuck their key-cards in.When booking the trip, we were under the impression we would be staying at the Aston Waikiki Beach hotel (and not the Aston Waikiki Beachside hotel). Based on the pictures/info (from the [...]website) we expected: a pool, fitness room, great view, clean rooms, music, sundeck. When we arrived at our destination, (which is 3 blocks from where we thought we would be) the staff greated us with the rehearsed: "Oh you must have looked at the wrong hotel".Just to be sure we hooked up our 3G phones and took a look at [...], indeed there was a difference in hotels, one was called Aston Waikiki Beachside and the other Aston Waikiki Beach.The Aston Waikiki Beachside hotel clearly listed a Fitness Room as an amenity, when we asked where it was we were told that there was no fitness room and the best they could do is sell us day passes for some gym, some where, some how (being vague on purpose here, since you'd need a bus to reach it). And again they pulled the rehearsed speach: "Oh you must have looked at the wrong hotel".Room(s):We booked the partial ocean view, which was recommended because it would be less noisy due to the traffic on the full ocean view.Even though it was on the 8th floor, there was an A/C exhaust on the lower level of the building and we could still hear it.Since the room was noisy we asked to see other rooms, we got to see a room with no view at all on the same floor, and a room above the first room on the 9th floor.All of them were pretty run down, the partial ocean view room on the 9th floor was the only one that did not have a busted toilet, but it smelled like paint thinner and was still noisy from the exhaust fan, it had a bigger bed though.Colors of the rooms were all washed out, pink looked like brown, gray looked like brown, white looked like brown. The room was facing directly into someone else's hotel room, located 6 feet from our window.Ceilings were painted after putting the wallpaper, and had a bunch of leaks, you could also clearly see the parts which were painted with a roller and a brush. (Probably not something to care about but this is just a quick observation)Location:This hotel is located one street from the beach, you can jaywalk to the beach, it will literally take you no more than 4 steps. (But there are a bunch of other hotels which make this possible, not for the same price though)Conclusion:If you're going to Oahu for the nightlife, and will spend 5 hours (per day) in your hotel after drinking yourself senseless. This is the hotel for you, you won't: smell the paint thinner, notice the broken bathrooms, or be bothered by the decor and claustrophobia inducing elevator.Otherwise shell out some extra cash, we did and didn't regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for healthy food, check out Vietnamese (Pho Old Saigon), Japanese(Izakaya), Korean(Mikawon) restaurants.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
drenee
Business
Iowa
Dec 18, 2011

Dive hotel

Its an older hotel that really needs updating. Rooms are so tiny!! Nice balcony tho if your beachside. No breakfast or microwave. No counter space in the bathroom. The beds kind of suck too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
drenee
Business
Iowa
Dec 22, 2011

Not good for honeymoon.

We stayed here on our honeymoon & were very disappointed. There is no counter space, no microwave, no free breakfast. Our tv broke our 1st night. Rooms are tiny. The only good thing is location and the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sgtrez
Business
scottsdale,az
Dec 30, 2012

Gross Hotel

Do not stay here unless your twenty something and have no need for comfort and your getting drunk everyday the bed was horrible, air cond never got any colder than 79 degrees and there was cockroaches. there is only one elevator on site and its horrible, some rooms come with no windows, our bed was gross

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave Kerri
Business
Aston Waikiki beachside
Feb 20, 2013

Small noisy room

Our room had a great view but the noise from the street below made it impossible to sleep with the door open. So close the door and try sleeping with the old window rattler air conditioner. 2 single beds? Apparently the hotel only has single beds! Old lifeless pillows. No tea and coffee making facilities. An antique safe only big enough for our passports and phones. Never again thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ness25
Business
San Diego, CA
May 28, 2014

Hawaii vacation

When we arrived, the hotel was less than stellar. Great location, right on the beach ad close to the main shopping areas BUT the hotel itself is old and worn down. The queen room was tiny, there was no counter space in the bathroom and the floors were tile! The staff and room service was great, but honestly, we wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aloha!
Business
D.C.
May 25, 2010

room look and smelled like a hurricane

The staff was very nice and friendly but the room sucked. It looked like they were in the process of renovating it but didn't finish. The bathroom ceiling had black spots and the paint was chipping(looked like old water damage). The closet smelled like mildew. The oceanview was beautiful though. Shopping is right in the area including a 7 11 like store next door which was very nice. Elevator carpet very dirty. you have to call for an ironing board also(not in every room).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki beach right across the street with a beautiful view. Swimming and surfing for good recreational activities.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
goutboy
Business
so.cal
Jan 31, 2011

cheap hotel , not always a good thing

staff was unaware of our booking and didnt have us written down as a reservation, the hotel had just been aquired by the chain we requested , and remodeling was being done while we were there,no resturant , or snack bar, store in hotel , it was rite across the street from a great beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top