$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beachside

2 stars
View map of 2452 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beachside

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 28, 2011

Advertising non-existent amenities.

We're going to write a review about: (it may be extensive)Aston Waikiki Beachside hotel. (AWBS for short) This hotel is now called "Aqua Waikiki Beachside". (they were fast to change their name after our visit).They even handed out sheets with "Aston" printed on them, where they stuck their key-cards in.When booking the trip, we were under the impression we would be staying at the Aston Waikiki Beach hotel (and not the Aston Waikiki Beachside hotel). Based on the pictures/info (from the [...]website) we expected: a pool, fitness room, great view, clean rooms, music, sundeck. When we arrived at our destination, (which is 3 blocks from where we thought we would be) the staff greated us with the rehearsed: "Oh you must have looked at the wrong hotel".Just to be sure we hooked up our 3G phones and took a look at [...], indeed there was a difference in hotels, one was called Aston Waikiki Beachside and the other Aston Waikiki Beach.The Aston Waikiki Beachside hotel clearly listed a Fitness Room as an amenity, when we asked where it was we were told that there was no fitness room and the best they could do is sell us day passes for some gym, some where, some how (being vague on purpose here, since you'd need a bus to reach it). And again they pulled the rehearsed speach: "Oh you must have looked at the wrong hotel".Room(s):We booked the partial ocean view, which was recommended because it would be less noisy due to the traffic on the full ocean view.Even though it was on the 8th floor, there was an A/C exhaust on the lower level of the building and we could still hear it.Since the room was noisy we asked to see other rooms, we got to see a room with no view at all on the same floor, and a room above the first room on the 9th floor.All of them were pretty run down, the partial ocean view room on the 9th floor was the only one that did not have a busted toilet, but it smelled like paint thinner and was still noisy from the exhaust fan, it had a bigger bed though.Colors of the rooms were all washed out, pink looked like brown, gray looked like brown, white looked like brown. The room was facing directly into someone else's hotel room, located 6 feet from our window.Ceilings were painted after putting the wallpaper, and had a bunch of leaks, you could also clearly see the parts which were painted with a roller and a brush. (Probably not something to care about but this is just a quick observation)Location:This hotel is located one street from the beach, you can jaywalk to the beach, it will literally take you no more than 4 steps. (But there are a bunch of other hotels which make this possible, not for the same price though)Conclusion:If you're going to Oahu for the nightlife, and will spend 5 hours (per day) in your hotel after drinking yourself senseless. This is the hotel for you, you won't: smell the paint thinner, notice the broken bathrooms, or be bothered by the decor and claustrophobia inducing elevator.Otherwise shell out some extra cash, we did and didn't regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for healthy food, check out Vietnamese (Pho Old Saigon), Japanese(Izakaya), Korean(Mikawon) restaurants.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Mar 28, 2011

GREAT hotel!!!!

This hotel is in a great location right across the street from Waikiki beach. If you are looking for a hotel with alot of extras this hotel is NOT for you. It is a very simple hotel, no extras...but you are in Hawaii you are not going to be in your room much! The staff there was excellent and always willing to help. We have plans of returning to Oahu and would stay there again in a heartbeat, only thing I would change is we would upgrade for one of the ocean view rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rhonda Navy Mom
Business
Middletown, Ohio
Mar 25, 2011

Vintage feel, clean room,great staff

The hotel wasnt top of the line,but I wasnt paying top of the line either. I knew this going in because of the reviews I had read. My thoughts are as long as my room is clean and bug free Im good. The location was perfect! I was'nt renting a car and I knew I would have to walk for what I wanted or needed...not a problem! The hotel is right across the street from the beach and lots of things to see in a very comfortable walking distance! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would use them again if given an opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When visiting use the travel concierge located in upper lobbey of hotel. I saved quite a bit booking a Luau and a tour package to see Pearl Harbor. The tour buses picked me up right around the corner from the hotel. Both trips were well organized and guides were very amusing.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portland or
Mar 4, 2011

30 years together

no kreakfast as it was promoted

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
goutboy
Business
so.cal
Jan 31, 2011

cheap hotel , not always a good thing

staff was unaware of our booking and didnt have us written down as a reservation, the hotel had just been aquired by the chain we requested , and remodeling was being done while we were there,no resturant , or snack bar, store in hotel , it was rite across the street from a great beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jan 22, 2011

title

free wifi all over. visit friends and family. it was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jan 12, 2011

Beachside Hotel

perfectly well, remarkably, great, excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva, CH
Jan 4, 2011

Perfect for what we needed

Reception staff were very friendly & helpful. The room was small but clean and had all the necessaries: fridge, TV, safe & hairdryer. We had a balcony with beachside view which was also small but perfect for 2. The price was also very reasonable for Christmas time. Hotel location couldn't have been better, right in the middle of Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva, CH
Jan 4, 2011

Perfect for what we needed

Reception staff were very friendly & helpful. The room was small but clean and had all the necessaries: fridge, TV, safe & hairdryer. We had a balcony with beachside view which was also small but perfect for 2. The price was also very reasonable for Christmas time. Hotel location couldn't have been better, right in the middle of Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
avion
Business
Texas
Dec 29, 2010

Very friendly staff, but, poor facility!

Hotel has a very good location, friendly staff, however, poor facility quality... Standard room has no window, and it does not say anywhere until you check in and enter your room.[...]Another thing: "Complimentary Breakfast"I thought it was at the hotel. But, hotel has neither dining facility nor breakfast availability. Complimentary breakfast is provided by another company who is supposed to come and pick you up from the hotel.The first day , they forgot me at the hotel. The second day they picked me up and we went to Miramar Hotel breakfast facility. Now, here:1) Breakfast is disgusting and very little amount in size (Just egg, sausage and pancake) It's not even a buffet. Very disapoointing. 2)The breakfast comes with an orientation which is actually kind of advertisement of their own company's tours etc. They are taking advantage of the situation with the new comers who have not even been outside yet. They are speaking ill of other companies. And the worst: Even if you want to go back to your hotel by the shuttle which picked you up from your hotel in the morning, you need to take the mandatory "Maui Divers" tour. Unless you attend this mandatory tour, "you are not allowed to use the shuttle". "You have to make me us a compliment first attending the mandatory briefing, so we can allow you to use the shuttle.Last thing, guest welcomer lady named [...] was acting so shallow. As soon as she realized that I did not book for any of theirs tours, she was so mean and left excorting us.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top