$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beachside

2 stars
View map of 2452 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
173 reviews
Aston Waikiki Beachside

This hotel was small, clean and in a fantastic location across the street from the beach. For a... See full review

  • Bob1966
  • Jan 16, 2014
Budget hotel with just enough for a great trip in honolulu

I would say this hotel is best for those that want a place to crash only. It was clean enough and... See full review

  • Stevie the Beach Bunny
  • Dec 30, 2014
Exotic beachside hotel priced for value

The Aston Waikiki Beachside features a taste of Hawaii's Asian element through exotic furnishings and artwork from around the world. Original style is matched by grand, panoramic views of Waikiki Beach and the Pacific Ocean from many rooms. Located on Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's main shopping and dining street, Aston Waikiki Beachside sits amongst Waikiki's favorite attractions. This stylish hotel, priced to suit a modest budget, is also a member of the Green Hotels Association.

Highlights
  • Ideal location on Kalakaua Avenue  along Waikiki Beach and a short walk from Kapiolani Park
  • 24-hour front desk and guest services agent
Location

The hotel sits across the street from the best sand and swimming stretch of Waikiki Beach and right on Waikiki's most happening shopping and dining strip. A 10- to 15-minute walk takes you to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the enormous Kapiolani Park, perfect for walking, jogging and bird watching.


Rooms

Rooms reside in a tall tower, but offer a personal, boutique feel. Decorated in blonde wood, creams, pale blues and accented with creative furnishings such as Chinoiserie cabinets, rooms have a soothing effect. All rooms include a refrigerator, safe, air conditioning, TV and telephone with voice mail. Some rooms have balconies, marble showers and sweeping ocean views.

Dining

Walk to Kalakaua Avenue for a collection of budget-friendly and fine dining favorites. Noteworthy mid-priced choices nearby include Hula Grill Waikiki and The Cheesecake Factory, located at the Royal Hawaiian Center.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Diamond Head Crater
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center

 

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beachside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beachside Rooms

Standard Interior Hotel Room
Standard Interior Hotel Room with one Queen bed and corridor window. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Moderate Hotel Room
Moderate Hotel Room with private lanai and one King bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Partial Ocean View Hotel Room
Partial Ocean View Hotel Room with one Queen bed. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Ocean View Hotel Room
Ocean View Hotel Room with private lanai and one Queen bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Deluxe Ocean View Hotel Room
Deluxe Ocean View Hotel Room with private lanai and one Queen bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beachside

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Dec 19, 2010

Good

Many activities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 8, 2010

Excellent view

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
banko
Business
wisconsin
Nov 29, 2010

Good deal

Great location for the price. Easy access to transportation and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Not plush but comfotable and clean. Would definitly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eugene Oregon
Oct 28, 2010

Fantastic Location, Nice Hotel.

The hotel was very nice, clean, and the staff make you feel like family. Ocean view is beautiful. But you can not get a better Location. Loved it all will be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

.cheeseburger in paradise is a must stop. If you think you can take down a big burger try the Garbage burger it is a beast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san farancisco
Oct 23, 2010

waikiki hotel

The hotel rooms were run down, really bad oder from the shower drain. The hotel staff was anything but helpful. There's travel timeshare person at the front of the hotel, so you always harrass when going in/out of the hotel. would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 24, 2010

Great location for the price

After checking in, we entered a room with no windows or even a balcony. Staff quickly suggested that we upgrade to an ocean view suite for additional fee. When we informed them that no where in room description did it say we would be staying in a jail sell, they gave us a room with a small balcony facing another building. But any light is better than none. For the price, this is a great location, but unless you get ocean view suite, rooms were below our minimum expectaions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lomelika
Business
Montebello Ca
Sep 19, 2010

suck

not good got their did'nt have our name on their system had 2 wait a very long time they finally gave us the only room available which was by a huge loud genarator had 2 hear that 247 it did'nt turn off ask them if they can please change us 2 a diferent room they said no cause they did'nt have nothing since they gave us the left over room and gave some1 elese the room we original had 2 had and just because you guys never send our reservation and to top it off we were on vacation 2 me is was not a vacation and I have been a customer 4 a while with you guys thanks a lot for the worst vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW, TX
Aug 13, 2010

No frills but who cares - I'm in Hawaii!

Small hotel, 6 rooms per floor I think. Rooms are small but we were gone most of the day and just needed a place to sleep. If you're looking for a fancy hotel - this is not it but if you want a decent/ budget friendly place to stay this is great. Our group had 3 rooms and all of us loved the beds. We didn't know there wasn't a bathtub - only showers. They have beach towels and blow dryers so you don't have to bring them. The market place is just a couple of blocks away and great for souvenirs and the food court - it goes really far back and we didn't find the food court til the last day! Blazin steaks is a simple asian food place a block behind the hotel with great food and great prices! ABC store is right next door for anything you need and McD's right beside that. There are awesome street performers and crafters at night that were very entertaining. We were dying to snorkel and we just bought snorkels from the ABC store and found the best spot was RIGHT in front of the hotel out by the wall. Schools of fish and we even saw a huge sea turtle! There guys outside the hotel that offer a huge discount on certain things if you listen to the 90 min timeshare shpill. We got a discount on a rental van for the week out of the deal and felt like it was worth spending our time (again with the budget). Of course we didn't buy the timeshare thing - it's a total rip off. The location is great - right off the beach , close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
criterz99
Business
Oceanside, ca
Jul 11, 2010

Great Location, strange decor

We stayed in this hotel 1 night after coming back fromt eh Big Island. We had stayed at another Aqua hotel earlier in our trip and loved the hotel. This hotel was hard to find at first but the guy working the front desk was very helpful. There is only a 3 minute unloading zone in the front of the hotel with no cart available to use for our luggage. Upon check-in, in which the guy at the desk was nice and didn't charge us the $22/day fee because we were only there 1 night, we went up to the room. The elevator is very small barely fit my son in his stroller, my husband, and myself. We arrrived at the room and the decor was very outdate and mirror were eveywhere, which could be a pro or a con. Had a frige in room which is a plus. The only part that looked like it had something new was the bathroom sink. The location is directly across from Waikiki beach. That is a plus and if they would update the rooms I would stay here again no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christy D
Business
Bozeman, MT
Jul 3, 2010

Somewhere to sleep when not at beach

We were comfortable sleeping at this hotel and the staff was friendly, but many things were either broken or dirty, our view was a white wall, and the fitness center "discount" was a one TIME pass which you had to pay 10 dollars for anyway. The WiFi was only on the second floor, and didn't work very well either. It was basically just a building with rooms, but was right across from the beach, which was nice. We could have upgraded to a much better hotel for only about $500 more a week, and will do that next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit up www.facebook.com/nuggetstyle for info about the nightclub Zanzabar! It was a fun, upscale but laid back place to go and only a short walk from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top