$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Aston Waikiki Beachside

2 stars
2452 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
169 reviews
Aston Waikiki Beachside

This hotel was small, clean and in a fantastic location across the street from the beach. For a... See full review

  • Bob1966
  • Jan 16, 2014
Bed is all we needed!

If your style is to get out and see things and do then this is your place. We used the hotel for... See full review

  • TravelPRO123
  • Aug 1, 2014
Exotic beachside hotel priced for value

The Aston Waikiki Beachside features a taste of Hawaii's Asian element through exotic furnishings and artwork from around the world. Original style is matched by grand, panoramic views of Waikiki Beach and the Pacific Ocean from many rooms. Located on Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's main shopping and dining street, Aston Waikiki Beachside sits amongst Waikiki's favorite attractions. This stylish hotel, priced to suit a modest budget, is also a member of the Green Hotels Association.

Highlights
  • Ideal location on Kalakaua Avenue  along Waikiki Beach and a short walk from Kapiolani Park
  • 24-hour front desk and guest services agent
Location

The hotel sits across the street from the best sand and swimming stretch of Waikiki Beach and right on Waikiki's most happening shopping and dining strip. A 10- to 15-minute walk takes you to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the enormous Kapiolani Park, perfect for walking, jogging and bird watching.


Rooms

Rooms reside in a tall tower, but offer a personal, boutique feel. Decorated in blonde wood, creams, pale blues and accented with creative furnishings such as Chinoiserie cabinets, rooms have a soothing effect. All rooms include a refrigerator, safe, air conditioning, TV and telephone with voice mail. Some rooms have balconies, marble showers and sweeping ocean views.

Dining

Walk to Kalakaua Avenue for a collection of budget-friendly and fine dining favorites. Noteworthy mid-priced choices nearby include Hula Grill Waikiki and The Cheesecake Factory, located at the Royal Hawaiian Center.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Diamond Head Crater
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center

 

 

Hotel Map

21.2751 -157.8245
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Overlooking famous Waikiki Beach and located four blocks from Honolulu Zoo and just two blocks from International Market Place.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beachside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beachside Rooms

Standard Interior Hotel Room
Standard Interior Hotel Room with one Queen bed and corridor window. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Moderate Hotel Room
Moderate Hotel Room with private lanai and one King bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Partial Ocean View Hotel Room
Partial Ocean View Hotel Room with one Queen bed. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Ocean View Hotel Room
Ocean View Hotel Room with private lanai and one Queen bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Deluxe Ocean View Hotel Room
Deluxe Ocean View Hotel Room with private lanai and one Queen bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beachside

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Paul, MN
May 11, 2011

Great location and staff!

This hotel was great for the price. We received great value because it was right across from the beach. The staff was very friendly. The hotel rooms are small but clean. The bathroom is the nicest part of the room, but in Oahu we barely spent time in our hotel room so it worked out perfectly. There is construction as they renovate the hotel but it usually wasn't too early in the morning. It is located right next to an ABC store and great sushi is right down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly recommend eating at Morimoto's if you have the chance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
candombero
oakland, ca
May 2, 2011

hotel under construction

Great views. Right in front of the ocean, but we couln't open the courtin because the hotel was under construction and there was people going up and down in a platform in front ofthe hotel. The air conditioner stoped working midway on vacation. Everything was really old and the tv was from mid 80's. I did not really liked it at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
wisconsin
May 2, 2011

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawaii
Apr 19, 2011

Great location and friendly staff

The Aston wikiki beachside is in a fantastic location on the main strip right across from the beach. It is a very basic hotel, it does need to be updated however it is clean, convenient and the staff are outstanding. I have traveled to many place and never received better service. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii traveller
New York, NY
Apr 16, 2011

Great price for a hotel on Waikiki beach

The hotel is in the center of Waikiki beach area. For the price it is a great hotel. Small but comfortable rooms (ask for one that faces the ocean at the time of booking). The service staff is extremely polite and shall help you with arranging transportation to and from the airport as well as to other places of interest such as Pearl harbor. There are many restaurants around the hotel which I found comfortable. The room service is good and the rooms are clean with a good bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Surfing, relaxing on the beach taking in the sun, parasailing, visit to Pearl Harbor and Honolulu Zoo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Falls Church, Virginia
Apr 14, 2011

Wonderful location, very friendly staff

It is an older hotel, internet only in lobby. The price, staff, and location make this a very good choice. Right across street from the beach and the area that provides free Hawaiian entertainment many nights of the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No car needed, just hop the bus. Special excursions easily arranged by concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The travelling Mel
Minnesota and Illinois
Apr 7, 2011

The sight of relaxation...

There is a huge banyan tree out front. The service you receive from the hotel is outstanding. Thank you [...], Though the hotel is outdated the location is grand. There are stores everywhere. Those with a budget will find that this hotel is a bit steep when trying to save money. There are no in-room microwave. The furniture is outdated. The wait on the elevator can get mundane. The activities are great that they provide. Your first day here should be to relax and enjoy the scenes from the ocean front lanai. Warning!! There are rooms that face the wall and have no windows at all. Perfect for those light sleepers. Make sure you get your choice when book. However oceanfront rooms will get you a very loud 4am to 2am from city life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Mar 28, 2011

Advertising non-existent amenities.

We're going to write a review about: (it may be extensive)Aston Waikiki Beachside hotel. (AWBS for short) This hotel is now called "Aqua Waikiki Beachside". (they were fast to change their name after our visit).They even handed out sheets with "Aston" printed on them, where they stuck their key-cards in.When booking the trip, we were under the impression we would be staying at the Aston Waikiki Beach hotel (and not the Aston Waikiki Beachside hotel). Based on the pictures/info (from the [...]website) we expected: a pool, fitness room, great view, clean rooms, music, sundeck. When we arrived at our destination, (which is 3 blocks from where we thought we would be) the staff greated us with the rehearsed: "Oh you must have looked at the wrong hotel".Just to be sure we hooked up our 3G phones and took a look at [...], indeed there was a difference in hotels, one was called Aston Waikiki Beachside and the other Aston Waikiki Beach.The Aston Waikiki Beachside hotel clearly listed a Fitness Room as an amenity, when we asked where it was we were told that there was no fitness room and the best they could do is sell us day passes for some gym, some where, some how (being vague on purpose here, since you'd need a bus to reach it). And again they pulled the rehearsed speach: "Oh you must have looked at the wrong hotel".Room(s):We booked the partial ocean view, which was recommended because it would be less noisy due to the traffic on the full ocean view.Even though it was on the 8th floor, there was an A/C exhaust on the lower level of the building and we could still hear it.Since the room was noisy we asked to see other rooms, we got to see a room with no view at all on the same floor, and a room above the first room on the 9th floor.All of them were pretty run down, the partial ocean view room on the 9th floor was the only one that did not have a busted toilet, but it smelled like paint thinner and was still noisy from the exhaust fan, it had a bigger bed though.Colors of the rooms were all washed out, pink looked like brown, gray looked like brown, white looked like brown. The room was facing directly into someone else's hotel room, located 6 feet from our window.Ceilings were painted after putting the wallpaper, and had a bunch of leaks, you could also clearly see the parts which were painted with a roller and a brush. (Probably not something to care about but this is just a quick observation)Location:This hotel is located one street from the beach, you can jaywalk to the beach, it will literally take you no more than 4 steps. (But there are a bunch of other hotels which make this possible, not for the same price though)Conclusion:If you're going to Oahu for the nightlife, and will spend 5 hours (per day) in your hotel after drinking yourself senseless. This is the hotel for you, you won't: smell the paint thinner, notice the broken bathrooms, or be bothered by the decor and claustrophobia inducing elevator.Otherwise shell out some extra cash, we did and didn't regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for healthy food, check out Vietnamese (Pho Old Saigon), Japanese(Izakaya), Korean(Mikawon) restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Mar 28, 2011

GREAT hotel!!!!

This hotel is in a great location right across the street from Waikiki beach. If you are looking for a hotel with alot of extras this hotel is NOT for you. It is a very simple hotel, no extras...but you are in Hawaii you are not going to be in your room much! The staff there was excellent and always willing to help. We have plans of returning to Oahu and would stay there again in a heartbeat, only thing I would change is we would upgrade for one of the ocean view rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rhonda Navy Mom
Middletown, Ohio
Mar 25, 2011

Vintage feel, clean room,great staff

The hotel wasnt top of the line,but I wasnt paying top of the line either. I knew this going in because of the reviews I had read. My thoughts are as long as my room is clean and bug free Im good. The location was perfect! I was'nt renting a car and I knew I would have to walk for what I wanted or needed...not a problem! The hotel is right across the street from the beach and lots of things to see in a very comfortable walking distance! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would use them again if given an opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When visiting use the travel concierge located in upper lobbey of hotel. I saved quite a bit booking a Luau and a tour package to see Pearl Harbor. The tour buses picked me up right around the corner from the hotel. Both trips were well organized and guides were very amusing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search