$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Aston Waikiki Beachside

2 stars
2452 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
169 reviews
Aston Waikiki Beachside

This hotel was small, clean and in a fantastic location across the street from the beach. For a... See full review

  • Bob1966
  • Jan 16, 2014
Bed is all we needed!

If your style is to get out and see things and do then this is your place. We used the hotel for... See full review

  • TravelPRO123
  • Aug 1, 2014
Exotic beachside hotel priced for value

The Aston Waikiki Beachside features a taste of Hawaii's Asian element through exotic furnishings and artwork from around the world. Original style is matched by grand, panoramic views of Waikiki Beach and the Pacific Ocean from many rooms. Located on Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's main shopping and dining street, Aston Waikiki Beachside sits amongst Waikiki's favorite attractions. This stylish hotel, priced to suit a modest budget, is also a member of the Green Hotels Association.

Highlights
  • Ideal location on Kalakaua Avenue  along Waikiki Beach and a short walk from Kapiolani Park
  • 24-hour front desk and guest services agent
Location

The hotel sits across the street from the best sand and swimming stretch of Waikiki Beach and right on Waikiki's most happening shopping and dining strip. A 10- to 15-minute walk takes you to the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the enormous Kapiolani Park, perfect for walking, jogging and bird watching.


Rooms

Rooms reside in a tall tower, but offer a personal, boutique feel. Decorated in blonde wood, creams, pale blues and accented with creative furnishings such as Chinoiserie cabinets, rooms have a soothing effect. All rooms include a refrigerator, safe, air conditioning, TV and telephone with voice mail. Some rooms have balconies, marble showers and sweeping ocean views.

Dining

Walk to Kalakaua Avenue for a collection of budget-friendly and fine dining favorites. Noteworthy mid-priced choices nearby include Hula Grill Waikiki and The Cheesecake Factory, located at the Royal Hawaiian Center.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Diamond Head Crater
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center

 

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beachside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beachside Rooms

Standard Interior Hotel Room
Standard Interior Hotel Room with one Queen bed and corridor window. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Moderate Hotel Room
Moderate Hotel Room with private lanai and one King bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Partial Ocean View Hotel Room
Partial Ocean View Hotel Room with one Queen bed. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Ocean View Hotel Room
Ocean View Hotel Room with private lanai and one Queen bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.
Deluxe Ocean View Hotel Room
Deluxe Ocean View Hotel Room with private lanai and one Queen bed or two Twin beds. Includes clock radio, color cable TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beachside

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sor.to.Ceb
Business
Bay Area, NorCAL
Oct 8, 2011

Oceanfront...

...but that's about the only good thing about this hotel. My oceanfront room is smaller than my master's bedroom; even the elevator only fits 4 people at a time. I noticed a few guests wanting to check out once they found out how tiny their rooms were. Some European guests were ok w/ small rooms from speaking w/ a couple of them. It's notable as well how a couple of front desk personnel were nicer once their supervisor was around. Housekeeping personnel were very nice and friendly but that alone won't make me stay at this Aston property again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

be smart. eat out and find some local grinds instead; of course hotel dining is always a tourist trap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sherrylynn
Business
Ohio, USA
Sep 22, 2011

anniversary vacation

we had a really good time. The hotel was in a great location and the staff was very helpful ith anything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sig443
Business
hawaii
Aug 10, 2011

waikiki beachside

It was nothing spectacular but would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the nightlife. Its awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Green Taco
Business
Pasadena, Tx
Aug 9, 2011

WaikikiBeachside

Not hotel I thought I was getting. 2 Aston Waikiki's within 2 blocks of each other, this one was missing Aston name. When I went to first one and was told I was not registered, I drove by the first several times before I found it. Older hotelmy room had a wonderful view of the wall of the next hotel, rooms small, up graded to ocean view room, be careful what you wish for ocean view on west side of building room never got below 80 degrees. Got a fan last 2 days which made it livable. Could not ask for better desk staff and concierge [...] was a great help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn trolley and bus routes save walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 14, 2011

When size matter

We had good Ocean view However the Room Size was way to SMALL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
qarlik
Business
Northbrook Il
Jun 10, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Overall was ok, but hotel stuff wasn`t very polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
saints super bowl 44
Business
death valley, ca
Jun 6, 2011

FANTASTIC FAMILY GETAWAY

We went a luau and the harbor tour and everything was very good, if we every take another trip to Hawaii this would be our requested place to stay. The hotel personnel were very polite and treated us like we were family could not ask for a better place to stay anywhere in hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I am a disabled veteran, and every time we went somewhere we were picked upped in front of the hotel or just a short walk to the place to be picked upped.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Goldendale, WA
Jun 6, 2011

Horrible, not sure where to begin!

I stayed 10 nights at the Aston Waikiki Beachside. I arrived to find my room not only did not have a closet for my clothes but also the window was slats in the entrance door. I was assigned another room with 2 tiny, uncomfortable beds and a view of a concrete wall. I had two issues with noise, one entailed the room right next door that they were doing repairs to..Hammering, drilling banging. The man from the hotel doing the repairs apologized and said if I wanted to send myself something from the menu that the hotel would pay for it. I mentioned this to the front desk and was told they would not do something like that. I was then awakend another morning at 7:30 AM to more construction noises. It was not uncommon to share the one and only elevator with construction workers or equipment. I complained to the front desk about the construction noises and was told they would be forwarded to management. I never received a response from management in regards to these events. On my last day I asked if the front desk could have a shuttle pick me up and take me to the airport. I then asked to change the time to earlier time to ensure I made it to the airport on time. I was under the impression it would cost $11. I went down stairs to find a limosine waiting for me. The man at the front desk said he arranged something with someone he knew. I asked about the price and was told their would be no additional cost. When I was dropped off I was told the cost would be $37 and paid this amount. There is no pool, no continental breakfast, the front walk looks like a construction zone and the entrance usually is full of laundry carts. It is also very dated and my room curtains had stains on them. My only positive comment regarding this hotel are some of the friendly employees. I would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Early bird breakfast special at Cheese Burger in Paradise between 7 and 11 for under $6.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Union City, Ca
May 26, 2011

Hotel Pictures are VERY misleading

The entrance and lobby foreshadow the overall experience you get from this hotel; grimey and disgusting. The elevator looked like it has never been serviced, and the room i booked had no window! The only highlight of this hotel was that it was a beachfront hotel, in the heart of waikiki and close to many good restaurants. Stay here if you don't plan to be in your room to relax and don't mind if your stuff can potentially be stolen by the staff. Oh yeah the staff is about a 2 star in my book too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
huskergirl
Business
Silver Lake, KS
May 16, 2011

Waikiki Beachside hotel

Location was great, why I chose the hotel. The view was blocked by a large tree on the 5th floor, even though i called and had requested a higher floor as i read about this problem before going! So that was kind of disappointing, but I did have a partial ocean view. Had construction going on one day but was not too bothersome. Staff nice, parking was convienent once found it! Was good experience and would stay there again. Could have sworn I've read this hotel had a comp breakfast but they did not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top