$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beachside

2 stars
View map of 2452 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beachside

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hal the happy warrier
Business
Walla Walla, Wash.
Feb 17, 2013

great location on Waikiki beach

The room was very comfortable and it had a nice view of the ocean. We missed not having a bar or eating facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A little windy and you need to have a little warmer clothes than shorts and a light jacket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adventure Jane
Business
Michigan
Jan 14, 2013

Great stay

Even though it is nothing to ride home about it, this hotel is in a great spot and is all you need for a good night sleep. Good cleaning crew and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to many local attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DBAA
Business
Jersey
Jan 1, 2013

Vacation

Overall, the hotel was nice except it could be updated a bit since the TV was old fashioned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sgtrez
Business
scottsdale,az
Dec 30, 2012

Gross Hotel

Do not stay here unless your twenty something and have no need for comfort and your getting drunk everyday the bed was horrible, air cond never got any colder than 79 degrees and there was cockroaches. there is only one elevator on site and its horrible, some rooms come with no windows, our bed was gross

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HAWAII WEDDING
Business
TILLAMOOK , OREGON
Nov 17, 2012

Deal

How much time do you spend in your room? You are in Hawaii, If you are going to be there to sleep, change and get dressed, you need a place to keep your belongings. Then this works, it is on the strip, across form the statue of Duke, right next door to the coveted Eggs and Things for the best "trendy" breakfast get there early to avoid line! No bugs, but no "extras", small rooms, no fancy tv's , but good price. you have the beach and every shop you could ever need, Nothing to brag about, but nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT USE THE THRIFTY/ DOLLAR RENTAL CAR WEST OF THE HOTEL ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES, VENDORS WILL SAY THEY WILL SET YOU UP HAVE YOU PAY THEN TAKE YOU THERE TO PICK UP A CAR....NO.. THEY TAKE YOU THERE DROP YOU OFF AFTER THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY . YOU WAIT IN LINE 2 ++ HOURS TO GET A CAR THEN THEY TRY TO GET MORE MONEY THEN IT IS ALMOST AS LONG TO RETURN IT.. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL PEOPLE!! UGHGHGH...HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE.. RENT FROM THE AIRPORT OR SOMEWHERE ELSE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DUTCH MAN
Business
MODESTO, CA
Oct 3, 2012

CONVENIENT

THE LOCATION IS PERFECT, BUT HARD TO FIND IF YOU ARE A FIRST TIME GUEST. PARKING IS INCONVENIENT IN AN UNDERGROUNJD GARAGE AT THE CORNER OF THE BLOCK, WHERE YOU MUST USE A VALET AND WILL BE CHARGED A DAILY FEE. THE ROOM IS CLEAN AND THE BEDS ARE COMFORTABLE. OUR BIGGEST COMPLAINT IS THE LACK OF SHELF SPACE. THE ROOM HAD NO TABLE OR DESK. JUST A SINK IN THE BATHROOM, NO COUNTER NEXT TO IT. WE HAD TO LAY EVERYTHING ON OUR BEDS WHEN GOING TO BED OR GETTING UP IN THE MORNING. THERE WAS DRAWER SPACE. NO LIGHT WHERE THE CLOSET WAS. WE HAD TO USE A FLASHLIGHT TO SEE. HAD OLD STYLE TV. HAS REFRIGERATOR AND A SAFE. GENERAL APPEARANCE OF THE HOTEL WAS OK, BUT THE INTERIOR OF THE ELEVATOR NEEDS UPGRADING. CONVENIENCE STORE, MCDONALDS AND COFFE SHOP IN THE SAME BLOCK. REMEMBER YOU ARE AT WAIKIKI BEACH IN THIS HOTEL AND THE SIDE WALKS ARE PACKED DURING THE DAY AND AT NIGHT. EXCELLENT LOCATION FOR BEACH LOVERS, WHICH IS JUST ACROSS THE STREET. WE WERE GONE DURING THE DAY AND THIS HOTEL FULFILLED OUR NEEDS WITH REASONABLE ROOM RATES .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IF YOU LIKE JAPANESE FOOD PREPARED AT YOUR TABLE, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND TANAKA OF TOKYO. SEAFOOD VILLAGE IS REASONABLE, GOOD AND HAS EARLY BIRD SPECIALS. BOTH PLACES ARE ON THE WAIKIKI BEACH STRIP.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Rez
Business
Long Beach, CA
Sep 14, 2012

Great choice!

Based on the reviews I read I chose this hotel. Everything in the review was true to statement. I will stay there again based on the staff and location. Great price, great location. Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A cheap way that I found to see much of the island without getting lost was the bus. There's a bus that could take you anywhere. It gives you the chance to not get lost, not have to drive, and save some money. The bus is $2.50, but you get a return ticket that allows you to go back for free. So really, it's only $1.25 each way. I merely put in where I wanted to go into my MAP app on my phone and it gave me the bus number, time of pick up, location to catch, as well as distance and ETA. Just a simple way to see the island and the common everyday folk from the island. I enjoyed my experience from not having to drive myself around as well as feel cheated for being over charged for a taxi ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skeptyk1
Business
Renfrew, PA
Jul 29, 2012

A great appreciation for "Old Style Hospitality"

We were greeted and treated kindly for our entire stay there. The staff are wonderful, always willing to help with directions or typical tourist information. Conveniently located accross the street from the beach. It's old style Hawai that's been maintained very well. We can't wait to go back there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to try the smaller restraunts off of the main streets for some really tasty Hawaiian local favorites. If you have a sweet tooth, try Ted's Hauapia pie. Musubi is also a breakfast food favorite among the locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FlyerGuy3
Business
USA
Jun 30, 2012

Good Location but...

Location can't get any better!!! Room wise, it is an average motel 8 with a better bed. TV is facing away from the bed and can't see it while you are in the bed. people in the hallway can see you sleeping in the bed due to the windows are not so well covered. Glass wall facing the hallway covered with curtains. No counter-top space in the bathroom. Everything had to be placed on the top of the toilet water tank. Very nice lady at the counter in the early evening but rude male attendant at night. He thought the guest was someone else and it looked like he cancelled the room key until the customer could verify the stay at the front desk. Price wise, additional $80 or so a night, you can be in the Hyatt next door. Overall, I needed a place to take a shower and crash for a few hours to catch a flight while get to dip in the water at the beach! Not bad for the price but don't expect 3-star services...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Went to Gyukaku Japanese BBQ Restaurant and the meal was great! Restaurant staffs were nicer than the hotel staff... ABC Stores are everywhere!!! Very convinient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronogo
Business
Germantown , Maryland
Jun 3, 2012

Location

Close to evrything, there is the center of Waikiki beach .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top