$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
1,177 reviews
Very nice

Very close to beach, awesome view from our room. Good breakfast with live music. Nice and friendly.. See full review

  • te67a
  • Apr 1, 2014
second time staying here - LOVE it

this is my second visit and I love this place. the breakfast is convenient and good every day. The... See full review

  • EP Mom
  • Mar 15, 2014
Festive hotel captures spirit of Waikiki across from the beach

No need to compromise, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel combines upscale style and amenities, festive island atmosphere, plenty of family fun and a virtual beachfront setting. The tone is vibrant, friendly and delivers fresh surprises to match the mood. Aston Waikiki sits on the preferred end of Waikiki Beach and offers ocean vistas, making it the perfect setting for a tropical celebration.

Highlights
  • Tiki's Grill & Bar serves island dishes, popular with visitors and locals
  • Enjoy panoramic ocean vistas and Waikiki Beach's best stretch of sand and swimming
Location

Across the street from the best stretch of sand and swimming on Waikiki Beach, the hotel sits on Honolulu's most happening shopping and dining strip. The Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and 200-acre Kapiolani Park are about a 10- to 15-minute walk from the hotel.

Rooms

Lively Hawaiiana decor throughout the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel creates a beach-extension atmosphere with peppy neon surfboards, tiki torches, bamboo and tapa prints. The hotel's 644 rooms find a perfect balance of upscale and island-style festive. Find dark Indonesian teak furniture, eye-popping bedding, bamboo-bead closet curtain, plus flat-screen TV and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Some rooms can be connected and most have partial or full views of Waikiki Beach with a private balcony.

Dining

Tiki's Grill & Bar, one of Honolulu's most-loved eateries, sits on the hotel property. This hip hangout is filled with Pacific Island tiki bar treasures, boasts an open-air view of Waikiki Beach and attracts visitors and locals of all ages. Enjoy live entertainment and a menu that elevates the island dining experience while keeping the tab mid-priced. For fresh daily eats in the hotel, visit Wolfgang Puck Express, founded by "chef to the stars" Wolfgang Puck.


Attractions
  • Honolulu Zoo (.25 mi/ .4 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.5 mi/.5 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.5 mi/ .7 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.6 mi/1 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater  (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Rooms

Partial Ocean View Deluxe
Partial Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 248 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean View Deluxe
Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 264 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean Front Room
Room features an ocean front view with one king bed or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Partial Ocean View Room
Room features a partial ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Junior Suite
Junior suite features one king bed or two double beds and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Ocean View Room
Room features an ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Standard Room
Room features two twin or double beds or one king bed. Includes alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2721 -157.823
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Located across from the world famous Waikiki Beach and close to restaurants, shopping and attractions, such as the zoo and aquarium. Close to outdoor park concerts, tennis courts and Ala Wai Golf Course.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.4 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.8 mi

Dining

Tiki's Grill and Bar
Tiki's is a blend of the old and the new, the nostalgia of Trader Vic's and the excitement and "attitude" of Hard Rock Cafe. The outdoor bar will sit under shadow of a 30' volcano and will offer breathtaking vistas of the ocean and Waikiki. The restaurant will have both indoor and outdoor seating, serving Hawaiian Regional and American cuisine. Tiki's open 10:30am-Midnight. Nightly entertainment during Happy Hour from 4-6pm and from 10pm-12am. Casual Dress. Available for Lunch and Dinner.
Cold Stone Creamery
Nextdoor to Wolfgang Puck Express. If you haven't had one yet, you just gotta come and get it - you haven't tasted ice-cream until you try one of these treats. Open weekdays from 11am-11pm and weekends from 11am-midnight. Casual Dress.
Breakfast on the Beach
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's signature amenity, "Breakfast on the Beach", is a breakfast like no other. "Breakfast on the Beach" is a breakfast with American and Asian fare that is served on a portable "to go" fashion on the pool deck each morning from 6:30-9:00am.
Wolfgang Puck Express
World renowned chef with lots of restaurants and express outlets. It's hip, upscale and he uses the freshest ingrediants to create excellent, casual Eurasian cuisine. Serving everything from soups, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, desserts & specialty items. Hours are from 7:30am-10pm. Casual Dress. Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Subway
Cuisine Type Sandwiches, Casual Dress, Open daily from 7am-11pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Cookie Corner
Cuisine Type Dessert, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1177)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
13 out of 1177
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
nard94
Wahiawa, HI
Feb 24, 2014

It Was Ok

Check in was kinda slow. Never been a fan of hidden fee's, or fee's not paid for during booking. Yes this hotel has one. Room was not climate control so was a bit more warm then I liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Boybyrd2
Chicago, Il
Jul 7, 2013

Great ocean views

The morning hula entertainment was excellent. Something I never experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Muskey
San Francisco
Apr 19, 2013

Graet Relaxing Time

Great Location across the street from the beaches and all major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to all attactions and best Gay Bar (Hula's)

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Chicago world travelers
Chicago
Dec 23, 2012

Not a great experience at the Aston Waikiki

I booked through O and requested a king with on the ocean front. King we got was ocean view (if you lean over the balcony which only had room for one chair.) Room was miniscule for two people. Carpet was not clean. There is not free wifi in every room as advertised. We were told only by the pool. Skip the free breakfast, it is a mob scene with people and birds. Very unsanitary. Next time we will stay at the hoted across the street. We were told by the front desk that the room we got was because we booked through O. Lots of differed maintainence. Not up to O standards or the typical properties in the area. Very disappointing experience. Buyer be ware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's is next door. Great, small portion of prime rib and the best Mai Thai on Honolulu. Go for Happy Hour and get a seat along the rail facing the ocean. With enough Mai Thai's you will forget about how bad you hotel room is......

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
DenJon
Richmond, VA
Sep 19, 2012

Disappointed

They charge for EVERYTHING. Parking cost is outrageous, then expected to tip every time you leave or come back. One front desk female was very rude on a few occasions. Valet staff and housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is very good. Would not stay there again. Not a bad place, just very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ala Moana Mall is a must see.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Torio
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Wonderful Waikiki Beach Hotel

Sure, there are nicer hotels on the Waikiki strip. But for the value, I'm not sure you can do much better. The hotel overall was really great. The rooms were comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the bar downstairs was great. It's also a very nice location. It's at the quiet, east, end of the strip and easily walking distance to pretty much all of Waikiki. All the activity tour busses stop right outside at the curb. The ocean views from the room are very nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Talk to the guys at the activities desk in the lobby. They set us up with some great excursions. I HIGHLY recommend the Ocean Joy dolphin and snorkeling cruise.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Frankie E
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2011

Amazing view of the Waikiki coast line!

Beautiful room and close convience to other shops, dining, beach, etc. Nice breakfast every morning, more than your basic continental! Great value!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
John and Larry
Bolton, MA
Nov 5, 2011

Better than I expected

Having never been to Hawaii I was very nervous about booking a hotel I had never heard of. I always stay at Hilton brand hotels for business and personal travel but the Hilton in Waikiki Beach was a bit out of my range. After a LOT of research online I decided to take a chance with the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. I was trying to make sure everything would be perfect as this was a surprise 50th birthday trip for my partner and I wanted everything to be as good as it could be. Before booking I called the hotel to ask the difference in rooms because I wanted to make sure I booked a room facing the ocean. The person I spoke to on the phone was very pleasant and expained the difference in detail. I went with an ocean front room when I booked. About a week before our trip I called the hotel again and asked if I could request a king bed and a room on a higher floor to get the best view. The lady was very pleasant and did explain that it was just a request and they would do what they could. When we arrived after 14 hours of travel from New England we pulled into the entrance and were greeted by the valet. They were very kind and helped us with our bags, gave us our tag and explained in detail how to call for the car when we wanted it. The downstairs area was very clean and open air with a lot of comfortable chairs and coffee tables. We went upstairs to reception and were greeted with a smile and an Aloha. Again, the person was very friendly and explained every detail on how to use the elevators and when and where breakfast was etc. We went to our room and were very happy with the king bed and the fact that it was on the 15th floor. The view from the room was breathtaking. It could not have been more perfect and I was so happy I booked this hotel. I had planned this trip for over a year and really wanted it to be perfect. Seeing the smile on my partners face as he went out on the balcony and looked out over the ocean let me know I had made the right choice with Aston. He loved the room (as did I) Yes, it was a little small for what I am used to in a Hilton in Maine. But this was Hawaii so of course with the price of real estate your hotel rooms are going to be small. But what it lacked in size was more than made up for in location, cleanliness and excellent staff. I had read some reviews about the aston where people said it was too noisey due to live music etc at night. Well, this is Waikiki beach! It's a nightime hotspot. If you want quiet at night go to Maui. You come to Waikiki for the beauty and excitement. From our room we could hear some of the music if our balcony door was open but it was only at night. Each morning we woke to the beautiful sound of the Pacific Ocean surf! The breakfast was good. Basic pastry and fruit. For free food in Hawaii it was excellent! Yes the patio area could be crowded and finding a place to sit and eat could be difficult but there is more than enough room on the beach! They give you a nice insulated bag to load up with as much pastry and fruit as you want, some coffee and juice and then they give you some chairs and towels and you cross the street and eat on the beach while watching the the early morning surfers do their thing. Out of curiosity, during our trip, we stopped at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. After finally finding our way through the massive self parking garage, and navigating through the mini mall we found the rooms to be comparable to the Aston but at a much higher price. Then I knew I made to right choice. Overall I can't say enough good about the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. It's rare that something is better than it seems online. This was one of those rare cases. This hotel was perfect for us and we loved everything about it. Since we both fell in love with Hawaii we can't wait to go back and when we do we will stay at the Aston again. Thank you Aston for adding to our perfect vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't pay for a lot of the tours that are offered. You mostly over pay for a bus ride. We rented a car and drove to everything. Pearl harbor, nature hikes etc are free. I almost paid $35.00 for a hike and snorkel but you also had to pay entrance and rental fees. We just drove to the hike and bay and saved $35.00 each. Most of the tours that you pay for don;t include the regular entrance fees. save some money and do things on your own. We also spent several hours just driving around and saw some of the most beautiful sights!

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Aloha max
Cathedral City, CA, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Anniversary

Usually stay at the Aston Waikiki Circle (excellent hotel) but stayed here for our anniversary. Great room (needs a little updating) killer views, and staff that seem to really like what they are doing and where they are doing it!! Loved the elevator system, quick and secure. Good value, layed back, plenty of aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best hamburgers in Waikiki (and only 5.95) are at the Illy snack bar at the queens surf beach. Just a short stroll from the hote. Tiki's Grill and Bar at the hotel has the Best Mahi on Oahu.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Julias21
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Great Locations!

Hotel was pretty descent, excellent location. Walking distance to bars, shopping and restaurants and right across the street from the beach! Their "breakfast on the beach" was lame. Basic contienental breakfast, if you want eggs or waffles, that would be $5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Cheesecake Factory!

Back to menu Return to top