$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 7, 2014

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
1,179 reviews
that was great

that was so great experience.i will recommend this hotel to other because of its wonderful location. See full review

  • redface
  • Apr 16, 2014
Very nice

Very close to beach, awesome view from our room. Good breakfast with live music. Nice and friendly.. See full review

  • te67a
  • Apr 1, 2014
Festive hotel captures spirit of Waikiki across from the beach

No need to compromise, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel combines upscale style and amenities, festive island atmosphere, plenty of family fun and a virtual beachfront setting. The tone is vibrant, friendly and delivers fresh surprises to match the mood. Aston Waikiki sits on the preferred end of Waikiki Beach and offers ocean vistas, making it the perfect setting for a tropical celebration.

Highlights
  • Tiki's Grill & Bar serves island dishes, popular with visitors and locals
  • Enjoy panoramic ocean vistas and Waikiki Beach's best stretch of sand and swimming
Location

Across the street from the best stretch of sand and swimming on Waikiki Beach, the hotel sits on Honolulu's most happening shopping and dining strip. The Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and 200-acre Kapiolani Park are about a 10- to 15-minute walk from the hotel.

Rooms

Lively Hawaiiana decor throughout the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel creates a beach-extension atmosphere with peppy neon surfboards, tiki torches, bamboo and tapa prints. The hotel's 644 rooms find a perfect balance of upscale and island-style festive. Find dark Indonesian teak furniture, eye-popping bedding, bamboo-bead closet curtain, plus flat-screen TV and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Some rooms can be connected and most have partial or full views of Waikiki Beach with a private balcony.

Dining

Tiki's Grill & Bar, one of Honolulu's most-loved eateries, sits on the hotel property. This hip hangout is filled with Pacific Island tiki bar treasures, boasts an open-air view of Waikiki Beach and attracts visitors and locals of all ages. Enjoy live entertainment and a menu that elevates the island dining experience while keeping the tab mid-priced. For fresh daily eats in the hotel, visit Wolfgang Puck Express, founded by "chef to the stars" Wolfgang Puck.


Attractions
  • Honolulu Zoo (.25 mi/ .4 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.5 mi/.5 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.5 mi/ .7 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.6 mi/1 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater  (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Rooms

Partial Ocean View Deluxe
Partial Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 248 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean View Deluxe
Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 264 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean Front Room
Room features an ocean front view with one king bed or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Partial Ocean View Room
Room features a partial ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Junior Suite
Junior suite features one king bed or two double beds and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Ocean View Room
Room features an ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Standard Room
Room features two twin or double beds or one king bed. Includes alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2721 -157.823
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Located across from the world famous Waikiki Beach and close to restaurants, shopping and attractions, such as the zoo and aquarium. Close to outdoor park concerts, tennis courts and Ala Wai Golf Course.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.4 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.8 mi

Dining

Tiki's Grill and Bar
Tiki's is a blend of the old and the new, the nostalgia of Trader Vic's and the excitement and "attitude" of Hard Rock Cafe. The outdoor bar will sit under shadow of a 30' volcano and will offer breathtaking vistas of the ocean and Waikiki. The restaurant will have both indoor and outdoor seating, serving Hawaiian Regional and American cuisine. Tiki's open 10:30am-Midnight. Nightly entertainment during Happy Hour from 4-6pm and from 10pm-12am. Casual Dress. Available for Lunch and Dinner.
Cold Stone Creamery
Nextdoor to Wolfgang Puck Express. If you haven't had one yet, you just gotta come and get it - you haven't tasted ice-cream until you try one of these treats. Open weekdays from 11am-11pm and weekends from 11am-midnight. Casual Dress.
Breakfast on the Beach
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's signature amenity, "Breakfast on the Beach", is a breakfast like no other. "Breakfast on the Beach" is a breakfast with American and Asian fare that is served on a portable "to go" fashion on the pool deck each morning from 6:30-9:00am.
Wolfgang Puck Express
World renowned chef with lots of restaurants and express outlets. It's hip, upscale and he uses the freshest ingrediants to create excellent, casual Eurasian cuisine. Serving everything from soups, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, desserts & specialty items. Hours are from 7:30am-10pm. Casual Dress. Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Subway
Cuisine Type Sandwiches, Casual Dress, Open daily from 7am-11pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Cookie Corner
Cuisine Type Dessert, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1179)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
93 out of 1179
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Jobben
Pasadena, California
Sep 2, 2009

My Week in Hawaii

The staff was not as attentive and informative as I had hoped they would be. One of the front desk gentlemen almost seemed impatient with me during my late night check in. But being my first time, ever in Hawaii, I did not want that single staff member ruin my week. Also, you need a hotel key in order to go to your floor. I think that's a good idea, so no random patrons off the street can disturb the guests. But, on serveral occasions, my key would'nt work, so I would have to wait in line for the front deak, just to reactive my key. The housekeeping was great. I'd leave my room in the afternoon, and everything was clean, restocked, and as if I had checked in the first night. I did not care to go into the pool since it was fairly small, and crowded.. Besides, the hotel is in a magnificent location in Waikiki. Why hit the pool side when the enchanting beach is only across the street! The Hotel Bar had a beautiful, tiki ambiance; however the bartender was not as attentive. I had to sit at the bar for about 8 minutes until he decided to greet me. Mind you, there were two other guys beside me that had beers already, and another lady to my right, sipping on her Longboard. Once I got my beer, and an appetizer menu, it took him another 15 minutes to ask if I wanted anything to munch on. And even then, I had to flag him down to ask him about a happy hour special they ended up NOT having available on the menu, anyway. So on top of unattentive bar service, false advertisment. On the plus note of the Tiki Bar at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, they're Saturaday Nights play phenomenal Reggae all day long!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I was either on a moped making my way to Hanauma Bay, Pali Outlook, or walking around the Island, as well as bus hopping. Psrking can be difficult in Waikiki, so walking is key! Besides, you're more likely to see everything and enjoy the visual aspects of Hawaii

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 25, 2009

Why don't the elevators work properly?

Most people that were staying at the hotel had a n number of concerns. The elevators were difficult to navigate, as they needed a room key to activate calling residential floors- but the key readers were quite finicky and it was difficult to engage them before the elevator would begin moving. Housekeeping came at strange hours. At one point, they were knocking on the door at 11:30 PM to take out the trash. It's minor inconveniences such as that add up over the course of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at Tiki. It's overpriced and not very good. Walk down the strip of shops and restuarants for better options.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Corrales, NM
Aug 5, 2009

Overrated

I really wanted to like this place, my first time to Oahu... The location is great; right off the beach, across the street from the zoo, it shares space with a few good chain eateries, and lots of shops. Views are lovely if you get ocean facing, otherwise your view is another hotel. Pool was small but nice, crowded. Waikiki beach was across the street so we were there more often. Décor was nice, but rings in bathtub and chipped wall paint didn't much impress me. Also we got two tiny, full beds in our standard room, not the two queen sized beds advertized. And the walls may as well have been made of paper, but many hotels are like that. Some of the hotel and valet staff were impatient and rude; perhaps because my friend and I are in our twenties, but the housekeeping staff was friendly. Tiki bar by the pool was so-so with a less than stellar staff. We preferred the bar around the corner, over the ABC store. Be prepared for extra hotel costs. WiFi ($9.95/day), Parking ($22/day and be prepared to wait for the valet), and Breakfast NOT included for all rooms ($10 for basically a hyped up continental bfast) and various gratuities all add up. Elevators/lifts were a nightmare, each time we wished to go up or down we had to wait for about 5 to 20 minutes, despite there being FIVE elevators; and the room key access for the elevators was more an annoyance than a reassurance. The stairs, which lead to a service area at ground level, were quicker even though we were on the 11th floor. Every time I got into an elevator I heard fellow guests complaining, so I know we weren't the only ones having problems. Overall we loved the location, weren't pleased with the staff, were frustrated by the waits, and didn't appreciate how much over the room cost we ended up paying. Don't think I'd ever stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
JanetCA
Burlingame, California
May 17, 2012

Very disappointed

Only there for 5 days and important detail while booking hotel was pool area. Wanted to rest and relax by pool as much as possible. First day went to pool area noticed how dangerous and slippery it was because the cement surrounding outside of pool had been painted and very slippery. I was in pool and came out and walking very slowly because so slippery from painted cement but still fell on my bad knee and injured myself. Then if that weren't bad enough, the last 2 days out of our trip the pool was closed and I couldn't go to beach with wound on knee (didn't want sand to get in it) and was looking forward to going in pool but couldn't because closed for maintenance. Hotel only gave $75 credit for pool closure when hotel itself cost over $1,000.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
San Bernardino, CA
Oct 1, 2009

Great spot across the from the beach.

Had to wait 20 minutes to check in because front desk staff loved to chit chat with other hotel guests. Aside from that, the room was fine, the location was superb. The bell desk and valet guys were very nice. Wolfgang Express service was bad. Took a ride on a catamaran which was great..go do it! Take a bus to Diamond Head crater and go HIKE! Lot's to do..make it your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilo Hattie is the biggest gift shop on the island, but it's more expensive so you should look other places to shop.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
San Diego
Jun 30, 2010

VERY GOOD LOCATION

NICE BREAKFAST EVEN FOR TAKING OUT.... ROOM COULD BE A LITTLE BIT BIGGER, BUT ASTONISHING VIEW

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
cjattew
Diamond Bar, CA
Apr 19, 2010

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Decent location at the end of Waikiki Beach by the Zoo. Elevators very slow, especially during busy times of the day. Beds comfortable. Small pool. Small balconies, with the partial ocean view rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to go to the swap meet for all souvenirs.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
wendyk
St Louis, Mo
Oct 9, 2009

It was ok...

The trip was very nice...the hotel was ok.. location was good, close to ocean, zoo and my meeting place. Room was very warm, no exhaust fan in bathroom and had a hard time keeping water in tub when taking a shower.... elevators were EXTREMELY busy in mornings so expect a wait! Breakfast buffet was good, yet busy..make sure you click on that option when making reservation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Prairie Village, KS
Oct 8, 2009

Great Location

Location was terrific. Staff was moderately friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. Elevators were extremely slow. Beds were very comfortable with high quality count bedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
YUK POO
COEUR D'ALENE, IDAHO
Feb 12, 2013

Expect to pay for everything!

I wasn't told that when we get beach towels or chairs, it will cost. I didn't find out till checking-out! The room was nice, but there were only minimum stuff for the guest to use. No coffee maker, only 2 glasses, and if you want to use their shampoo or something, you have to pay them. I was glad that ABC STORE was every where to buy a little things!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to the main waikiki shopping area!

Back to menu Return to top