$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
1,193 reviews
Great Stay !

Right from the get go, the service was great. We were given a deluxe ocean view instead of the... See full review

  • LikiLiki
  • May 13, 2014
that was great

that was so great experience.i will recommend this hotel to other because of its wonderful location. See full review

  • redface
  • Apr 16, 2014
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel in Oahu greets guests with surfboards and citrus shades in its lobby, and bright island decor and natural elements of bamboo and rattan in its guestrooms. Start the day off with live music accompanied by freshly brewed Kona coffee, tropical fruit, baked goods and many other choices, or pack these tasty treats in a complimentary cooler bag and enjoy breakfast on the beach. With wood floors, original art and hand-carved island decorations, the on-site Tiki's Grill and Bar sets a South Pacific 1950s scene that serves up braised beef short ribs and grilled salmon, alongside kid-friendly meals served, believe it or not, on Frisbees.
Key facts
  • 645 guestrooms
  • 20 floors
  • 2 full-service restaurants: Tiki's Grill and Bar and Wolfgang Puck Express
  • Subway takeout
  • Bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Banquet, meeting and reception event facilities
  • Business center
Neighborhood
Located directly across Kalakaua Avenue from the famous Waikiki Beach, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is near the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the Manoa Falls rainforest. Spectacular views of the Diamond Head volcano site can be seen right from the resort, and the Ala Wai Golf Course is a few blocks inland, for those craving eighteen holes under the tropical sun.
Hints and tips
Guests can borrow towels and beach chairs from the hotel to take to the beach, and there is excellent snorkeling in the lagoon across the street.

Choose a room on the higher floors for unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head.
Policies and fees

The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's third floor Upper Pool Deck is under enhancement project until the end of 2014. Work is from Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm. The enhancement project will consist of 4 phases, which include demolition and removal, waterproofing, reconstruction, and finishing work. There will be overlap as work proceeds from one phase to another. The overall project outlined below is anticipated to take 3-4 months to complete (weather and unforeseen circumstances may prolong the project).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Rooms

Partial Ocean View Deluxe
Partial Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 248 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean View Deluxe
Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 264 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean Front Room
Room features an ocean front view with one king bed or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Partial Ocean View Room
Room features a partial ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Junior Suite
Junior suite features one king bed or two double beds and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Ocean View Room
Room features an ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Standard Room
Room features two twin or double beds or one king bed. Includes alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.4 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.8 mi

Dining

Tiki's Grill and Bar
Tiki's is a blend of the old and the new, the nostalgia of Trader Vic's and the excitement and "attitude" of Hard Rock Cafe. The outdoor bar will sit under shadow of a 30' volcano and will offer breathtaking vistas of the ocean and Waikiki. The restaurant will have both indoor and outdoor seating, serving Hawaiian Regional and American cuisine. Tiki's open 10:30am-Midnight. Nightly entertainment during Happy Hour from 4-6pm and from 10pm-12am. Casual Dress. Available for Lunch and Dinner.
Cold Stone Creamery
Nextdoor to Wolfgang Puck Express. If you haven't had one yet, you just gotta come and get it - you haven't tasted ice-cream until you try one of these treats. Open weekdays from 11am-11pm and weekends from 11am-midnight. Casual Dress.
Breakfast on the Beach
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's signature amenity, "Breakfast on the Beach", is a breakfast like no other. "Breakfast on the Beach" is a breakfast with American and Asian fare that is served on a portable "to go" fashion on the pool deck each morning from 6:30-9:00am.
Wolfgang Puck Express
World renowned chef with lots of restaurants and express outlets. It's hip, upscale and he uses the freshest ingrediants to create excellent, casual Eurasian cuisine. Serving everything from soups, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, desserts & specialty items. Hours are from 7:30am-10pm. Casual Dress. Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Subway
Cuisine Type Sandwiches, Casual Dress, Open daily from 7am-11pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Cookie Corner
Cuisine Type Dessert, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1193)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 1193
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jobben
Business
Pasadena, California
Sep 2, 2009

My Week in Hawaii

The staff was not as attentive and informative as I had hoped they would be. One of the front desk gentlemen almost seemed impatient with me during my late night check in. But being my first time, ever in Hawaii, I did not want that single staff member ruin my week. Also, you need a hotel key in order to go to your floor. I think that's a good idea, so no random patrons off the street can disturb the guests. But, on serveral occasions, my key would'nt work, so I would have to wait in line for the front deak, just to reactive my key. The housekeeping was great. I'd leave my room in the afternoon, and everything was clean, restocked, and as if I had checked in the first night. I did not care to go into the pool since it was fairly small, and crowded.. Besides, the hotel is in a magnificent location in Waikiki. Why hit the pool side when the enchanting beach is only across the street! The Hotel Bar had a beautiful, tiki ambiance; however the bartender was not as attentive. I had to sit at the bar for about 8 minutes until he decided to greet me. Mind you, there were two other guys beside me that had beers already, and another lady to my right, sipping on her Longboard. Once I got my beer, and an appetizer menu, it took him another 15 minutes to ask if I wanted anything to munch on. And even then, I had to flag him down to ask him about a happy hour special they ended up NOT having available on the menu, anyway. So on top of unattentive bar service, false advertisment. On the plus note of the Tiki Bar at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, they're Saturaday Nights play phenomenal Reggae all day long!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I was either on a moped making my way to Hanauma Bay, Pali Outlook, or walking around the Island, as well as bus hopping. Psrking can be difficult in Waikiki, so walking is key! Besides, you're more likely to see everything and enjoy the visual aspects of Hawaii

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JanetCA
Business
Burlingame, California
May 17, 2012

Very disappointed

Only there for 5 days and important detail while booking hotel was pool area. Wanted to rest and relax by pool as much as possible. First day went to pool area noticed how dangerous and slippery it was because the cement surrounding outside of pool had been painted and very slippery. I was in pool and came out and walking very slowly because so slippery from painted cement but still fell on my bad knee and injured myself. Then if that weren't bad enough, the last 2 days out of our trip the pool was closed and I couldn't go to beach with wound on knee (didn't want sand to get in it) and was looking forward to going in pool but couldn't because closed for maintenance. Hotel only gave $75 credit for pool closure when hotel itself cost over $1,000.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 25, 2009

Why don't the elevators work properly?

Most people that were staying at the hotel had a n number of concerns. The elevators were difficult to navigate, as they needed a room key to activate calling residential floors- but the key readers were quite finicky and it was difficult to engage them before the elevator would begin moving. Housekeeping came at strange hours. At one point, they were knocking on the door at 11:30 PM to take out the trash. It's minor inconveniences such as that add up over the course of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at Tiki. It's overpriced and not very good. Walk down the strip of shops and restuarants for better options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corrales, NM
Aug 5, 2009

Overrated

I really wanted to like this place, my first time to Oahu... The location is great; right off the beach, across the street from the zoo, it shares space with a few good chain eateries, and lots of shops. Views are lovely if you get ocean facing, otherwise your view is another hotel. Pool was small but nice, crowded. Waikiki beach was across the street so we were there more often. Décor was nice, but rings in bathtub and chipped wall paint didn't much impress me. Also we got two tiny, full beds in our standard room, not the two queen sized beds advertized. And the walls may as well have been made of paper, but many hotels are like that. Some of the hotel and valet staff were impatient and rude; perhaps because my friend and I are in our twenties, but the housekeeping staff was friendly. Tiki bar by the pool was so-so with a less than stellar staff. We preferred the bar around the corner, over the ABC store. Be prepared for extra hotel costs. WiFi ($9.95/day), Parking ($22/day and be prepared to wait for the valet), and Breakfast NOT included for all rooms ($10 for basically a hyped up continental bfast) and various gratuities all add up. Elevators/lifts were a nightmare, each time we wished to go up or down we had to wait for about 5 to 20 minutes, despite there being FIVE elevators; and the room key access for the elevators was more an annoyance than a reassurance. The stairs, which lead to a service area at ground level, were quicker even though we were on the 11th floor. Every time I got into an elevator I heard fellow guests complaining, so I know we weren't the only ones having problems. Overall we loved the location, weren't pleased with the staff, were frustrated by the waits, and didn't appreciate how much over the room cost we ended up paying. Don't think I'd ever stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary's Wedding Date
Business
troy ny
Oct 21, 2010

need to work on the elevators

Having previously stayed at this hotel, I knew what to expect for the room/service at the hotel. What I didn't expect was to experience extreme lines waiting for an elevator due to the security system that puts no buttons in the elevator, but requires you to input your floor at either the elevator's call button location, or at a kiosk on either side of the elevator bank. 90 % of the time, it worked great. However, the "Signature" Breakfast on the Beach brought almost the entire hotel to the lobby level at the same time, and it would take more than 20 minutes to return to the room! Although I have the ability to walk up stairs, I was on the 8th floor, and that's alot of stairs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Local
Business
Hawaii, USA
Dec 12, 2012

Great Location Bummer charges

The mandatory day charge of $10 that is being raised to $18 a day is ridiculous. It's for internet you can not even use in your room and the option to watch dvds you rent from the lobby. Even if you dont use the internet or want to watch movies its still a mandatory charge. not cool. Also they jab you with a $25 charge to use the basic soaps and shampoos in room. With a tiny little statement that is barely visible they state the charges. I understand a charge for nice soaps, etc but they dont give you an option in the room. Also if you do not return your plastic key cards when you check out they charge you yet again. Lots of bogus unnecessary charges that really bum out your stay. Other than that the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YUK POO
Business
COEUR D'ALENE, IDAHO
Feb 12, 2013

Expect to pay for everything!

I wasn't told that when we get beach towels or chairs, it will cost. I didn't find out till checking-out! The room was nice, but there were only minimum stuff for the guest to use. No coffee maker, only 2 glasses, and if you want to use their shampoo or something, you have to pay them. I was glad that ABC STORE was every where to buy a little things!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to the main waikiki shopping area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Value-oriented Velma
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 6, 2009

OK hotel, nothing to rave about

Hung out at Waikiki. Hotel is in a good location, but please note that it is NOT on the beach, it's a block away. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, which is a plus. Downsides: not attractive or resort-like, which many of the nearby hotels offer; the breakfast is not included in the price. Also, the service was not extraordinary. Pool is way too small and closes by 7pm. Biggest difficulty: Elevator has significant delays and it can take up to 15 minutes just waiting for an empty one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wendyk
Business
St Louis, Mo
Oct 9, 2009

It was ok...

The trip was very nice...the hotel was ok.. location was good, close to ocean, zoo and my meeting place. Room was very warm, no exhaust fan in bathroom and had a hard time keeping water in tub when taking a shower.... elevators were EXTREMELY busy in mornings so expect a wait! Breakfast buffet was good, yet busy..make sure you click on that option when making reservation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prairie Village, KS
Oct 8, 2009

Great Location

Location was terrific. Staff was moderately friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. Elevators were extremely slow. Beds were very comfortable with high quality count bedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top