$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
1,190 reviews
Great Stay !

Right from the get go, the service was great. We were given a deluxe ocean view instead of the... See full review

  • LikiLiki
  • May 13, 2014
that was great

that was so great experience.i will recommend this hotel to other because of its wonderful location. See full review

  • redface
  • Apr 16, 2014
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel in Oahu greets guests with surfboards and citrus shades in its lobby, and bright island decor and natural elements of bamboo and rattan in its guestrooms. Start the day off with live music accompanied by freshly brewed Kona coffee, tropical fruit, baked goods and many other choices, or pack these tasty treats in a complimentary cooler bag and enjoy breakfast on the beach. With wood floors, original art and hand-carved island decorations, the on-site Tiki's Grill and Bar sets a South Pacific 1950s scene that serves up braised beef short ribs and grilled salmon, alongside kid-friendly meals served, believe it or not, on Frisbees.
Key facts
  • 645 guestrooms
  • 20 floors
  • 2 full-service restaurants: Tiki's Grill and Bar and Wolfgang Puck Express
  • Subway takeout
  • Bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Banquet, meeting and reception event facilities
  • Business center
Neighborhood
Located directly across Kalakaua Avenue from the famous Waikiki Beach, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is near the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the Manoa Falls rainforest. Spectacular views of the Diamond Head volcano site can be seen right from the resort, and the Ala Wai Golf Course is a few blocks inland, for those craving eighteen holes under the tropical sun.
Hints and tips
Guests can borrow towels and beach chairs from the hotel to take to the beach, and there is excellent snorkeling in the lagoon across the street.

Choose a room on the higher floors for unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head.
Policies and fees

The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's third floor Upper Pool Deck is under enhancement project until the end of 2014. Work is from Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm. The enhancement project will consist of 4 phases, which include demolition and removal, waterproofing, reconstruction, and finishing work. There will be overlap as work proceeds from one phase to another. The overall project outlined below is anticipated to take 3-4 months to complete (weather and unforeseen circumstances may prolong the project).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2721 -157.823
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Located across from the world famous Waikiki Beach and close to restaurants, shopping and attractions, such as the zoo and aquarium. Close to outdoor park concerts, tennis courts and Ala Wai Golf Course.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Rooms

Partial Ocean View Deluxe
Partial Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 248 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean View Deluxe
Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 264 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean Front Room
Room features an ocean front view with one king bed or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Partial Ocean View Room
Room features a partial ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Junior Suite
Junior suite features one king bed or two double beds and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Ocean View Room
Room features an ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Standard Room
Room features two twin or double beds or one king bed. Includes alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.4 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.8 mi

Dining

Tiki's Grill and Bar
Tiki's is a blend of the old and the new, the nostalgia of Trader Vic's and the excitement and "attitude" of Hard Rock Cafe. The outdoor bar will sit under shadow of a 30' volcano and will offer breathtaking vistas of the ocean and Waikiki. The restaurant will have both indoor and outdoor seating, serving Hawaiian Regional and American cuisine. Tiki's open 10:30am-Midnight. Nightly entertainment during Happy Hour from 4-6pm and from 10pm-12am. Casual Dress. Available for Lunch and Dinner.
Cold Stone Creamery
Nextdoor to Wolfgang Puck Express. If you haven't had one yet, you just gotta come and get it - you haven't tasted ice-cream until you try one of these treats. Open weekdays from 11am-11pm and weekends from 11am-midnight. Casual Dress.
Breakfast on the Beach
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's signature amenity, "Breakfast on the Beach", is a breakfast like no other. "Breakfast on the Beach" is a breakfast with American and Asian fare that is served on a portable "to go" fashion on the pool deck each morning from 6:30-9:00am.
Wolfgang Puck Express
World renowned chef with lots of restaurants and express outlets. It's hip, upscale and he uses the freshest ingrediants to create excellent, casual Eurasian cuisine. Serving everything from soups, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, desserts & specialty items. Hours are from 7:30am-10pm. Casual Dress. Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Subway
Cuisine Type Sandwiches, Casual Dress, Open daily from 7am-11pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Cookie Corner
Cuisine Type Dessert, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1190)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1190 out of 1190
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 24, 2010

A DUMP.

I went on this trip to Hawaii as a last-minute vacation adjustment when my travel buddy couldn't join me to our original destination. I had a fantastic stay at the Hyatt Waikiki about six months ago, so I thought Waikiki would be perfect this time around. The Aston was the only place available at the last minute that was reasonably priced. Now, after having stayed there, I understand why.I waited in a long line to check in. The pool looked like a dingy cement hole in the ground, with tacky decor to boot. I did not get a king bed, like I had requested, though they did put me on a higher floor. Eventually, after much confusion with the concierge staff that had no idea what it was doing, I was moved to a king room with a much better view of the water. From what I understand and have experienced, rooms with even numbers have very small balconies, but the rooms with odd room numbers have better ones, where you can actually have a chair out there and sit to enjoy the great view and sunset.The hallways of the hotel were so hot, but the rooms had air-temp control, so that was good. The rooms themselves seemed old and not very clean. It was actually a good thing - the lousy room made me want to be out of the hotel all day.The gym is a tiny, windowless room, with a few cardio machines and some free weights. I stepped in to check it out, got claustrophobic, and got out as fast as I could. 24 Hour Fitness is down the street, but try not to let them make you pay a hefty fee to work out there. Figure out another deal with them. I worked it out to go free, even though I don't have the proper type of 24 Hour Fitness membership.The "free" breakfasts. I went downstairs to see how that system worked, and the scene was like a soup kitchen. A hundred people or so in line for a buffet or scattered about the pool chairs, eating food out of styrofoam packaging. Only fruit and not-freshly baked goods were offered, and then you had to pay extra for eggs or for waffles that people didn't seem too thrilled with. I ended up walking down to the Hyatt for breakfast every morning. They have a Belgian waffle with berries and coconut syrup to die for.I could go on about this ridiculous hotel. Tiki's Grill and Bar downstairs seemed nice for those who like a bar scene late at night; it couldn't possibly be the food that's drawing people there. The plus about the Aston, though, was its central location on Waikiki beach, close to the shops, restaurants, and other hotels where you can get better food.[...] If you have any questions about whether to stay here, think about it this way: if you consider yourself to be someone with a discerning eye who cares about a nice hotel for an enjoyable vacation and is wiling to spend an extra few bucks to get it, do NOT stay at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim
Feb 3, 2010

Bad choice of Selecting Aston Waikiki

This vacation included with "complimentary signature "Breakfast on the Beach" daily." This is the worst service, Food was suck! and only available from 6:30 - 8:30 AM! We're on vacation! But have to get up early just to get Breakfast! Over price with daily Parking and daily safty box Fees. Too complicated Elevator system. Sometime we have to wait for 20 minutes! Not recommended this Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
remle
Business
cornelius oregon
Dec 8, 2010

waikiki beach hotel

we first stayed here 3 years ago it was great but each year it gets worse the breakfast is not at all what it was i will probably stay somewhere else next year it dosnt help to have all the homeless living in all the covered shelters across the street to where we couldnt even get in the shade or out of the rain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DtotheR
Business
The Bay
Jul 26, 2010

Great location but........

Hotel location was great. Right in front on Waikiki beach in walking distance to everywhere. Amenities sucked. Room was clean but look of it was very outdated. Only thing that looked updated was the tv and that was a pain because the remote didnt even work. To use the room safe you have to pay a daily fee. When we wanted to use it that didnt even work and needed to be fixed. I spoke to a person at the front desk about a 6pm late check out. She said that it was all set and we were good. When we went back down to have our room cards refreshed for the late checkout another person at the front desk said that it wasnt even noted on our room and that our room has already been rented. Good thing she was able to fix that. Would i recommend this place?? Probably not...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mighty Mouth
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 8, 2010

Honalulu LuLu

We have always stayed at a condo complex in the past and have never stayed in Honolulu. We found the hotel to be way too crowded and the location seemed similar to New York or Los Angeles. The elevator system at the hotel is not user friendly at all and our room was right next to the elevator and was noisey because of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within walking distance to all the night life you can handle. Having to walk through all the street vendors was not that much fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 22, 2009

ehhh ok

The location was great. The rooms were simple, and lacked basics such as a restroom fan, and a cofee maker. The elevator has a new automated system that automatically assigns you, and it ends up assigning far too many people. The rooms could have been tidier, as a fork was under our bed for the entire stay, and corners and such were not vacuumed well. When anyone else opened up their sliding door, it sounded like they were entering your room. This interfered with sleep. It seems that the rooms were decorated in multiple decors. The bed spread and wall behind the bed in bright red and white, the walls and carpet in earth tones. The fridge was nice, and the addition of a microwave would have been even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma, ca
Jan 25, 2011

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

My wife and I upgraded to a Ocean View and the Room was extremely small. Had to step sideways to pass each other in room aisles. The biggest complaint was the $27.00 + parking tax of $1.25 per day that the hotel automatically charged to your room if you have a rental car. Total: $254.43.Our second complaint was the $39.99 / Week to access the hotel Internet. Free downstairs but you have to leave the room.The third complaint was the the hotel did not provide full coverage of Wimbleton Tennis that was going on. "VERY" limited TV stations.************************************************Items 1 and 2 should have been disclosed when we made the reservations [...]. My wife and I would have selected another Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping should be done "outside" downtown Waikiki area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Forkman
Business
Kane County, IL
Dec 30, 2009

Location is not everything for hotels

The hotel started off poorly for us, as we had a poorly trained, unfriendly employee checking us in. The rooms were tiny, and we ended up upgrading our room, a must to tolerate this hotel. While the breakfasts were a great benefit to a family, they did not offset the negatives, which included: -Incredibly expensive parking -A nickel and dime approach to fees. I never felt the staff cared if we enjoyed our stay, they just wanted to add charges to the bill -The staff was either very good, or awful. Mainly indifferent. -The pool hours were incredibly short, closed at 5 P.M. This hotel is fairly pricey, but does not deliver the service to warrant the high prices. I would nor recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring the wizard publication inc. guide books to Hawaii. They were correct with their reviews on everything we tried.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A.J.'s Mom
Business
Apple Valley CA
Nov 19, 2010

5 stars you have to be kidding

After a 5 hour flight all you want is a nice room. Upon arrival in our room the air conditioner was not working. We waited a few min for the maintenance man to come and he reset the thermostat. My son used the bathroom just to urinate and when he flushed the waste water came up in the bathtub. We were on the 22nd floor. Only other room available was on the 9th. No apologies no compensation for the trouble nothing. We get to the room and it was not the cleanest. Hair in the bathroom is a huge turn off. I brought clorox wipes and cleaned up a bit and made it work. The toilet paper was more like tissue paper. Great for packages not for wiping. The fan in the bathroom was broken. When you showered the bathroom was so filled with moisture the 6 ft ceiling dripped. It sounded like the faucet was leaking. The thermostat in this room had to be reset also and the television set had to be reconnected also. The shower curtain was not clean. The shower head was so fine it was like trying to shower in the rain. The bathroom had multiple messy repair attempts with caulking that was rough. There was also a bamboo like mat in the bathroom and there was mold underneath it. The next day I received a call on my cell phone from the hotel. They asked for us to bring our card keys to the front desk to make sure they had been programmed for the entire week and not just 24hours. When I went to the front desk when we returned to the hotel the clerk was irritated with me and said there was nothing wrong with the keys and I explained I had been told by the staff to do so. Very RUDE. The elevators are a joke. They were so slow. We went to use the Stairs and when we got to the bottom the door was locked and there was a push button type lock on it and we could not get out. WHAT IF THERE WAS A FIRE!!!!! When I asked for the code she stated i was not allowed to have the code access. The last day of our stay the elevators went totally haywire. When you swiped your card it just said try again later. Now on to the breakfast. It was like a feeding frenzy. Like someone had went trolling for sharks and dumped blood in the water. Total insanity. There were only half a dozen tables with chairs. There were a number of lounge chairs, but they were wet. I saw a lady stand up and her bottom and legs to her knees were soaked. The only nice thing I have to say is that there were 2 housekeeping ladies and they were friendly and said good morning, have a nice day, etc... I wish we would have stayed at the other hotel right across the street. Oh and by the way the coffee was horrible. They grow it right there and have all this wonderful water. What's the deal. The other thing is that there was not any coffee or tea, cocoa, etc available 24hrs. No coffee in room either. This hotel needs a serious makeover. I would not recommend it to anyone. Most of the staff acted like they were doing you a favor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I recommend Discover Hawaii Tours. Our guide for the north shore was [...] and he was EXCELLENT. Funny, knowledgeable and gave us the tour like we really were ohana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2007

not what we expected

The Resort Quest Waikii Beach was in a very good location...east of the beach, very close to the zoo. The rooms were very small...very little closet space...beds were comfortable...linens were changed everyday. The bath was just OK...no ventilation and the tubs were gray on the bottom. Service was OK, if you asked for anything they were quick to respond. The breakfast was not great...we had expected much more variety...coffee and fresh fruit were they only foods we could look forward to each day. We had a partial ocean view and were pleased with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top