$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1216 out of 1216
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tucson az
Feb 23, 2010

so so

unfriendly staff no coffee in loby no coffeemaker in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 23, 2007

GOOD LOCATION

The location of this hotel was good, however when I booked this hotel, I was lead to believe it was directly on the beach. It is not, it is across the road from the beach. Still it was conveniently located. Also, we upgraded to an ocean view room for an additional $ 350.00 for our five nights, right at the hotel. I later found out that we would have gotten a comparable ocean view room had I just taken the room I had originally booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

tons of shopping!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 28, 2007

Breakfast included

The included hot breakfast is a boxed quiche and not very good at that. No place to sit and eat breakfast so plan on going over to the beach. Noisy. Bars downstairs play late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
Jul 4, 2009

Nothing special

I'll start with the positives, since it won't take long: close to the beach, close to the zoo, one good server at the restaurant. That said, I definitely wouldn't call this a four-star hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 2pm, an hour before check-in, and our room hadn't been cleaned yet. We sat outside for an hour, with our luggage, and when they DIDN'T call me, like they said they would when our room was ready, I went back to the counter, where they told me we got a complimentary upgrade. This "upgrade" consisted of a partial view of the ocean...The room was tiny and contained no brochure or anything about room service (I don't think there is any), nearby activities, shopping, or sights...nothing (like ALL other hotels do, even fleabag motels). Also, it was incredibly noisy from outside construction and draftiness. It was also great to find out that parking is valet only, which costs $22/day. I ended up paying an additional $110 for parking alone! I don't think I would ever stay at the Aston again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car with your package. You can take a bus, shuttle, or van anywhere on the island, and it will end up costing significantly less than renting a car. Plus, if you're staying in Waikiki, there's absolutely nowhere to park anyway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Apr 21, 2008

Be careful

The hotel staff are rude people. I had to pay a deposit, which I didn't know about until I got there. The room key had to replaced countless times and was very hard to open the doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lot of good places to shop and are really priced well. To find a good and cheap restraunt is very hard; they are actually hidden from tourist. We walked through these trees by the airport after someone gave us this information and found a great pizza shop at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 29, 2009

Was 4 star when I booked, now is 3

The location is very good, but that is about all this hotel has going for it. I don't know if it was becasue I was a single guy, [...] or something else, but they gave me a room on a very low floor right across from the noisy ice machine. If you like live music at breakfast, you might like it here. Personally, I like to sleep in but that was next to impossible with the live music blaring from 7:00am to 9:00am. I was not a big fan of the elevator "security features" which seemed overkill and made getting an elevator a very long wait. The retro red decor did start getting on my nerves after a couple of days. The rooms are small and they nickel and dime you for everything. You have to pay to use the in room safe. You have to pay to use internet. Had I known prior I would have stayed at a nicer, more expensive hotel where such things are complimentary. There is no in room writing table either.They don't even give you towels for the pool.I definitely will not stay here again. There are plenty of other hotels that are located just as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Basically the heart of Waikiki, shopping and fast food or other chain dining (Chilis, Dennys, Cheesecake Factory) are all within a 0 to 15 minute walk. Honolulu public transit is very useful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 25, 2009

Why don't the elevators work properly?

Most people that were staying at the hotel had a n number of concerns. The elevators were difficult to navigate, as they needed a room key to activate calling residential floors- but the key readers were quite finicky and it was difficult to engage them before the elevator would begin moving. Housekeeping came at strange hours. At one point, they were knocking on the door at 11:30 PM to take out the trash. It's minor inconveniences such as that add up over the course of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at Tiki. It's overpriced and not very good. Walk down the strip of shops and restuarants for better options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
Jun 24, 2009

Good Location

Food was bad but location was good. Parking is expensive and the elevators are horrible. Music in the morning was always nice. Small bathroom. Internet was only cheap in the lobby. In the room it was $10 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
value finder rafa
Business
chicago, il
Jan 5, 2010

great location, thats it

the breakfast is not complimentary as advertised. the hotel is in front of the beach but doesnt have a beach. you have to cross the street to get to the public beach. i requested the hotel to fix the slow draining shower, the maintenance guy changed the plug but it was still slow. i requested for an extra bottle of shower gel so i can use it after going to another beach, the staff couldnt understand it so i had to go down to the housekeeping department and was given shampoo because they were out of the shower gel. i had to pay 20 cents a minute and 35 cents per page to print by boarding pass. i couldnt use my computer to print. on a positive note, i was given a hot water pot after requesting for hot water. there is free internet access IN THE LOBBY ONLY. great elevator security: schindler elevator? only guests with hotel key can use the elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

i could have stayed all day at hanauma bay. great snorkelling, better than average beach, although can get pretty crowded. start early, bring your food and enjoy! kailua is my favorite beach though. less crowded, fine beach, gentle breeze. These are all in east oahu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Jun 3, 2009

Hotel Doesn't Stand Behind Its Offer !

Breakfast was supposed to be included with price. Staff refused to honor agreement; suggested we upgrade (at $30/night) in order to get "breakfast. Breakfast was mediocre at best with "plastic" style condiments and entrees. In no way shape or form was this a $15 meal -- this meal made McDonald's value meal seem like fine dining.. They should be ashamed to offer and promote such a joke. They did, however, offer Hawaiian music which was pleasant...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Perry's Smorgy for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Very reasonable with a nice outside ambiance. You can even bring our own beer or wine in AND they will provide glasses without charge...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top