$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 11, 2015 Check-out: Mar 12, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
1,207 reviews
Happy 7th Birthday to My Daughter

I loved this hotel!! I enjoyed every thing.. i would definitely stay here again. See full review

  • Iva.489
  • Jan 15, 2015
Great Hotel

Very good hotel. Good location. Very nice staff Food and breakfast very good See full review

  • guna k
  • Dec 29, 2014
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel in Oahu greets guests with surfboards and citrus shades in its lobby, and bright island decor and natural elements of bamboo and rattan in its guestrooms. Start the day off with live music accompanied by freshly brewed Kona coffee, tropical fruit, baked goods and many other choices, or pack these tasty treats in a complimentary cooler bag and enjoy breakfast on the beach. With wood floors, original art and hand-carved island decorations, the on-site Tiki's Grill and Bar sets a South Pacific 1950s scene that serves up braised beef short ribs and grilled salmon, alongside kid-friendly meals served, believe it or not, on Frisbees.
Key facts
  • 645 guestrooms
  • 20 floors
  • 2 full-service restaurants: Tiki's Grill and Bar and Wolfgang Puck Express
  • Subway takeout
  • Bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Banquet, meeting and reception event facilities
  • Business center
Neighborhood
Located directly across Kalakaua Avenue from the famous Waikiki Beach, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is near the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the Manoa Falls rainforest. Spectacular views of the Diamond Head volcano site can be seen right from the resort, and the Ala Wai Golf Course is a few blocks inland, for those craving eighteen holes under the tropical sun.
Hints and tips
Guests can borrow towels and beach chairs from the hotel to take to the beach, and there is excellent snorkeling in the lagoon across the street.

Choose a room on the higher floors for unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Rooms

Partial Ocean View Deluxe
Partial Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 248 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean View Deluxe
Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 264 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean Front Room
Room features an ocean front view with one king bed or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Partial Ocean View Room
Room features a partial ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Junior Suite
Junior suite features one king bed or two double beds and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Ocean View Room
Room features an ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Standard Room
Room features two twin or double beds or one king bed. Includes alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.4 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.8 mi

Dining

Tiki's Grill and Bar
Tiki's is a blend of the old and the new, the nostalgia of Trader Vic's and the excitement and "attitude" of Hard Rock Cafe. The outdoor bar will sit under shadow of a 30' volcano and will offer breathtaking vistas of the ocean and Waikiki. The restaurant will have both indoor and outdoor seating, serving Hawaiian Regional and American cuisine. Tiki's open 10:30am-Midnight. Nightly entertainment during Happy Hour from 4-6pm and from 10pm-12am. Casual Dress. Available for Lunch and Dinner.
Cold Stone Creamery
Nextdoor to Wolfgang Puck Express. If you haven't had one yet, you just gotta come and get it - you haven't tasted ice-cream until you try one of these treats. Open weekdays from 11am-11pm and weekends from 11am-midnight. Casual Dress.
Breakfast on the Beach
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's signature amenity, "Breakfast on the Beach", is a breakfast like no other. "Breakfast on the Beach" is a breakfast with American and Asian fare that is served on a portable "to go" fashion on the pool deck each morning from 6:30-9:00am.
Wolfgang Puck Express
World renowned chef with lots of restaurants and express outlets. It's hip, upscale and he uses the freshest ingrediants to create excellent, casual Eurasian cuisine. Serving everything from soups, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, desserts & specialty items. Hours are from 7:30am-10pm. Casual Dress. Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Subway
Cuisine Type Sandwiches, Casual Dress, Open daily from 7am-11pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Cookie Corner
Cuisine Type Dessert, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1207)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1207 out of 1207
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 29, 2009

Was 4 star when I booked, now is 3

The location is very good, but that is about all this hotel has going for it. I don't know if it was becasue I was a single guy, [...] or something else, but they gave me a room on a very low floor right across from the noisy ice machine. If you like live music at breakfast, you might like it here. Personally, I like to sleep in but that was next to impossible with the live music blaring from 7:00am to 9:00am. I was not a big fan of the elevator "security features" which seemed overkill and made getting an elevator a very long wait. The retro red decor did start getting on my nerves after a couple of days. The rooms are small and they nickel and dime you for everything. You have to pay to use the in room safe. You have to pay to use internet. Had I known prior I would have stayed at a nicer, more expensive hotel where such things are complimentary. There is no in room writing table either.They don't even give you towels for the pool.I definitely will not stay here again. There are plenty of other hotels that are located just as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Basically the heart of Waikiki, shopping and fast food or other chain dining (Chilis, Dennys, Cheesecake Factory) are all within a 0 to 15 minute walk. Honolulu public transit is very useful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DtotheR
Business
The Bay
Jul 26, 2010

Great location but........

Hotel location was great. Right in front on Waikiki beach in walking distance to everywhere. Amenities sucked. Room was clean but look of it was very outdated. Only thing that looked updated was the tv and that was a pain because the remote didnt even work. To use the room safe you have to pay a daily fee. When we wanted to use it that didnt even work and needed to be fixed. I spoke to a person at the front desk about a 6pm late check out. She said that it was all set and we were good. When we went back down to have our room cards refreshed for the late checkout another person at the front desk said that it wasnt even noted on our room and that our room has already been rented. Good thing she was able to fix that. Would i recommend this place?? Probably not...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mighty Mouth
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 8, 2010

Honalulu LuLu

We have always stayed at a condo complex in the past and have never stayed in Honolulu. We found the hotel to be way too crowded and the location seemed similar to New York or Los Angeles. The elevator system at the hotel is not user friendly at all and our room was right next to the elevator and was noisey because of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within walking distance to all the night life you can handle. Having to walk through all the street vendors was not that much fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Forkman
Business
Kane County, IL
Dec 30, 2009

Location is not everything for hotels

The hotel started off poorly for us, as we had a poorly trained, unfriendly employee checking us in. The rooms were tiny, and we ended up upgrading our room, a must to tolerate this hotel. While the breakfasts were a great benefit to a family, they did not offset the negatives, which included: -Incredibly expensive parking -A nickel and dime approach to fees. I never felt the staff cared if we enjoyed our stay, they just wanted to add charges to the bill -The staff was either very good, or awful. Mainly indifferent. -The pool hours were incredibly short, closed at 5 P.M. This hotel is fairly pricey, but does not deliver the service to warrant the high prices. I would nor recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring the wizard publication inc. guide books to Hawaii. They were correct with their reviews on everything we tried.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 24, 2010

A DUMP.

I went on this trip to Hawaii as a last-minute vacation adjustment when my travel buddy couldn't join me to our original destination. I had a fantastic stay at the Hyatt Waikiki about six months ago, so I thought Waikiki would be perfect this time around. The Aston was the only place available at the last minute that was reasonably priced. Now, after having stayed there, I understand why.I waited in a long line to check in. The pool looked like a dingy cement hole in the ground, with tacky decor to boot. I did not get a king bed, like I had requested, though they did put me on a higher floor. Eventually, after much confusion with the concierge staff that had no idea what it was doing, I was moved to a king room with a much better view of the water. From what I understand and have experienced, rooms with even numbers have very small balconies, but the rooms with odd room numbers have better ones, where you can actually have a chair out there and sit to enjoy the great view and sunset.The hallways of the hotel were so hot, but the rooms had air-temp control, so that was good. The rooms themselves seemed old and not very clean. It was actually a good thing - the lousy room made me want to be out of the hotel all day.The gym is a tiny, windowless room, with a few cardio machines and some free weights. I stepped in to check it out, got claustrophobic, and got out as fast as I could. 24 Hour Fitness is down the street, but try not to let them make you pay a hefty fee to work out there. Figure out another deal with them. I worked it out to go free, even though I don't have the proper type of 24 Hour Fitness membership.The "free" breakfasts. I went downstairs to see how that system worked, and the scene was like a soup kitchen. A hundred people or so in line for a buffet or scattered about the pool chairs, eating food out of styrofoam packaging. Only fruit and not-freshly baked goods were offered, and then you had to pay extra for eggs or for waffles that people didn't seem too thrilled with. I ended up walking down to the Hyatt for breakfast every morning. They have a Belgian waffle with berries and coconut syrup to die for.I could go on about this ridiculous hotel. Tiki's Grill and Bar downstairs seemed nice for those who like a bar scene late at night; it couldn't possibly be the food that's drawing people there. The plus about the Aston, though, was its central location on Waikiki beach, close to the shops, restaurants, and other hotels where you can get better food.[...] If you have any questions about whether to stay here, think about it this way: if you consider yourself to be someone with a discerning eye who cares about a nice hotel for an enjoyable vacation and is wiling to spend an extra few bucks to get it, do NOT stay at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
remle
Business
cornelius oregon
Dec 8, 2010

waikiki beach hotel

we first stayed here 3 years ago it was great but each year it gets worse the breakfast is not at all what it was i will probably stay somewhere else next year it dosnt help to have all the homeless living in all the covered shelters across the street to where we couldnt even get in the shade or out of the rain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma, ca
Jan 25, 2011

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

My wife and I upgraded to a Ocean View and the Room was extremely small. Had to step sideways to pass each other in room aisles. The biggest complaint was the $27.00 + parking tax of $1.25 per day that the hotel automatically charged to your room if you have a rental car. Total: $254.43.Our second complaint was the $39.99 / Week to access the hotel Internet. Free downstairs but you have to leave the room.The third complaint was the the hotel did not provide full coverage of Wimbleton Tennis that was going on. "VERY" limited TV stations.************************************************Items 1 and 2 should have been disclosed when we made the reservations [...]. My wife and I would have selected another Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping should be done "outside" downtown Waikiki area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2007

not what we expected

The Resort Quest Waikii Beach was in a very good location...east of the beach, very close to the zoo. The rooms were very small...very little closet space...beds were comfortable...linens were changed everyday. The bath was just OK...no ventilation and the tubs were gray on the bottom. Service was OK, if you asked for anything they were quick to respond. The breakfast was not great...we had expected much more variety...coffee and fresh fruit were they only foods we could look forward to each day. We had a partial ocean view and were pleased with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2008

Not what we expected

Our bathroom was in bad need of remodeling & the shower was coming away from the wall. The flat screen tv was nice as well as the beds, but the standard room was quite small & only had room for 1 chair on the outside balcony. We would probably not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was great! Right in the middle of everything...A short walk to shopping, dining, zoo, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travellin gal
Business
honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 6, 2010

Not a place I would go back to

Stayed here because it was on the beach and my first time to Waikiki. The room was fine, clean with basics. Basically the price was the only thing going for my stay there. Had the feel of staying in a motel...had to pay for internet connection. Breakfast should be called "morning picnic" as they had basics and not even plates to use, everything disposable (for those taking their b'fast to beach, makes sense).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top