$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1080 out of 1080
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nana B.
Business
Carson Valley, Nevada
Jan 18, 2010

A little disappointed.

When we arrived the desk clerk was very gracious. When we got to our room, we were very surprised with the lack of space and amentities. It was more like a basic motel room. The view was great from the balcony. The air conditioner didn't work well. The advertisment and list from the hotel was completely deceiving. The breakfast was only a continental set up. There was not much to choose from, no menu. The hotel restaurants were not that good. We wish we would have done more investigation before booking. If you are looking for something more in the hotel catagory look at the Sheraton, Hyatt, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel had 3 travel agents in the lobby. They were able to set us up with some great tours of the island. We enjoyed the tour of the Polynesian Culture Center the most. It was quite intertaining.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portand or
May 8, 2009

the good the bad and the really ugly

I got there in the middle of the night because our plane was late- the lady at check in sayed this room will be no upgrade fee---thats the first thing then everyday but one my bathroom was not cleaned---but it is a good location. but when I went to check out the upgrade fee was on there and $15 dollars a day for the breakfast so I told them the whole story about when I checked in the lady sayed this room would be no fee. after about 30 min of them telling me the room I had was an upgraded room they took it off but they were kind of rude... I want to come back with my kids but Im not sure if I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

take everything you need for your trip like lotions and asprin ect. The markets are very over priced

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vernal, Ut
May 17, 2009

dont plan on sleeping in

went out clubbing at night to enjoy the night life and planned on sleeping in, didnt work out that way. Some live Hawaiian band was singing music all morning out by the pool for the breakfast deal the hotel has. I will defenetly never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tucson az
Feb 23, 2010

so so

unfriendly staff no coffee in loby no coffeemaker in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 23, 2007

GOOD LOCATION

The location of this hotel was good, however when I booked this hotel, I was lead to believe it was directly on the beach. It is not, it is across the road from the beach. Still it was conveniently located. Also, we upgraded to an ocean view room for an additional $ 350.00 for our five nights, right at the hotel. I later found out that we would have gotten a comparable ocean view room had I just taken the room I had originally booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

tons of shopping!!!

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 28, 2007

Breakfast included

The included hot breakfast is a boxed quiche and not very good at that. No place to sit and eat breakfast so plan on going over to the beach. Noisy. Bars downstairs play late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
Jul 4, 2009

Nothing special

I'll start with the positives, since it won't take long: close to the beach, close to the zoo, one good server at the restaurant. That said, I definitely wouldn't call this a four-star hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 2pm, an hour before check-in, and our room hadn't been cleaned yet. We sat outside for an hour, with our luggage, and when they DIDN'T call me, like they said they would when our room was ready, I went back to the counter, where they told me we got a complimentary upgrade. This "upgrade" consisted of a partial view of the ocean...The room was tiny and contained no brochure or anything about room service (I don't think there is any), nearby activities, shopping, or sights...nothing (like ALL other hotels do, even fleabag motels). Also, it was incredibly noisy from outside construction and draftiness. It was also great to find out that parking is valet only, which costs $22/day. I ended up paying an additional $110 for parking alone! I don't think I would ever stay at the Aston again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car with your package. You can take a bus, shuttle, or van anywhere on the island, and it will end up costing significantly less than renting a car. Plus, if you're staying in Waikiki, there's absolutely nowhere to park anyway.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Apr 21, 2008

Be careful

The hotel staff are rude people. I had to pay a deposit, which I didn't know about until I got there. The room key had to replaced countless times and was very hard to open the doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lot of good places to shop and are really priced well. To find a good and cheap restraunt is very hard; they are actually hidden from tourist. We walked through these trees by the airport after someone gave us this information and found a great pizza shop at a reasonable price.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 29, 2009

Was 4 star when I booked, now is 3

The location is very good, but that is about all this hotel has going for it. I don't know if it was becasue I was a single guy, [...] or something else, but they gave me a room on a very low floor right across from the noisy ice machine. If you like live music at breakfast, you might like it here. Personally, I like to sleep in but that was next to impossible with the live music blaring from 7:00am to 9:00am. I was not a big fan of the elevator "security features" which seemed overkill and made getting an elevator a very long wait. The retro red decor did start getting on my nerves after a couple of days. The rooms are small and they nickel and dime you for everything. You have to pay to use the in room safe. You have to pay to use internet. Had I known prior I would have stayed at a nicer, more expensive hotel where such things are complimentary. There is no in room writing table either.They don't even give you towels for the pool.I definitely will not stay here again. There are plenty of other hotels that are located just as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Basically the heart of Waikiki, shopping and fast food or other chain dining (Chilis, Dennys, Cheesecake Factory) are all within a 0 to 15 minute walk. Honolulu public transit is very useful.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 25, 2009

Why don't the elevators work properly?

Most people that were staying at the hotel had a n number of concerns. The elevators were difficult to navigate, as they needed a room key to activate calling residential floors- but the key readers were quite finicky and it was difficult to engage them before the elevator would begin moving. Housekeeping came at strange hours. At one point, they were knocking on the door at 11:30 PM to take out the trash. It's minor inconveniences such as that add up over the course of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at Tiki. It's overpriced and not very good. Walk down the strip of shops and restuarants for better options.

Back to menu Return to top