$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1083 out of 1083
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Jose
Dec 1, 2009

Aston Waikki Beach Hotel Review

- Hotel rooms are pretty small - Not great food at restaurants inside the hotel - No coffee shop - No bottled water in room. - The soda/water bottle/ice dispenser in each floor does not work. You'll have to go down the elevator to the mini market store and buy one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a public parking just down the street on Kuhio drive, use that instead of the valet parking

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Resting means resting.
Couples
Nebraska
May 20, 2009

I would try to find something cheaper.

The first room they gave us had many roaches. Not one or two, but many. I went to complain very quiet, only to see if they could give us a diferent room. One thin guy , the only man at reception that night, said: "You know? It's an island, guy", talking loud and with no education, embarrasing me. Everybody else in reception was polite and nice. They gave us a new room with a much worse view, so I complained again and we moved at last to a new room, wich was clean and had a nice view. Anyway, they didn't have any courtesy to us for making us sleep in three diferent rooms in four nights we slept there. The elevators are a complete mess, they will take you to any floor except for the one you want to go to, if you don't get locked in it. The ice vending didn't work but it made more noise than hell. Anytime we needed ice we had to take the elevator and go to another floor to take some ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The good thing is that is safe to walk that area even at night. Anyway, I wouldn't recommend to eat nearby the hotel. There are better and cheaper places in other areas. The same about markets. We didn't find anything minimally interesting in that area. Nothing "not Made in China" or that you can not buy at Wal Mart at any other place.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
neurologist
Couples
detroit, mi
Apr 18, 2011

nice location

dirty bathrooms bed sheets not changed unless asked needs renovation uneventful poolside far from convetion center 15 bucks cab ride good location across from beach tikis bar cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

morimotos

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Oakland
Oct 2, 2009

Second-class Service

The person who check us in was not friedly. We paid for Ocean View and felt like it was just partcial Ocean view. When I stayed at Marriot for Partial Ocean view, it was the same view. The beverage machine was place right outside of our room that made loud noises through out the night. We could not flush the toilet on the first or second flush. I broke my nail just flushing the toilet. Did not bother to change room b/c it was only for 2 days. If I were ever to stay there again, it would only be for location reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
VA
Nov 11, 2009

Ratings for REsortQuest Waikiki Beach Ho

We were not aware that we didn't get the breakfast package thru [...], therefore, very inconvenient. Had to pay $10 per person when getting there instead of having to pay $15 per couple if booked thru [...].Coffee was not available in our room...had to go downstairs and get at an inconvenient time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice location. Central...to everything.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hubbell family
Family
Merced CA
May 4, 2009

Don't stay here !!!

I would not stay here again. The rooms are tiny like a cruise ship, had to change rooms twice becouse stuff was broken in them. The hotel service is really bad. The people working up front are rude. Free beakfast was advertised but when we got there they said since we booked through orbitz we had to pay $10 per day per person total extra 30 per day if we wanted it. They charge for in room safe use like 5.00 per day. Parking is 26.00 per day.... they nickle and dime you for every little thing. Only good thing was location which is right across the street from the beach. I would not stay here again, they are so many other better hotels to chose from...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay here... You can do better

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
waikiki, hawiia
Mar 29, 2011

The problem was avoidable

[...]. I was charged for hotel but there were no reservations. It took over 1 hour to get a room, and it was awful. By the elevator, and noise woke me up repeatedly during the night. Finally was able to get a quieter room. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

none

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oak ca
Feb 1, 2011

Poor

Didn't like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Tampa, FL
Sep 7, 2009

Average, at Best

This was my fourth stay in Waikiki and the Aston was by far the most disappointing. The rooms are very small, but clean. Maintenance issues included a noisy & leaky AC and one elevator shut down for major repair. The free full breakfast was marginal at best. Prepackaged egg muffin, french toast sticks, and mini bagels or muffins were the daily fare. Food had to be packed into a small cooler bag given to each guest at check-in and eaten with plastic utensils. They call it their "Breakfast on the Beach" but it's closer to "McDonalds in a bag"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good dining within a short walking distance. Best options are at the Wolfgang Puck Express in the Aston lobby, or at Dukes and Chucks in the nearby Outrigger Hotel.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Corrales, NM
Aug 5, 2009

Overrated

I really wanted to like this place, my first time to Oahu... The location is great; right off the beach, across the street from the zoo, it shares space with a few good chain eateries, and lots of shops. Views are lovely if you get ocean facing, otherwise your view is another hotel. Pool was small but nice, crowded. Waikiki beach was across the street so we were there more often. Décor was nice, but rings in bathtub and chipped wall paint didn't much impress me. Also we got two tiny, full beds in our standard room, not the two queen sized beds advertized. And the walls may as well have been made of paper, but many hotels are like that. Some of the hotel and valet staff were impatient and rude; perhaps because my friend and I are in our twenties, but the housekeeping staff was friendly. Tiki bar by the pool was so-so with a less than stellar staff. We preferred the bar around the corner, over the ABC store. Be prepared for extra hotel costs. WiFi ($9.95/day), Parking ($22/day and be prepared to wait for the valet), and Breakfast NOT included for all rooms ($10 for basically a hyped up continental bfast) and various gratuities all add up. Elevators/lifts were a nightmare, each time we wished to go up or down we had to wait for about 5 to 20 minutes, despite there being FIVE elevators; and the room key access for the elevators was more an annoyance than a reassurance. The stairs, which lead to a service area at ground level, were quicker even though we were on the 11th floor. Every time I got into an elevator I heard fellow guests complaining, so I know we weren't the only ones having problems. Overall we loved the location, weren't pleased with the staff, were frustrated by the waits, and didn't appreciate how much over the room cost we ended up paying. Don't think I'd ever stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top