$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1216 out of 1216
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Calibaby
Business
California
Mar 14, 2013

Birthday vacation

The beds were itching me!!!! They need new beds! The location is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tina and Andy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 17, 2013

Not what I expected.

The hotel seems old and run down. Our air conditioning didn't work at all the first night and after speaking with the staff, worked, but not well, the remainder of our stay. The room was warm and muggy most of the time, more humid than it was outdoors. The walls had visible dirty lint and dust clinging to them, especially above the vents and sprinkler nozzle. The bathroom was seriously outdated and run down, but was clean. The bathroom vent did not work, and was not fixed even after mentioning it to the staff, making the room even more muggy after showering. The complimentary breakfast was good, a lot of variety, and the items were good. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were not. There are very few outlets to plug in anything, we had to unplug the television to be able to charge our phones and camera battery charger. The partial ocean view room that I reserved was "upgraded" to an ocean view room upon check in. I was very excited and expected to see the ocean out our balcony window, but was sad to see that I had a very good view of the hotel across the way. If you stepped out onto the balcony and faced west, then you could see the ocean and Waikiki Beach. There was only one chair on the balcony, which was rather small, so only one of us could sit out there and admire the beauty at a time, unless the other stood. It was nice of them to offer the upgrade but frankly I would have called this room a partial ocean view, so I am not sure what we would have gotten if the room wasn't upgraded, but be forewarned full ocean view, as we came to discover, is not the same as ocean front. We did have a spectacular view of Diamond Head as we walked to our room. The noise at night was loud. We left the glass sliding door open to help cool off the room since the air conditioning didn't work and were startled awake several times a night, with sirens, busses, and people screaming or laughing loudly. The biggest plus of this hotel is that you literally cross the street right in front of the hotel and you are on Waikiki Beach. It would be hard to be closer to the beach than that, we had an amazing view of the sun setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are in Waikiki and are looking for a great place to eat, I have 2 recommendations: Steak and seafood type food - you can not beat Dukes, located in the Outrigger Hotel, right on Waikiki Beach. The prime rib and lobster are the best I've ever had. For burgers and sandwich fare, we really enjoyed the atmosphere and food of Jimmy Buffets Restaurant, just across the street from Waikiki Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nameck
Business
New Orleans , Louisiana
May 5, 2013

This is not a 4 Star hotel

The resort fee for the amenities are a joke. Donuts and danish and juice, Available only to 9AM. Wireless service only avail;able if you brought your own device. You have to pay to use their computers. The location is right on the beach. This is surpassed by the numerous homeless people (bums) sleeping on the sidewalk directly in front of the property. The rooms are clean but are need of an update. The a/c did not cool properly. There was no coffee service in the room or avaiable nearby before 6AM. Concierge service was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants and shops at nearby hotels had better atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GeneC
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 5, 2013

Great location, but disappointed overall.

Pros - Amazing location. Free breakfast in the mornings and that was decent - however, there is a charge for omelets. They provide little lunch boxes so you can have breakfast on the beach. Cons - Our check-in clerk "upgraded" us to a partial ocean view on the 5th floor right above Tiki's bar. The noise level was out of control and it made it difficult to sleep. We could also hear them set up at 5am for breakfast. Also, we had asked for a queen bed and they gave us two full beds. The hallways were outdated, dingy, and looked old, as did the rooms. The hallway outside our room, in particular smelled like tempura shrimp. There were stains on our ceiling. Housekeeping was horrendous. I think they only really clean the day you arrive. They basically just make your bed and restock towels. They hardly ever replenished our drinking glasses and I doubt they cleaned the tub (there was mold in the shower/tub). In terms of parking, they only do valet ($27 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Had an amazing dinner at Michel's at the Colony Surf. Great food, service, and ambience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Oct 13, 2009

we are disappointed

I and my wife stayed the Aston hotel for 6 nights,this hotel even want to charge me 3 days so called 'safe fee',I am very strange,is it that mean the hotel is not safe? [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 17, 2010

Great location, Disappointing hotel

This hotel has the worst elevator system I have ever seen. It was the major complaint of practically everyone staying there we spoke to. The elevator management system all but broke down during the morning rush for the disappointing continental breakfast. The hotels location was excellent, located at the east end of Waikiki, & next to the Honolulu Zoo and Kapiolani Park. Both great places to visit. Having a ocean front view saved the stay for us. The room we had was clean and in good condition. The on-site restaurant "Tiki's" is not affiliated with the hotel, so we could not charge any of our meals to the room. We did not spend much time at the hotel except to sleep, as they do not have much to offer and the pool is pretty small. If you want something close to the beach, make sure you get an ocean front room above the 6th floor to clear the palm trees. At checkout I asked for a comment card and the rather rude front desk woman said they had my e-mail and would send me one. Somehow I don't think they will.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Busy mom & Wife
Business
Litchfield County, CT
May 9, 2011

Not Rec unless you like gambling

One of the reasons I chose this hotel was their location,the pool, and the free breakfast-so we could get out of there early each morning. Unfortuately the crowded, badly set up corner with mini donuts, and tiny cups of lukewarm coffee sucked. We ended up buying breakfast every morning. They also choose to paint the floor in the pool area one busy day, making it more crowded and the pool was closed nearly all the time.Our bathroom had a plumbing leak and it took 3 days to get moved to another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Dec 1, 2009

Aston Waikki Beach Hotel Review

- Hotel rooms are pretty small - Not great food at restaurants inside the hotel - No coffee shop - No bottled water in room. - The soda/water bottle/ice dispenser in each floor does not work. You'll have to go down the elevator to the mini market store and buy one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a public parking just down the street on Kuhio drive, use that instead of the valet parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Resting means resting.
Business
Nebraska
May 20, 2009

I would try to find something cheaper.

The first room they gave us had many roaches. Not one or two, but many. I went to complain very quiet, only to see if they could give us a diferent room. One thin guy , the only man at reception that night, said: "You know? It's an island, guy", talking loud and with no education, embarrasing me. Everybody else in reception was polite and nice. They gave us a new room with a much worse view, so I complained again and we moved at last to a new room, wich was clean and had a nice view. Anyway, they didn't have any courtesy to us for making us sleep in three diferent rooms in four nights we slept there. The elevators are a complete mess, they will take you to any floor except for the one you want to go to, if you don't get locked in it. The ice vending didn't work but it made more noise than hell. Anytime we needed ice we had to take the elevator and go to another floor to take some ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The good thing is that is safe to walk that area even at night. Anyway, I wouldn't recommend to eat nearby the hotel. There are better and cheaper places in other areas. The same about markets. We didn't find anything minimally interesting in that area. Nothing "not Made in China" or that you can not buy at Wal Mart at any other place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
neurologist
Business
detroit, mi
Apr 18, 2011

nice location

dirty bathrooms bed sheets not changed unless asked needs renovation uneventful poolside far from convetion center 15 bucks cab ride good location across from beach tikis bar cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

morimotos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top