$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
1,931 reviews
Great Stay !

Right from the get go, the service was great. We were given a deluxe ocean view instead of the... See full review

  • LikiLiki
  • May 13, 2014
that was great

that was so great experience.i will recommend this hotel to other because of its wonderful location. See full review

  • redface
  • Apr 16, 2014
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel in Oahu greets guests with surfboards and citrus shades in its lobby, and bright island decor and natural elements of bamboo and rattan in its guestrooms. Start the day off with live music accompanied by freshly brewed Kona coffee, tropical fruit, baked goods and many other choices, or pack these tasty treats in a complimentary cooler bag and enjoy breakfast on the beach. With wood floors, original art and hand-carved island decorations, the on-site Tiki's Grill and Bar sets a South Pacific 1950s scene that serves up braised beef short ribs and grilled salmon, alongside kid-friendly meals served, believe it or not, on Frisbees.
Key facts
  • 645 guestrooms
  • 20 floors
  • 2 full-service restaurants: Tiki's Grill and Bar and Wolfgang Puck Express
  • Subway takeout
  • Bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Banquet, meeting and reception event facilities
  • Business center
Neighborhood
Located directly across Kalakaua Avenue from the famous Waikiki Beach, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is near the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the Manoa Falls rainforest. Spectacular views of the Diamond Head volcano site can be seen right from the resort, and the Ala Wai Golf Course is a few blocks inland, for those craving eighteen holes under the tropical sun.
Hints and tips
Guests can borrow towels and beach chairs from the hotel to take to the beach, and there is excellent snorkeling in the lagoon across the street.

Choose a room on the higher floors for unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2721 -157.823
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Located across from the world famous Waikiki Beach and close to restaurants, shopping and attractions, such as the zoo and aquarium. Close to outdoor park concerts, tennis courts and Ala Wai Golf Course.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Rooms

Partial Ocean View Deluxe
Partial Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 248 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean View Deluxe
Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 264 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean Front Room
Room features an ocean front view with one king bed or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Partial Ocean View Room
Room features a partial ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Junior Suite
Junior suite features one king bed or two double beds and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Ocean View Room
Room features an ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Standard Room
Room features two twin or double beds or one king bed. Includes alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.4 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.8 mi

Dining

Tiki's Grill and Bar
Tiki's is a blend of the old and the new, the nostalgia of Trader Vic's and the excitement and "attitude" of Hard Rock Cafe. The outdoor bar will sit under shadow of a 30' volcano and will offer breathtaking vistas of the ocean and Waikiki. The restaurant will have both indoor and outdoor seating, serving Hawaiian Regional and American cuisine. Tiki's open 10:30am-Midnight. Nightly entertainment during Happy Hour from 4-6pm and from 10pm-12am. Casual Dress. Available for Lunch and Dinner.
Cold Stone Creamery
Nextdoor to Wolfgang Puck Express. If you haven't had one yet, you just gotta come and get it - you haven't tasted ice-cream until you try one of these treats. Open weekdays from 11am-11pm and weekends from 11am-midnight. Casual Dress.
Breakfast on the Beach
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's signature amenity, "Breakfast on the Beach", is a breakfast like no other. "Breakfast on the Beach" is a breakfast with American and Asian fare that is served on a portable "to go" fashion on the pool deck each morning from 6:30-9:00am.
Wolfgang Puck Express
World renowned chef with lots of restaurants and express outlets. It's hip, upscale and he uses the freshest ingrediants to create excellent, casual Eurasian cuisine. Serving everything from soups, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, desserts & specialty items. Hours are from 7:30am-10pm. Casual Dress. Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Subway
Cuisine Type Sandwiches, Casual Dress, Open daily from 7am-11pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Cookie Corner
Cuisine Type Dessert, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1931)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1931 out of 1931
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maui
Jul 20, 2009

Resort Quest review

The bell desk was friendly and helpful. the front desk was horrid, not one smile and very condescending! the beds and linenes were nice but there was not shampoo and conditioner in the shower and only three towels. The pool was very small, no poolside cocktail service, way too much chlorine, no beach towels, no mention on check-in of breakfast (discovered this on check out).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki strip shopping and surfing

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Forks ND
Dec 14, 2010

great location.....not a 4 1/2 star hote

The location for a beach hotel was beatiful. However we had to upgrade to get the ocean view. The bed was comfortable, especially for a hotel. Shopping was close enought to walk to. It was rated a 4 1/2 starr hotel....it was more like a 2. There is no coffee maker in the room. You had to go down stairs (we were on the 14th floor)to get a cup of coffee which wasn't available to you until 6:am. The continental breakfest was ok. You got the average muffins, donuts, fruit, cold cereal, yogurt. If you wanted waffles you had to pay extra for them. For the price of the room, it should have been included. The problem was, they only had 2 stations for the food. They were not set up in a line, it was a box shape table....you really had to fight to get what you wanted before it was gone. Time was from 6:30-8:30. If you went down after 7:00, you didn't have much left to pick from. You should be able to have anything available at 6am, until they close. There was only 1 bedside table. The other side had to put things on the floor if you wanted it by your bed. i.e. a drink, alarm clock, remote...etc. For the price your would expect 2 sinks and plenty of counter space in the bathroom. It was very small. You could not have 2 people in there trying to get ready to go out. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was completely rusted. Tile around the wall and the tub were cracked and patched. We ran out of toliet paper, after the room was cleaned, had to call for some. Left note for housekeeping to leave more stationary, and bedside note pad, as well as a complementary bag for dirty clothes. None of these items were left for me. The balcony sliding glass door had the rubber protection on the lock missing, leaving a shrap edge to contend with everytime you opened the door. It was a disappointment to enter the room of what you thought was a 4 1/2 starr rating and find an average room you would expect to pay $60 per night while traveling. I have stayed in Motel 6, Super 8, etc. which were better rooms then this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are quite a few places to eat in short or long walks to get too. The walk at night is beautiful along the beach side of the street. The thing you need to be ready for is the crowd, and the street venders. They will "bug" you the whole walk, and they are pushy.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portalnd OR
Jul 20, 2009

Family Vacation

It was ok. The Valet Parking sucked! it took forever to get the car once called for. Once it took 40 minutes. And the double beds are actully single size i think.. If 2 people want to sleep in a double bed its very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mighty Mouth
Sacramento, CA
Oct 8, 2010

Honalulu LuLu

We have always stayed at a condo complex in the past and have never stayed in Honolulu. We found the hotel to be way too crowded and the location seemed similar to New York or Los Angeles. The elevator system at the hotel is not user friendly at all and our room was right next to the elevator and was noisey because of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within walking distance to all the night life you can handle. Having to walk through all the street vendors was not that much fun.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mighty Mouth
Sacramento, CA
Oct 8, 2010

Honalulu LuLu

We have always stayed at a condo complex in the past and have never stayed in Honolulu. We found the hotel to be way too crowded and the location seemed similar to New York or Los Angeles. The elevator system at the hotel is not user friendly at all and our room was right next to the elevator and was noisey because of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within walking distance to all the night life you can handle. Having to walk through all the street vendors was not that much fun.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jobben
Pasadena, California
Sep 2, 2009

My Week in Hawaii

The staff was not as attentive and informative as I had hoped they would be. One of the front desk gentlemen almost seemed impatient with me during my late night check in. But being my first time, ever in Hawaii, I did not want that single staff member ruin my week. Also, you need a hotel key in order to go to your floor. I think that's a good idea, so no random patrons off the street can disturb the guests. But, on serveral occasions, my key would'nt work, so I would have to wait in line for the front deak, just to reactive my key. The housekeeping was great. I'd leave my room in the afternoon, and everything was clean, restocked, and as if I had checked in the first night. I did not care to go into the pool since it was fairly small, and crowded.. Besides, the hotel is in a magnificent location in Waikiki. Why hit the pool side when the enchanting beach is only across the street! The Hotel Bar had a beautiful, tiki ambiance; however the bartender was not as attentive. I had to sit at the bar for about 8 minutes until he decided to greet me. Mind you, there were two other guys beside me that had beers already, and another lady to my right, sipping on her Longboard. Once I got my beer, and an appetizer menu, it took him another 15 minutes to ask if I wanted anything to munch on. And even then, I had to flag him down to ask him about a happy hour special they ended up NOT having available on the menu, anyway. So on top of unattentive bar service, false advertisment. On the plus note of the Tiki Bar at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, they're Saturaday Nights play phenomenal Reggae all day long!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I was either on a moped making my way to Hanauma Bay, Pali Outlook, or walking around the Island, as well as bus hopping. Psrking can be difficult in Waikiki, so walking is key! Besides, you're more likely to see everything and enjoy the visual aspects of Hawaii

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Forkman
Kane County, IL
Dec 30, 2009

Location is not everything for hotels

The hotel started off poorly for us, as we had a poorly trained, unfriendly employee checking us in. The rooms were tiny, and we ended up upgrading our room, a must to tolerate this hotel. While the breakfasts were a great benefit to a family, they did not offset the negatives, which included: -Incredibly expensive parking -A nickel and dime approach to fees. I never felt the staff cared if we enjoyed our stay, they just wanted to add charges to the bill -The staff was either very good, or awful. Mainly indifferent. -The pool hours were incredibly short, closed at 5 P.M. This hotel is fairly pricey, but does not deliver the service to warrant the high prices. I would nor recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring the wizard publication inc. guide books to Hawaii. They were correct with their reviews on everything we tried.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nameck
New Orleans , Louisiana
May 5, 2013

This is not a 4 Star hotel

The resort fee for the amenities are a joke. Donuts and danish and juice, Available only to 9AM. Wireless service only avail;able if you brought your own device. You have to pay to use their computers. The location is right on the beach. This is surpassed by the numerous homeless people (bums) sleeping on the sidewalk directly in front of the property. The rooms are clean but are need of an update. The a/c did not cool properly. There was no coffee service in the room or avaiable nearby before 6AM. Concierge service was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants and shops at nearby hotels had better atmosphere.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 25, 2009

Why don't the elevators work properly?

Most people that were staying at the hotel had a n number of concerns. The elevators were difficult to navigate, as they needed a room key to activate calling residential floors- but the key readers were quite finicky and it was difficult to engage them before the elevator would begin moving. Housekeeping came at strange hours. At one point, they were knocking on the door at 11:30 PM to take out the trash. It's minor inconveniences such as that add up over the course of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at Tiki. It's overpriced and not very good. Walk down the strip of shops and restuarants for better options.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2007

not what we expected

The Resort Quest Waikii Beach was in a very good location...east of the beach, very close to the zoo. The rooms were very small...very little closet space...beds were comfortable...linens were changed everyday. The bath was just OK...no ventilation and the tubs were gray on the bottom. Service was OK, if you asked for anything they were quick to respond. The breakfast was not great...we had expected much more variety...coffee and fresh fruit were they only foods we could look forward to each day. We had a partial ocean view and were pleased with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top