$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1081 out of 1081
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Forkman
Business
Kane County, IL
Dec 30, 2009

Location is not everything for hotels

The hotel started off poorly for us, as we had a poorly trained, unfriendly employee checking us in. The rooms were tiny, and we ended up upgrading our room, a must to tolerate this hotel. While the breakfasts were a great benefit to a family, they did not offset the negatives, which included: -Incredibly expensive parking -A nickel and dime approach to fees. I never felt the staff cared if we enjoyed our stay, they just wanted to add charges to the bill -The staff was either very good, or awful. Mainly indifferent. -The pool hours were incredibly short, closed at 5 P.M. This hotel is fairly pricey, but does not deliver the service to warrant the high prices. I would nor recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring the wizard publication inc. guide books to Hawaii. They were correct with their reviews on everything we tried.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A.J.'s Mom
Business
Apple Valley CA
Nov 19, 2010

5 stars you have to be kidding

After a 5 hour flight all you want is a nice room. Upon arrival in our room the air conditioner was not working. We waited a few min for the maintenance man to come and he reset the thermostat. My son used the bathroom just to urinate and when he flushed the waste water came up in the bathtub. We were on the 22nd floor. Only other room available was on the 9th. No apologies no compensation for the trouble nothing. We get to the room and it was not the cleanest. Hair in the bathroom is a huge turn off. I brought clorox wipes and cleaned up a bit and made it work. The toilet paper was more like tissue paper. Great for packages not for wiping. The fan in the bathroom was broken. When you showered the bathroom was so filled with moisture the 6 ft ceiling dripped. It sounded like the faucet was leaking. The thermostat in this room had to be reset also and the television set had to be reconnected also. The shower curtain was not clean. The shower head was so fine it was like trying to shower in the rain. The bathroom had multiple messy repair attempts with caulking that was rough. There was also a bamboo like mat in the bathroom and there was mold underneath it. The next day I received a call on my cell phone from the hotel. They asked for us to bring our card keys to the front desk to make sure they had been programmed for the entire week and not just 24hours. When I went to the front desk when we returned to the hotel the clerk was irritated with me and said there was nothing wrong with the keys and I explained I had been told by the staff to do so. Very RUDE. The elevators are a joke. They were so slow. We went to use the Stairs and when we got to the bottom the door was locked and there was a push button type lock on it and we could not get out. WHAT IF THERE WAS A FIRE!!!!! When I asked for the code she stated i was not allowed to have the code access. The last day of our stay the elevators went totally haywire. When you swiped your card it just said try again later. Now on to the breakfast. It was like a feeding frenzy. Like someone had went trolling for sharks and dumped blood in the water. Total insanity. There were only half a dozen tables with chairs. There were a number of lounge chairs, but they were wet. I saw a lady stand up and her bottom and legs to her knees were soaked. The only nice thing I have to say is that there were 2 housekeeping ladies and they were friendly and said good morning, have a nice day, etc... I wish we would have stayed at the other hotel right across the street. Oh and by the way the coffee was horrible. They grow it right there and have all this wonderful water. What's the deal. The other thing is that there was not any coffee or tea, cocoa, etc available 24hrs. No coffee in room either. This hotel needs a serious makeover. I would not recommend it to anyone. Most of the staff acted like they were doing you a favor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I recommend Discover Hawaii Tours. Our guide for the north shore was [...] and he was EXCELLENT. Funny, knowledgeable and gave us the tour like we really were ohana.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2007

not what we expected

The Resort Quest Waikii Beach was in a very good location...east of the beach, very close to the zoo. The rooms were very small...very little closet space...beds were comfortable...linens were changed everyday. The bath was just OK...no ventilation and the tubs were gray on the bottom. Service was OK, if you asked for anything they were quick to respond. The breakfast was not great...we had expected much more variety...coffee and fresh fruit were they only foods we could look forward to each day. We had a partial ocean view and were pleased with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2008

Not what we expected

Our bathroom was in bad need of remodeling & the shower was coming away from the wall. The flat screen tv was nice as well as the beds, but the standard room was quite small & only had room for 1 chair on the outside balcony. We would probably not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was great! Right in the middle of everything...A short walk to shopping, dining, zoo, etc.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Labrador
Business
Sugar Land,TX
Oct 25, 2009

Noisy,Unfriendly staff

It's cheaper than most comparable hotels in that area, so it'a pretty good deal. The rooms and facilities are a little bit old, but is clean. But, their restraunt has a band playing very loudly late in the night,past 2AM on saturday night. They charged me extra for the safe I never used, I tried to argue with them, but they simply say: no, you used it. Will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
morganton, nc
Jun 16, 2009

needs improvement

The air conditioner in the room was not good. Would not go cold enough for better comfort level. The ice machines did not work. The drink machines did not work either. The pool closed too early. You had to pay too much money for parking, it was valet parking only. The balcony was too small, you could not sit out there. You had to use your room key for the elevators, so everyone was riding them up and down before they got to the floor you wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maui
Jul 20, 2009

Resort Quest review

The bell desk was friendly and helpful. the front desk was horrid, not one smile and very condescending! the beds and linenes were nice but there was not shampoo and conditioner in the shower and only three towels. The pool was very small, no poolside cocktail service, way too much chlorine, no beach towels, no mention on check-in of breakfast (discovered this on check out).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki strip shopping and surfing

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portalnd OR
Jul 20, 2009

Family Vacation

It was ok. The Valet Parking sucked! it took forever to get the car once called for. Once it took 40 minutes. And the double beds are actully single size i think.. If 2 people want to sleep in a double bed its very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 9, 2007

Unaccommodating

The ResortQuest Waikiki Beach hotel was clean and in a great location. They were however completely booked, and could not accommodate our request for a room upgrade once we saw that the room provided to us was far too small for our needs as we were traveling with an infant. Upon check in, the clerk told us that we were elligible for the hotels free breakfast in the morning, but when we showed our room key (that was color coded) the employee refused to let us in claiming that we were not in fact eligible for the complimentary breakfast and demanded to know who told us we were. We will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travellin gal
Business
honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 6, 2010

Not a place I would go back to

Stayed here because it was on the beach and my first time to Waikiki. The room was fine, clean with basics. Basically the price was the only thing going for my stay there. Had the feel of staying in a motel...had to pay for internet connection. Breakfast should be called "morning picnic" as they had basics and not even plates to use, everything disposable (for those taking their b'fast to beach, makes sense).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top