$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1083 out of 1083
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Northern California
Jun 24, 2009

Good Location

Food was bad but location was good. Parking is expensive and the elevators are horrible. Music in the morning was always nice. Small bathroom. Internet was only cheap in the lobby. In the room it was $10 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
value finder rafa
Couples
chicago, il
Jan 5, 2010

great location, thats it

the breakfast is not complimentary as advertised. the hotel is in front of the beach but doesnt have a beach. you have to cross the street to get to the public beach. i requested the hotel to fix the slow draining shower, the maintenance guy changed the plug but it was still slow. i requested for an extra bottle of shower gel so i can use it after going to another beach, the staff couldnt understand it so i had to go down to the housekeeping department and was given shampoo because they were out of the shower gel. i had to pay 20 cents a minute and 35 cents per page to print by boarding pass. i couldnt use my computer to print. on a positive note, i was given a hot water pot after requesting for hot water. there is free internet access IN THE LOBBY ONLY. great elevator security: schindler elevator? only guests with hotel key can use the elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

i could have stayed all day at hanauma bay. great snorkelling, better than average beach, although can get pretty crowded. start early, bring your food and enjoy! kailua is my favorite beach though. less crowded, fine beach, gentle breeze. These are all in east oahu.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chico, CA
Jun 3, 2009

Hotel Doesn't Stand Behind Its Offer !

Breakfast was supposed to be included with price. Staff refused to honor agreement; suggested we upgrade (at $30/night) in order to get "breakfast. Breakfast was mediocre at best with "plastic" style condiments and entrees. In no way shape or form was this a $15 meal -- this meal made McDonald's value meal seem like fine dining.. They should be ashamed to offer and promote such a joke. They did, however, offer Hawaiian music which was pleasant...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Perry's Smorgy for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Very reasonable with a nice outside ambiance. You can even bring our own beer or wine in AND they will provide glasses without charge...

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Orange County, CA
Oct 24, 2010

A DUMP.

I went on this trip to Hawaii as a last-minute vacation adjustment when my travel buddy couldn't join me to our original destination. I had a fantastic stay at the Hyatt Waikiki about six months ago, so I thought Waikiki would be perfect this time around. The Aston was the only place available at the last minute that was reasonably priced. Now, after having stayed there, I understand why.I waited in a long line to check in. The pool looked like a dingy cement hole in the ground, with tacky decor to boot. I did not get a king bed, like I had requested, though they did put me on a higher floor. Eventually, after much confusion with the concierge staff that had no idea what it was doing, I was moved to a king room with a much better view of the water. From what I understand and have experienced, rooms with even numbers have very small balconies, but the rooms with odd room numbers have better ones, where you can actually have a chair out there and sit to enjoy the great view and sunset.The hallways of the hotel were so hot, but the rooms had air-temp control, so that was good. The rooms themselves seemed old and not very clean. It was actually a good thing - the lousy room made me want to be out of the hotel all day.The gym is a tiny, windowless room, with a few cardio machines and some free weights. I stepped in to check it out, got claustrophobic, and got out as fast as I could. 24 Hour Fitness is down the street, but try not to let them make you pay a hefty fee to work out there. Figure out another deal with them. I worked it out to go free, even though I don't have the proper type of 24 Hour Fitness membership.The "free" breakfasts. I went downstairs to see how that system worked, and the scene was like a soup kitchen. A hundred people or so in line for a buffet or scattered about the pool chairs, eating food out of styrofoam packaging. Only fruit and not-freshly baked goods were offered, and then you had to pay extra for eggs or for waffles that people didn't seem too thrilled with. I ended up walking down to the Hyatt for breakfast every morning. They have a Belgian waffle with berries and coconut syrup to die for.I could go on about this ridiculous hotel. Tiki's Grill and Bar downstairs seemed nice for those who like a bar scene late at night; it couldn't possibly be the food that's drawing people there. The plus about the Aston, though, was its central location on Waikiki beach, close to the shops, restaurants, and other hotels where you can get better food.[...] If you have any questions about whether to stay here, think about it this way: if you consider yourself to be someone with a discerning eye who cares about a nice hotel for an enjoyable vacation and is wiling to spend an extra few bucks to get it, do NOT stay at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Anaheim
Feb 3, 2010

Bad choice of Selecting Aston Waikiki

This vacation included with "complimentary signature "Breakfast on the Beach" daily." This is the worst service, Food was suck! and only available from 6:30 - 8:30 AM! We're on vacation! But have to get up early just to get Breakfast! Over price with daily Parking and daily safty box Fees. Too complicated Elevator system. Sometime we have to wait for 20 minutes! Not recommended this Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
remle
Family
cornelius oregon
Dec 8, 2010

waikiki beach hotel

we first stayed here 3 years ago it was great but each year it gets worse the breakfast is not at all what it was i will probably stay somewhere else next year it dosnt help to have all the homeless living in all the covered shelters across the street to where we couldnt even get in the shade or out of the rain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DtotheR
Couples
The Bay
Jul 26, 2010

Great location but........

Hotel location was great. Right in front on Waikiki beach in walking distance to everywhere. Amenities sucked. Room was clean but look of it was very outdated. Only thing that looked updated was the tv and that was a pain because the remote didnt even work. To use the room safe you have to pay a daily fee. When we wanted to use it that didnt even work and needed to be fixed. I spoke to a person at the front desk about a 6pm late check out. She said that it was all set and we were good. When we went back down to have our room cards refreshed for the late checkout another person at the front desk said that it wasnt even noted on our room and that our room has already been rented. Good thing she was able to fix that. Would i recommend this place?? Probably not...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mighty Mouth
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Oct 8, 2010

Honalulu LuLu

We have always stayed at a condo complex in the past and have never stayed in Honolulu. We found the hotel to be way too crowded and the location seemed similar to New York or Los Angeles. The elevator system at the hotel is not user friendly at all and our room was right next to the elevator and was noisey because of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within walking distance to all the night life you can handle. Having to walk through all the street vendors was not that much fun.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 22, 2009

ehhh ok

The location was great. The rooms were simple, and lacked basics such as a restroom fan, and a cofee maker. The elevator has a new automated system that automatically assigns you, and it ends up assigning far too many people. The rooms could have been tidier, as a fork was under our bed for the entire stay, and corners and such were not vacuumed well. When anyone else opened up their sliding door, it sounded like they were entering your room. This interfered with sleep. It seems that the rooms were decorated in multiple decors. The bed spread and wall behind the bed in bright red and white, the walls and carpet in earth tones. The fridge was nice, and the addition of a microwave would have been even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Petaluma, ca
Jan 25, 2011

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

My wife and I upgraded to a Ocean View and the Room was extremely small. Had to step sideways to pass each other in room aisles. The biggest complaint was the $27.00 + parking tax of $1.25 per day that the hotel automatically charged to your room if you have a rental car. Total: $254.43.Our second complaint was the $39.99 / Week to access the hotel Internet. Free downstairs but you have to leave the room.The third complaint was the the hotel did not provide full coverage of Wimbleton Tennis that was going on. "VERY" limited TV stations.************************************************Items 1 and 2 should have been disclosed when we made the reservations [...]. My wife and I would have selected another Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping should be done "outside" downtown Waikiki area

Back to menu Return to top