$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1222 out of 1222
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland
Oct 2, 2009

Second-class Service

The person who check us in was not friedly. We paid for Ocean View and felt like it was just partcial Ocean view. When I stayed at Marriot for Partial Ocean view, it was the same view. The beverage machine was place right outside of our room that made loud noises through out the night. We could not flush the toilet on the first or second flush. I broke my nail just flushing the toilet. Did not bother to change room b/c it was only for 2 days. If I were ever to stay there again, it would only be for location reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Nov 11, 2009

Ratings for REsortQuest Waikiki Beach Ho

We were not aware that we didn't get the breakfast package thru [...], therefore, very inconvenient. Had to pay $10 per person when getting there instead of having to pay $15 per couple if booked thru [...].Coffee was not available in our room...had to go downstairs and get at an inconvenient time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice location. Central...to everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hubbell family
Business
Merced CA
May 4, 2009

Don't stay here !!!

I would not stay here again. The rooms are tiny like a cruise ship, had to change rooms twice becouse stuff was broken in them. The hotel service is really bad. The people working up front are rude. Free beakfast was advertised but when we got there they said since we booked through orbitz we had to pay $10 per day per person total extra 30 per day if we wanted it. They charge for in room safe use like 5.00 per day. Parking is 26.00 per day.... they nickle and dime you for every little thing. Only good thing was location which is right across the street from the beach. I would not stay here again, they are so many other better hotels to chose from...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay here... You can do better

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
waikiki, hawiia
Mar 29, 2011

The problem was avoidable

[...]. I was charged for hotel but there were no reservations. It took over 1 hour to get a room, and it was awful. By the elevator, and noise woke me up repeatedly during the night. Finally was able to get a quieter room. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oak ca
Feb 1, 2011

Poor

Didn't like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 7, 2009

Average, at Best

This was my fourth stay in Waikiki and the Aston was by far the most disappointing. The rooms are very small, but clean. Maintenance issues included a noisy & leaky AC and one elevator shut down for major repair. The free full breakfast was marginal at best. Prepackaged egg muffin, french toast sticks, and mini bagels or muffins were the daily fare. Food had to be packed into a small cooler bag given to each guest at check-in and eaten with plastic utensils. They call it their "Breakfast on the Beach" but it's closer to "McDonalds in a bag"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good dining within a short walking distance. Best options are at the Wolfgang Puck Express in the Aston lobby, or at Dukes and Chucks in the nearby Outrigger Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corrales, NM
Aug 5, 2009

Overrated

I really wanted to like this place, my first time to Oahu... The location is great; right off the beach, across the street from the zoo, it shares space with a few good chain eateries, and lots of shops. Views are lovely if you get ocean facing, otherwise your view is another hotel. Pool was small but nice, crowded. Waikiki beach was across the street so we were there more often. Décor was nice, but rings in bathtub and chipped wall paint didn't much impress me. Also we got two tiny, full beds in our standard room, not the two queen sized beds advertized. And the walls may as well have been made of paper, but many hotels are like that. Some of the hotel and valet staff were impatient and rude; perhaps because my friend and I are in our twenties, but the housekeeping staff was friendly. Tiki bar by the pool was so-so with a less than stellar staff. We preferred the bar around the corner, over the ABC store. Be prepared for extra hotel costs. WiFi ($9.95/day), Parking ($22/day and be prepared to wait for the valet), and Breakfast NOT included for all rooms ($10 for basically a hyped up continental bfast) and various gratuities all add up. Elevators/lifts were a nightmare, each time we wished to go up or down we had to wait for about 5 to 20 minutes, despite there being FIVE elevators; and the room key access for the elevators was more an annoyance than a reassurance. The stairs, which lead to a service area at ground level, were quicker even though we were on the 11th floor. Every time I got into an elevator I heard fellow guests complaining, so I know we weren't the only ones having problems. Overall we loved the location, weren't pleased with the staff, were frustrated by the waits, and didn't appreciate how much over the room cost we ended up paying. Don't think I'd ever stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nana B.
Business
Carson Valley, Nevada
Jan 18, 2010

A little disappointed.

When we arrived the desk clerk was very gracious. When we got to our room, we were very surprised with the lack of space and amentities. It was more like a basic motel room. The view was great from the balcony. The air conditioner didn't work well. The advertisment and list from the hotel was completely deceiving. The breakfast was only a continental set up. There was not much to choose from, no menu. The hotel restaurants were not that good. We wish we would have done more investigation before booking. If you are looking for something more in the hotel catagory look at the Sheraton, Hyatt, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel had 3 travel agents in the lobby. They were able to set us up with some great tours of the island. We enjoyed the tour of the Polynesian Culture Center the most. It was quite intertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portand or
May 8, 2009

the good the bad and the really ugly

I got there in the middle of the night because our plane was late- the lady at check in sayed this room will be no upgrade fee---thats the first thing then everyday but one my bathroom was not cleaned---but it is a good location. but when I went to check out the upgrade fee was on there and $15 dollars a day for the breakfast so I told them the whole story about when I checked in the lady sayed this room would be no fee. after about 30 min of them telling me the room I had was an upgraded room they took it off but they were kind of rude... I want to come back with my kids but Im not sure if I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

take everything you need for your trip like lotions and asprin ect. The markets are very over priced

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vernal, Ut
May 17, 2009

dont plan on sleeping in

went out clubbing at night to enjoy the night life and planned on sleeping in, didnt work out that way. Some live Hawaiian band was singing music all morning out by the pool for the breakfast deal the hotel has. I will defenetly never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top