$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1216 out of 1216
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gracejini h lee
Business
vancouver
Dec 17, 2013

That's good stuff, however

I found color soft lens in the room. It was jind of scary thing like I found somone's eye. They gave me a 6th floor. It was not eogh to see nice view even It was deluxe room. I'm still wondering why they gave me lowest stories I'm quite sure there are many vacant roon in the higher floor. However nice location and good people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheerful22
Business
Texas
Dec 10, 2013

Good location!

The hotel was nice clean and close to everything. Very friendly and helpful staff. The bus stop is just around the corner in front of marriot at the back if you want to go around and save money. They hve tour desk also that are willing to book u tours. Also dont take the taxi to the airport its super expensive better have a shuttle vans take you. Good breakfast :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff and Dodie
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Dec 8, 2013

Free upgraded room...?

The room was very small and dated. We received a free upgrade because I requested a king bed....wow..if this was an upgrade...I should have paid the extra $200 to stay in one of the nicer hotels. Paint chipped and peeling...fridge smelled so bad of garlic I couldn't use it...we only used the room for sleeping. Location was good and easily accessible to everything. Breakfast was average. No protein except for the off brand yogurt. Would not stay here again or recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't get distracted by Waikiki Beach...the North shore is so beautiful and the beaches are so much nicer...get a car and go explore! Spend the Monet and go have the breakfast buffet at the Westin Moana Surfrider Hotel it was fabulous! Food on the island is expensive and of all the dining experiences we had there in 7 days...we actually only had 3 good meals. The rest...average. shopping..wonderful...weather...wonderful. Polynesian cultural center....don't spend the money..rap if you have been there before....it is run down and the grounds haven't been taken care of. Paradise Cove Luau...don't spend the money- food not so good. Germaines luau...much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunmoon1
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Dec 2, 2013

Room key is not working properly most of time

Noticed room key is not working properly, and need to try multiple times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaguarJan
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 2, 2013

Very nice hotel

Hotel in a great location. Tons to do within walking distance, or bus stop only a block away to get around the island. Huge, beautiful beach across the street. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the daily breakfast and in-room internet. They give you a small cooler to take food with you to the beach or wherever, which was nice! We paid for 'partial ocean view' and it was VERY 'partial'. Balcony was maybe two feet by six feet, and overlooked dumpsters, the next door hotel, with a peek of the ocean if you were completely out on the 'balcony'. Thankfully it was on the 19th floor, so we couldn't smell the trash. But the beds were comfy and there was a small round table with 2 chairs. Room had a 2 cubic foot fridge and no microwave, but you can use the micro in the hotel store on 1st floor. Hotel parking is $27/day, but there is secure public parking a block away for $15. (and you don't have to tip the guy every time the car goes in or out). The pool is on the 3rd floor with an ocean view from lounge chairs- very kool. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luna and family
Business
Southbay
Dec 2, 2013

Family trip

Location was awful. Homeless people sleeping all over the sidewalks in front of hotel. Vagrants doing drugs and drinking immediately near the hotel made for an unsafe experience. Not the 4 star vacation I intended!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timmy C.
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 20, 2013

Definately NOT a 4 Star Hotel

First I'll give the Pros: Hotel Staff was great. The nicest bunch of people you could ever meet. Very courteous, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is directly across the street from the beach which is beautifully kept as well as the hotel surroundings.The one restaurant has great food and atmosphere. Our "Ocean View" room did have a nice ocean view with a balcony big enough for 2 or 3 people. Now for the "Cons": We stayed at the Aston for 8 days and 4 of those 8 days I had to call Housekeeping to clean the room. Speaking of the room, it is TINY and Outdated. The master bathroom in my house is bigger than this entire room. Very Cramped. Bathroom is very small, no counter space, did not have an exhaust fan so when you showered it fogged up and smelled like mildew. No room Service (but we already knew that). Only one restaurant in the entire hotel so it was always packed. Valet parking is very expensive, do not rent a car if you really don't need to. There are plenty of buses, trollies and cabs to get around, plus most everything is within walking distance. They really need to update this hotel. The rooms seem to be neglected. Old paint, rug/tile and decor. Conclusion: Our stay was "OK". If you are on a budget than this hotel will suit you just fine but if you have a few extra dollars I would advise you to stay at another Hotel. Oh and if your a smoker...Forget about it. If you are caught smoking anywhere on their grounds or in your room (even the balcony) they will fine you up to 425.00 per occurance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GeneC
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 5, 2013

Great location, but disappointed overall.

Pros - Amazing location. Free breakfast in the mornings and that was decent - however, there is a charge for omelets. They provide little lunch boxes so you can have breakfast on the beach. Cons - Our check-in clerk "upgraded" us to a partial ocean view on the 5th floor right above Tiki's bar. The noise level was out of control and it made it difficult to sleep. We could also hear them set up at 5am for breakfast. Also, we had asked for a queen bed and they gave us two full beds. The hallways were outdated, dingy, and looked old, as did the rooms. The hallway outside our room, in particular smelled like tempura shrimp. There were stains on our ceiling. Housekeeping was horrendous. I think they only really clean the day you arrive. They basically just make your bed and restock towels. They hardly ever replenished our drinking glasses and I doubt they cleaned the tub (there was mold in the shower/tub). In terms of parking, they only do valet ($27 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Had an amazing dinner at Michel's at the Colony Surf. Great food, service, and ambience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Refreshed nurse
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 23, 2013

Would stay here again

I read some of the other reviews complaining about the size of the rooms and the bathrooms. It is true that the rooms are not big, but I didn't go to Hawaii to spend that much time in my room. The room was absolutely fine. I had a small issue which the hotel staff addressed immediately. Throughout my stay, the staff was consistently responsive and helpful. I saw some comments about the different elevator system. The elevator system is set up to have minimal stops and it actually feels more secure. The location is great. Nice pool, bar and fitness room. If you want tons of amenities, this is probably not for you. But if you want a nice hotel, friendly staff and good location, this is a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Man of Faith
Business
San Francisco, California
Oct 21, 2013

Place needs to wash their bedding, amities are no included unless you pay extra.

Me and my wife just got married, it was our honeymoon. Because of this hotel it was ruined, let me explain why. First night at the hotel our bedding, was not changed, or poorly washed. We asked to have it changed, but it was too late, we got some kind of infection from dirty sheets. My wife and I got skin infection(boils), as I'm writing this, its been 1 month still taking antibiotics after this hotel. Nothing is included you have to pay extra for WiFI and pool access and Breakfast, Parking all extra. We also had terrible view, I asked for a better room, I mentioned I was on honeymoon. I cannot recommend this place, only good thing about it is its close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top