$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
1,931 reviews
Great Stay !

Right from the get go, the service was great. We were given a deluxe ocean view instead of the... See full review

  • LikiLiki
  • May 13, 2014
that was great

that was so great experience.i will recommend this hotel to other because of its wonderful location. See full review

  • redface
  • Apr 16, 2014
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel in Oahu greets guests with surfboards and citrus shades in its lobby, and bright island decor and natural elements of bamboo and rattan in its guestrooms. Start the day off with live music accompanied by freshly brewed Kona coffee, tropical fruit, baked goods and many other choices, or pack these tasty treats in a complimentary cooler bag and enjoy breakfast on the beach. With wood floors, original art and hand-carved island decorations, the on-site Tiki's Grill and Bar sets a South Pacific 1950s scene that serves up braised beef short ribs and grilled salmon, alongside kid-friendly meals served, believe it or not, on Frisbees.
Key facts
  • 645 guestrooms
  • 20 floors
  • 2 full-service restaurants: Tiki's Grill and Bar and Wolfgang Puck Express
  • Subway takeout
  • Bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Banquet, meeting and reception event facilities
  • Business center
Neighborhood
Located directly across Kalakaua Avenue from the famous Waikiki Beach, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is near the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the Manoa Falls rainforest. Spectacular views of the Diamond Head volcano site can be seen right from the resort, and the Ala Wai Golf Course is a few blocks inland, for those craving eighteen holes under the tropical sun.
Hints and tips
Guests can borrow towels and beach chairs from the hotel to take to the beach, and there is excellent snorkeling in the lagoon across the street.

Choose a room on the higher floors for unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2721 -157.823
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International
Area description
Located across from the world famous Waikiki Beach and close to restaurants, shopping and attractions, such as the zoo and aquarium. Close to outdoor park concerts, tennis courts and Ala Wai Golf Course.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Rooms

Partial Ocean View Deluxe
Partial Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 248 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean View Deluxe
Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 264 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean Front Room
Room features an ocean front view with one king bed or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Partial Ocean View Room
Room features a partial ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Junior Suite
Junior suite features one king bed or two double beds and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Ocean View Room
Room features an ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Standard Room
Room features two twin or double beds or one king bed. Includes alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.4 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.8 mi

Dining

Tiki's Grill and Bar
Tiki's is a blend of the old and the new, the nostalgia of Trader Vic's and the excitement and "attitude" of Hard Rock Cafe. The outdoor bar will sit under shadow of a 30' volcano and will offer breathtaking vistas of the ocean and Waikiki. The restaurant will have both indoor and outdoor seating, serving Hawaiian Regional and American cuisine. Tiki's open 10:30am-Midnight. Nightly entertainment during Happy Hour from 4-6pm and from 10pm-12am. Casual Dress. Available for Lunch and Dinner.
Cold Stone Creamery
Nextdoor to Wolfgang Puck Express. If you haven't had one yet, you just gotta come and get it - you haven't tasted ice-cream until you try one of these treats. Open weekdays from 11am-11pm and weekends from 11am-midnight. Casual Dress.
Breakfast on the Beach
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's signature amenity, "Breakfast on the Beach", is a breakfast like no other. "Breakfast on the Beach" is a breakfast with American and Asian fare that is served on a portable "to go" fashion on the pool deck each morning from 6:30-9:00am.
Wolfgang Puck Express
World renowned chef with lots of restaurants and express outlets. It's hip, upscale and he uses the freshest ingrediants to create excellent, casual Eurasian cuisine. Serving everything from soups, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, desserts & specialty items. Hours are from 7:30am-10pm. Casual Dress. Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Subway
Cuisine Type Sandwiches, Casual Dress, Open daily from 7am-11pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Cookie Corner
Cuisine Type Dessert, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1931)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1931 out of 1931
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose
Dec 1, 2009

Aston Waikki Beach Hotel Review

- Hotel rooms are pretty small - Not great food at restaurants inside the hotel - No coffee shop - No bottled water in room. - The soda/water bottle/ice dispenser in each floor does not work. You'll have to go down the elevator to the mini market store and buy one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a public parking just down the street on Kuhio drive, use that instead of the valet parking

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 22, 2009

ehhh ok

The location was great. The rooms were simple, and lacked basics such as a restroom fan, and a cofee maker. The elevator has a new automated system that automatically assigns you, and it ends up assigning far too many people. The rooms could have been tidier, as a fork was under our bed for the entire stay, and corners and such were not vacuumed well. When anyone else opened up their sliding door, it sounded like they were entering your room. This interfered with sleep. It seems that the rooms were decorated in multiple decors. The bed spread and wall behind the bed in bright red and white, the walls and carpet in earth tones. The fridge was nice, and the addition of a microwave would have been even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mavi6483926
Washington state
Feb 29, 2012

Don't do it!!!

This hotel did not give me the ocean front room that I paid for, they stuck us on the side of their building, an ocean view room, and said that's what I had purchased online. Not true! Also the daily parking fee is outrageous! The 'free' breakfast was terrible! Fruit and muffins...? I've had better breakfast at gas stations before. They also stuck us in a room with two beds, on my HONEYMOON!!!! I choose and requested a king size single bed, for obvious reasons ;) and they couldn't make it right! I will never stay there again! Location was nice, but the beach in front of the hotel was under construction and closed!? We parked at other hotels and walked to other beaches so we did a lot of walking... I would book your stay somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tacoma, WA
Jul 4, 2009

Nothing special

I'll start with the positives, since it won't take long: close to the beach, close to the zoo, one good server at the restaurant. That said, I definitely wouldn't call this a four-star hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 2pm, an hour before check-in, and our room hadn't been cleaned yet. We sat outside for an hour, with our luggage, and when they DIDN'T call me, like they said they would when our room was ready, I went back to the counter, where they told me we got a complimentary upgrade. This "upgrade" consisted of a partial view of the ocean...The room was tiny and contained no brochure or anything about room service (I don't think there is any), nearby activities, shopping, or sights...nothing (like ALL other hotels do, even fleabag motels). Also, it was incredibly noisy from outside construction and draftiness. It was also great to find out that parking is valet only, which costs $22/day. I ended up paying an additional $110 for parking alone! I don't think I would ever stay at the Aston again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car with your package. You can take a bus, shuttle, or van anywhere on the island, and it will end up costing significantly less than renting a car. Plus, if you're staying in Waikiki, there's absolutely nowhere to park anyway.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tina and Andy
Sacramento, CA
Apr 17, 2013

Not what I expected.

The hotel seems old and run down. Our air conditioning didn't work at all the first night and after speaking with the staff, worked, but not well, the remainder of our stay. The room was warm and muggy most of the time, more humid than it was outdoors. The walls had visible dirty lint and dust clinging to them, especially above the vents and sprinkler nozzle. The bathroom was seriously outdated and run down, but was clean. The bathroom vent did not work, and was not fixed even after mentioning it to the staff, making the room even more muggy after showering. The complimentary breakfast was good, a lot of variety, and the items were good. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were not. There are very few outlets to plug in anything, we had to unplug the television to be able to charge our phones and camera battery charger. The partial ocean view room that I reserved was "upgraded" to an ocean view room upon check in. I was very excited and expected to see the ocean out our balcony window, but was sad to see that I had a very good view of the hotel across the way. If you stepped out onto the balcony and faced west, then you could see the ocean and Waikiki Beach. There was only one chair on the balcony, which was rather small, so only one of us could sit out there and admire the beauty at a time, unless the other stood. It was nice of them to offer the upgrade but frankly I would have called this room a partial ocean view, so I am not sure what we would have gotten if the room wasn't upgraded, but be forewarned full ocean view, as we came to discover, is not the same as ocean front. We did have a spectacular view of Diamond Head as we walked to our room. The noise at night was loud. We left the glass sliding door open to help cool off the room since the air conditioning didn't work and were startled awake several times a night, with sirens, busses, and people screaming or laughing loudly. The biggest plus of this hotel is that you literally cross the street right in front of the hotel and you are on Waikiki Beach. It would be hard to be closer to the beach than that, we had an amazing view of the sun setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are in Waikiki and are looking for a great place to eat, I have 2 recommendations: Steak and seafood type food - you can not beat Dukes, located in the Outrigger Hotel, right on Waikiki Beach. The prime rib and lobster are the best I've ever had. For burgers and sandwich fare, we really enjoyed the atmosphere and food of Jimmy Buffets Restaurant, just across the street from Waikiki Beach.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
waikiki, hawiia
Mar 29, 2011

The problem was avoidable

[...]. I was charged for hotel but there were no reservations. It took over 1 hour to get a room, and it was awful. By the elevator, and noise woke me up repeatedly during the night. Finally was able to get a quieter room. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

none

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honeymooners in Oahu
Charlotte, NC
Oct 27, 2012

WRONG rating!

I booked this Resort for a Honeymoon! looking for a 4 or 5 star place to stay. I was so so disappointed. Room on back side of hotel you could lean over rail to see ocean. Did have a great view of Diamond Head and a couple hotels. Air Condition did not keep your room cool nor you. Overall I would not go back. For the same money stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Resort that is a must better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to shops and dinning. bus stop right at hotel if you don't rent a car. Hotel charges $27 a day to park your car and still wants tips.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hawaiian trip
solon, ohio
Oct 29, 2011

Close to the beach

The staff was wonderful. The cleanliness of the room could of been better. Bathroom walls, floor and door dirty. Vents in the room very very dirty. Could use a good vacuuming. Maid service could use improvement. Rooms are not very big. No room to put your luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
neurologist
detroit, mi
Apr 18, 2011

nice location

dirty bathrooms bed sheets not changed unless asked needs renovation uneventful poolside far from convetion center 15 bucks cab ride good location across from beach tikis bar cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

morimotos

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VickiVictoria
Highlands Ranch, CO
Oct 13, 2010

Didn't leave up to its reviews

Pictures of the Aston were more impressive viewed online than in person. Our room was very small, and could have been much cleaner - the bath tub/shower drain didn't drain properly, we were left standing in tepid water above our ankles with each shower. The tile floor in the bathroom was dingy and showed signs of mold. Wall mirrors and the glass on the dresser needed a good cleaning. We had to call the front desk to get the patio door locked fixed...everytime we left and came back to our room the patio door was open. We stayed at the Aston a total of 10 nights, the bed was made every day, but the sheets weren't changed once during our stay. Elevators were slow and on two separate days two different elevators were out of commission. The only thing this hotel has going for is easty access to the ocean right across the street. However, location is too far away from the center of the action. How this hotel ever received 3 stars and above is beyond me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There was one woman at the Activities desk within the hotel that was a huge help in helping us decide on day excursions. She was extremely helpful and knowledgable.

Back to menu Return to top