$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1216 out of 1216
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan and Dot
Business
Maine
Apr 3, 2014

Vacation/honeymoon

Had a great time at this hotel, close to the beach,shopping and resterants. Staff was helpfull and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
te67a
Business
Seattle
Apr 1, 2014

Very nice

Very close to beach, awesome view from our room. Good breakfast with live music. Nice and friendly..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tiki tiki

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A.D.V.
Business
Korea
Mar 27, 2014

Enjoyable stay

This is my first time staying at Aston. I had a brief encounter when one of my friends stayed there so I ended up using Aston due to my initial encounter. The staff, especially valet and maintenance are very courteous. A couple of gripes : amenities fee and valet fees. Valet fee I understand but for $27 a day? Amenities fee (incl. pool, breakfast, internet, fitness room, dvd rentals) for $24 a day? Maybe its just my believe but I would think that paying for a stay would include amenities...but given the tourist location, some things can not be avoided. So I opted to pay. Room comes with PS3 which I used at a nightly basis. Internet connectivity is below average. Im sure during parts of the day network congestion occurs so keep that in mind. I managed to download a 5GB game via PSN and that took more than 12 hours since I left it running overnight. DVD rentals come in the form of DVDNow kiosk. The two DVDs I've rented were dirty so make sure to wipe with clean cloth before hand. I had trouble with the key card lock to my door where inserting the key didn't read. I made multiple trips the first 2 days to the front desk to notify them of my troubles and getting new keys. They finally sent for maintenance to check and the two gentleman were very courteous, humorous and informative (explaining the common causes and fixes). The ended up cleaning and actually taking my card keys downstairs and had new ones made under his supervision. Ever since then I had minimal troubles with the occasional hiccups where the key card lock gave me troubles. Breakfast is mediocre at best. You have serving of cereal, muffins, croissants, donuts, fruits, few local snacks, milk, coffee (weak tasting), and omelette(pay to make at $7) . Overall I enjoyed my stay there. Would I stay again? Most likely I would try another place for the experience and better pricing but if all else Aston would be a failsafe)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoonersss
Business
Sacramento, California
Mar 22, 2014

Several Pros, but serious cons

Our honeymoon experience began pleasantly: the front desk associate noted that we were staying on our honeymoon, and upgraded our room to a partial ocean view for free! She also gave us a little gift. The lobby looked nice, and the elevator system is brilliant and lightning fast!! Rooms were nice, but obviously showing their age. We had 3 complaints with our stay: 1.) the rooms are obviously dated and a little bit of a let down from the pictures on their website 2.) yes, it happened: every hotels nightmare: after lying on the bed for about 10 min, I found a bedbug crawling on me. Aaaaaaack!!!!!! The hotel immediately called security, quarantined the room and moved us up 12 floors. This was a big stress for us and quite a scare- but they handled it well. 3.) CHARGES!! $27 a DAY for parking. Valet is mandatory so factor in tips every time you use your car. Then there's a $23 "amenity" fee which includes things like breakfast. Breakfast gives you cheap cereals and pastries, and assorted fruits. If you want eggs or a nice Belgian waffle.... You have to pay extra. :/ one redeeming factor is UNLIMITED movie and video game rentals on the PS3 in the room. This was cool! My wife and I rocked out on Lego Star Wars multiplayer for a couple hours! Having a travel agent downstairs was also helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EP Mom
Business
Elmwood Park Illinois
Mar 15, 2014

second time staying here - LOVE it

this is my second visit and I love this place. the breakfast is convenient and good every day. The pool deck/bar is lots of fun and very lively. The cleaning staff does a wonderful job and is very friendly. The room is comfy and clean. The only change I would make is to get rid of the wooden chairs in the rooms - not somewhere you want to sit and get work done or relax - they need a comfy chair in the rooms. The cabs were readily available and very nice drivers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory has wonderful food but get a reservation quickly as they fill up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
born again wet
Business
Wailea Maui
Mar 15, 2014

not unexpectedly, very touristy, homeless on the sidewalk.

friendly staff but everything is an added cost - everything. Probably not unusual for the area just not what we expected. Our "partial ocean view" room was right above the noisy pool, to see a sliver of ocean you had to be leaning out from the balcony - they changed us to a different room but it was time consuming and we felt we were being ripped off. Lots of street noise even on the 17th floor. Homeless sleeping on the sidewalk did not add to the tropical charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Lewis
Business
Carrollton Georgia
Mar 13, 2014

Small bed

The room did not have a queen bed it had two twins which was the only downfall to the whole trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hardrock cafe was the best on the beach front. It was a little over a half mile from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
qinger
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 3, 2014

good position but still a little pity

It lies at a quite good position. Very good view from the balcony. Just besides the wakiki beach and the Brand shops. But it is toooo noisy. Also, they can not arrange the room according to the customers' condition. I went there together with my fiancee but we stayed at a two- bed room for five days!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nard94
Business
Wahiawa, HI
Feb 24, 2014

It Was Ok

Check in was kinda slow. Never been a fan of hidden fee's, or fee's not paid for during booking. Yes this hotel has one. Room was not climate control so was a bit more warm then I liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bella's Moms
Business
Salem Ma
Feb 15, 2014

good value

Perfect location and good value for the price. Staff friendly and helpful. Loved the take and go breakfast and free movies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top