$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1338 out of 1338
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Momy of two
Business
Seattle, Wa
Jan 18, 2010

great location, poor service & notquiet

The room we stayed was not quiet next there was so much noise during day time and my kids were not able to take quiet nape. It was also not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waikiki Beach Honolulu/Oahu, Hawaii
Aug 20, 2009

WOULD NOT STAY THERE AGAIN

The bathroom smelled like urine. Didn't supply with bathroom tissue untill requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VickiVictoria
Business
Highlands Ranch, CO
Oct 13, 2010

Didn't leave up to its reviews

Pictures of the Aston were more impressive viewed online than in person. Our room was very small, and could have been much cleaner - the bath tub/shower drain didn't drain properly, we were left standing in tepid water above our ankles with each shower. The tile floor in the bathroom was dingy and showed signs of mold. Wall mirrors and the glass on the dresser needed a good cleaning. We had to call the front desk to get the patio door locked fixed...everytime we left and came back to our room the patio door was open. We stayed at the Aston a total of 10 nights, the bed was made every day, but the sheets weren't changed once during our stay. Elevators were slow and on two separate days two different elevators were out of commission. The only thing this hotel has going for is easty access to the ocean right across the street. However, location is too far away from the center of the action. How this hotel ever received 3 stars and above is beyond me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There was one woman at the Activities desk within the hotel that was a huge help in helping us decide on day excursions. She was extremely helpful and knowledgable.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
citytraveler1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 4, 2009

Not worth it -- pay a bit more to stay a

We booked at the Aston Beach hotel because of a vacation package we booked off of cheap tickets. It was fairly cheap in comparison to the other hotels in the area. Our room was on the 16th floor (more of a motel feel). It was a king sized bed and very small. The room was 'clean' but definitely not nice. It never felt even close to 'home'; the room even felt uncomfortable at times. Housekeeping never arrives until LATE afternoon, the elevator system is terrible, the hotel is filled with kids, and there is NO internet (even though they say there is). You can pay a lot in the room or sit by the pool and steal it from a free connection. They advertise 'breakfast on the beach' but it's really far from it -- they give you a small lunchbox that they expect you to fill every morning and take with you to the beach (or you can sit on the pool deck). Definitely not a relaxing breakfast. The only good thing is that the view is pretty nice and there's a starbucks next door. In my opinion, after spending so much money on a trip, you should stay somewhere clean, comfortable, and relaxing to make your vacation more enjoyable. Stay at the Aston beach hotel if you don't care about a comfortable place to shower and sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Sep 17, 2009

Nice Location,needs maint (In Progress)

Please note the hotel is changing ownership and a lot of maintenance is happening. please call the hotel before making a reservation asking a quiet room seriously decline a room next to an ice machine they are 2ft away from the doors of xx04 this place will be nice in 2010 after all renovation is complete Arrived at hotel very nice place in front of the best part of the beach, check in was quick in our room in 10 minutes... clean room nice view close to everything(beach, shopping, dining all within 1 mile(just like the rest of the hotels) I am not a light sleeper at night the AC was working like a MOPED (seriously) in the morning went to complain they said they do not have any other room for us another night and check back next day. the next day they moved us to a room right in front of the ice machine. I did not realize until at night it was louder then the AC the cooling pump was running 7/24 and every 20 minutes someone getting ICE, the next day went to complain again this time TO the MANAGER finally got a quiet room. which brings us to the elevators (they have a sign on the elevators apologizing for the inconvinience during renovation September 09) plan on spending 10 minutes each way waiting and in the elevator. if you have closetrophobia go some place else. elevators will stop every single floor and no one at the floor waiting, then on their own they change direction with no reason. not a big deal but an annoyance since you go to your room only to change and sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jobben
Business
Pasadena, California
Sep 2, 2009

My Week in Hawaii

The staff was not as attentive and informative as I had hoped they would be. One of the front desk gentlemen almost seemed impatient with me during my late night check in. But being my first time, ever in Hawaii, I did not want that single staff member ruin my week. Also, you need a hotel key in order to go to your floor. I think that's a good idea, so no random patrons off the street can disturb the guests. But, on serveral occasions, my key would'nt work, so I would have to wait in line for the front deak, just to reactive my key. The housekeeping was great. I'd leave my room in the afternoon, and everything was clean, restocked, and as if I had checked in the first night. I did not care to go into the pool since it was fairly small, and crowded.. Besides, the hotel is in a magnificent location in Waikiki. Why hit the pool side when the enchanting beach is only across the street! The Hotel Bar had a beautiful, tiki ambiance; however the bartender was not as attentive. I had to sit at the bar for about 8 minutes until he decided to greet me. Mind you, there were two other guys beside me that had beers already, and another lady to my right, sipping on her Longboard. Once I got my beer, and an appetizer menu, it took him another 15 minutes to ask if I wanted anything to munch on. And even then, I had to flag him down to ask him about a happy hour special they ended up NOT having available on the menu, anyway. So on top of unattentive bar service, false advertisment. On the plus note of the Tiki Bar at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, they're Saturaday Nights play phenomenal Reggae all day long!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I was either on a moped making my way to Hanauma Bay, Pali Outlook, or walking around the Island, as well as bus hopping. Psrking can be difficult in Waikiki, so walking is key! Besides, you're more likely to see everything and enjoy the visual aspects of Hawaii

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Returning island girl
Business
Denver Co
Dec 7, 2010

So-So

The staff was very pleasant and helpful at all times. The rooms are very small for the price. Our linens had stains on them when we checked in. The free breakfast was pretty basic- fighting with swarms of other guests who think that there is no other food once it's gone was frustrating- made the free breakfast not worth it. No lids for to go coffee cups our last day; I burnt my hand because coffee spilled. View was great, hotel itself is in a good location, particularly for families w/ small children not leaving Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Larry D
Business
Greenfield, MA
Jan 20, 2014

Awesome location, great friendly staff

I would only say that the room needed some minor maintenance and that they should look at improving the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend that any one on their first visit to Oahu should contact the hotel they are staying to find out information about shuttle service and to do their homework to study the area prior to the visit. It will save valuable time and effort when you are on vacation.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patrece
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Jan 29, 2014

Good location, Good view, but noisy

Good location just across from Waikiki beach, but noisy in the morning due to trucks on the street, and amplified singing by the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Food Pantry grocery store is four block away on Kuhio St.

Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Another Alaskan Traveler
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Jan 27, 2014

Great beach location

Great location across from Waikiki Beach. Was not impressed with cleanliness of room as there was hair on the bathroom floor and the sheets had stains and a few small holes in them. Although they have a continental breakfast which was ok, there was no coffee maker in the room which is usually standard affair in hotel rooms. Walking distance to Zoo and Aquarium. Really noisy room. Our room was located on 5th floor with partial ocean view, but to do lack of privacy, weren't able to keep curtains open to enjoy the view. Also, when turning on the room fan, smells from the downstairs grill of grease and burgers came through the ventilation and we had to turn off the fan; making it humid and stuffy in our room. I would strongly recommend an upper floor room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki Beach across the street, zoo and aquarium all within walking distance of this hotel.

Back to menu Return to top