$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1336 out of 1336
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lightly seasoned traveler
Business
Illinois
Jul 6, 2013

Nothing special

I picked this hotel for the free breakfast and it's location. I had heard this end of Waikiki beach is a little quieter and it did seem to be. There seemed to be fewer people at this end of the beach which I loved. I also loved that all I had to do was walk across the street from the hotel to get to the beach. The hotel was nice but you could see where they had cut corners to save money. The balcony on the room was standing room only. They offer DVD's for rent (as part of the resort fee you have to pay on the island) but you have to watch them on a PlayStation 3. Using the game controller to watch a movie was a new experience. The free breakfast was good but very pastry heavy. You could pay extra money to get boiled eggs or an omelet for protein. The weirdest/most annoying thing was that they provide toiletries in the rooms like most hotels but, other than a small bar of handsoap for the sink, you have to purchase the toiletries. There was a little sticker by the bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and body wash that said to call housekeeping for a set to use for a $25 charge. Luckily we had brought some toiletries with us and only had to purchase a bar of soap at the ABC store. I've only been to one hotel that didn't provide toiletries but I've never been to one that provided them for an extra charge (and $25 seemed pretty ridiculous). Overall our stay was fine but if we were to go back I'd probably pay a little extra and stay at the Marriott next door. This is good place if you want a nice hotel that's close to the beach for a little less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend a circle island tour. It was my favorite thing that we did and gives your more perspective on the place as a whole.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Franciscan Traveler
Business
Daly City, California
Jul 4, 2013

Very convenient

This hotel is very convenient to all of the places. It is near the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Dre
Business
Bay Area, California
Jul 2, 2013

Birthday getaway

This was my first time visiting Hawaii and Aston was recommended to me by a friend. Staff was friendly, rooms had excellent views, and it's located right across from Waikiki beach! Great value for the price I paid. Cons: bathrooms need some upgrading, breakfast buffet was just ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennofOregon
Business
Sherwood, Oregon
Jun 26, 2013

Fabulous Location

This was a fabulous location. The rooms were a bit dated but clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
khalf
Business
Waikiki, HI
Jun 25, 2013

Great location

The staff was very friendly. Expect to pay an extra $45.00 per day for amenities and parking. It was really nice to be able to walk accross the street to the beach. The view from the room was incredible. The room was small and had a water leak which made the carpet damp. The breakfast was good, but there a lot of people trying to eat before 9 am and you have to pay extra for eggs or waffles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Movie Milk Tea
Business
Glendale, CA
Jun 20, 2013

Great Hotel Stay!!

I had a great time. Me and my friend went on a girls trip and it was GREAT! The amenities - internet, breakfast by the beach, video rentals were spectacular. really made everything easier. great staff, especially the girl working the travel counter, blonde hair maybe her name was kelly? I dont know. She was SO great with planning our activities in waikiki, she went through every available avenue to get us the right tour and the right time. the only thing was that the room cleaning happened kinda late. but other than that it was great, hotel pool is small but the BEACH IS RIGHT NEXT DOOR! ahhh one of the best places ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family boss
Business
southern california
Jun 18, 2013

Great location, breakfast, bar

beach across the street, breakfast with cooler bag for extras, bar look out to beach and good happy hour

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

best for the price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLCK
Business
Memphis, TN
Jun 17, 2013

Amazing Getaway!!

I came to Hawaii to spend my 40th b'day and it was awesome. Right across from the beach (literally). Walking distance to all shops and restaurants as well as very interesting night life. The Tikki Grill on the premises has great nightly entertainment. The only thing I didn't like was the extra $20 a night I had to pay for internet, fitness center (that I didn't use) and movies (that I didn't watch). Other than that I highly recommend this hotel. Clean room, soft beds and wonderful friendly staff. I woke up every morning looking at the ocean. It doesn't get any better!! You will never want to leave!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joy R.
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 6, 2013

Waikiki fun

It was a decent place to stay, especially being just across the street from the beach, and close to Diamond Head. Also nice to have breakfast available, although most of the breakfast were pastries/carbs. If they had better selection (more protein) for the breakfast, that would add significant value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I loved hiking up to Diamond Head, but like most other outdoor activities in Honolulu, it's best to come early (before 8 am#. Also loved snorkeling at Hanauma Bay, but need to be there even earlier before it get's crowded. This hotel is also very close to the beach and pier, so it's convenient that way. There are fireworks visible from the pier every Friday night, around 7:45 pm. Also nice to go driving along the South Shore & stop at spectacular lookout points along the Way #e.g. Blowhole, etc).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epic juggalo Q
Business
Marion, Iowa
Jun 1, 2013

Dream come true!

This trip was amazing. I was disappointed when i first got to my room because i ordered a full ocean view room thinking it would be an ocean front room. (First experience with that) The next day when the sun was up the view was amazing. No complaints about the room or friendly staff. Location was perfect!!! The only bad thing that happened with the hotel was strong winds knocked the elevators out of order 2 days in a row. We were on the 21st floor! We had to run down the stairs one morning to catch a bus to Pearl Harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is in walking distance on Waikki Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top