$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1216 out of 1216
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
subarge
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 24, 2010

Not too bad stay

We had an ocean view room so we had a partial ocean view as opposed to ocean front. This is the last hotel on Kalakaua Ave. It gets a little seedy on this end of the street. Still close to everything. The room was clean, bed was comfy. Staff was pretty friendly. Breakfast was kind of lame. It was cereal, muffins/mini bagels, fruit, coffee/tea/juice bar. The eggs/waffles were extra. Still not bad. We usually grabbed a few items so we weren't starving when we headed to the beaches. Parking was $27, which was about average for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking tip: There's metered parking nearby at the honolulu zoo. You can swipe your CC with no maximum daily hours. We didnt try this but would probably try this for saving a few bucks a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J,D,A&D
Business
Chicago,IL
Aug 9, 2011

Great olace fair value

Didn't spend alot of time in the hotel.We were mostly out at the beach or sightseeing.Room was breezy but it was very windy while we were there.We wish the breakfast was a bit better at least larger coffe cups.But overall a great location with a decent price.Very clean and the staff is curtious and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get any type of food in a short distance and you have many to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susquy
Business
Mechanicsburg, PA
Aug 7, 2011

Average place

Positive - The complimentary continent breakfast was more than adequate. Location was good in terms of Waikiki beach and public transportation. Availability of beach chairs and pool/beach towels were much appreciated. Drinking water containers at the registration desk in the afternoon were a nice touch. Kids eat free per adult meal so we often took advantage of this offer at the hotel. The food and the nightly singers at the Tiki bar were good. Negative - bathrooms smelled like urine. We rented 3 rooms and we all complained about the same thing. Housekeeping should use bleach or some kind of disinfectant. I feel that they did not spend enough time concentrating on the bathrooms. Hotel balconies for the ocean view were too small to be of any value or use. The staff that work in the valet parking area were not at all friendly when we asked for directions. They somewhat reluctantly provided the answer but we felt the unpleasantness. The young staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful. The older staff at the front desk are not quite as friendly. Maybe they are burnt out by the constant flow of tourists. I might stay here again if the price is right and since I do not expect much when I travel in a high traffic tourist area. We rented a car for a couple days and toured the island. The locals were so friendly and hospitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Each kid eats free per an adult meal. We ate at the Tiki bar often and took advantage of this offer. The food was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fayetteville, ar
May 9, 2009

Aston Wakiki

The Aston was a good place to stay great rooms, fantastic view. Within walking distance to dinning, shopping, and entertainment. Pool closes EARLY. Breakfast is not on the beach as advertised, it by the pool and leaves lots to be desired. On Fri and Sat nights Tiki's Bar downstairs becomes a club so if you have kids makes sure your room is up high, as it gets very loud and could be hard to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of big overpriced chain places, but there are not very many local fare choices. Dukes is a MUST! It is the best on the beach, especially at sunset. Hit the north shore for Giavonnis Shrimp truck, I know it looks a bit shady/nasty but it is the best shrimp you will ever have. A fav with the locals. You have to try a shave ice, its not just a snow cone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 4, 2010

everage hotel at best

room was small and above the bar w live music (loud) - good thing we were tired from long flight and only needed 1 night stay. Air conditioner did not work. needed to call service to 'reset' something....then it worked fine. feel cheap in this hotel. but it has extra bonus: free continental breakfast and location is just across Waikiki beach. price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bruno
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 9, 2009

Waikiki on a budget.

Being a police officer and having traveled around the world, I try to combine budget and safety for my hotels. Due to the limited space allowed, I have tried to condense this trip. Transportation: Pre-arrange a flat rate airport shuttle to the hotel. Airport taxi's are expensive and can charge for each piece of luggage and if stuck in traffic on the H-1. Getting a rental car? The hotel charges $$ per day to valet park and there is very limited pubic parking around the immediate area. Major rental agencies have offices within walking distance of hotel which open at 7am and close around 9:45 pm. Great alternative for day trips. Hotel: Great views of the Pacific, Waikiki and of Diamond Head. The hotel is an older property with average sized rooms and is starting to show its age. Rooms/bathroom were clean and included a small refrigerator. If you want a Waikiki view, request an upper floor due to the bar and restaurant being located next to the pool. Both have live entertainment and can get loud in the early morning. The elevators will only take you to your floor, which for me is a great security feature. In the morning, the hotel serves a free breakfast at the pool, again saving some money. Staff: From the bell desk to housekeeping, I had no problems nor witnessed any. Location: The hotel is located at the east end of Waikiki and directly across from the beach. There are numerous Waikiki shuttle options and a taxi ride is approximately $8 to anywhere on the strip. Security / Area: The Waikiki strip felt safe with numerous tourists walking at all times. The Honolulu Police along with a private security company (bright yellow vests) both patrol the strip area. At night, use common sense if heading into the beach or Kapiolani park area (towards the Zoo). Numerous transients were camping out in the area, which is also where the majority of the off site public parking is. In the daytime, I had no problems with numerous tourists walking to the zoo and in the park. Final note, use the crosswalks and obey the signals. I was informed that there is a $$ fine for violating the crosswalk signal/light. Overall, The Aston Waikiki was a safe and clean, budget hotel. I would return, however would still shop around for a more centralized location or one with better parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hawaii can be done on a budget. Utilize the free breakfast from the hotel and store fruit/snacks in your room (free breakfast + fruit for lunch = good steak dinner and Mai-Tai's for dinner). Your in the US, drive there. Waikiki rental car locations open late. Use for day trips and return to avoid paying for parking or expensive tours. Use local ABC stores (7-11, Circle K) for any incidentals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Essexville
Jul 9, 2008

It was o.k.

The location is nice and most of the staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake factory

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jul 31, 2009

Just be prepared

air-conditioning was broken most everyday and had to be fixed every day, tub drain backed up, safe did not work, sliding door whistled, no drink glasses ever in room. BUT, view wonderful and great location. Very good restaurant & bar, good music, most of staff very helpful. Wasn't in room that much, busy siteseeing, so we let a lot of the inconveniences go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take lots of money for everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The I.E., California
Dec 24, 2010

Pre-Holiday Break

Staff from all departments were friendly and helpful. Elevator use required long waits, at times up to ten minutes. Card key system failed many times requiring new cards to be reprogrammed which was more of a nuisance than anything. Free breakfast was a positive though the other guests (aka "vultures") made it a little less enjoyable. Location was great. On the end of the Waikiki strip within easy walking distance of all restaurants and attractions in town with a little less traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Better, less populated beaches than Waikiki are within a beautiful 30-minute drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Novato,ca
Oct 11, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Check in was slow, requested a king bed and got a 2 double beds in a Handicap equiped room with a shower that did not work. when i complained I was told I would have to stay in the room 1 night then check out and check in again the next day aftet 3 taking up a full day of 4 at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top