$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1336 out of 1336
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NURSE G
Business
Riverside. CA
Jun 2, 2009

it's just not all there

1. The location is EXCELLENT!!! Across from the beach, walking distance to Diamond head, 3 blocks from International Market, everything is within walking distance. It is just absolutely PERFECT 2. Rooms are extremely clean, the staff is friendly and can wait until you leave, and they will return. Spare change was left on the table, not one penny was touched!!! 3. People help you set a schedule for entertainment. Make sure there is pick-up at the hotel!!!! 4. ALWAYS RETAIN YOUR RECEIPT FROM THE RENT A CAR. Especially if you park at the hotel, they will overcharge you for extra days, if you cannot prove otherwise!! NO EXCEPTIONS!!! Keep the receipt with the return day. Take the CLUB with you. People will steal your car, guaranteed!!!!! And you will pay the deductible there and now, usually about $250.00 not to mention, the time you spend making a police report, oh yes, you are also stranded, at night, with no one to pick you up and return you to the hotel. 5. Double check you're booking (Sorry Orbitz), You speak to someone in India, and the person trying to fix your problem is in Manila, the Philippines. If you do not book it right, TO BAD!!! Nobody will help you, they will give you excuses of how they can no longer help you, it is extremely frustrating, I'm going to need anger management after this trip. And this goes for your car rental also. For example: · I booked for breakfast on the beach: did not get it! Hotel will not help you. You will pay extra for it. · Different seating arrangements on the plane, orbitz does not tell you if you are sitting together, they just book whatever is available, I had to pay an extra $500. to upgrade to 1st class. Nobody would change seats with me on the plane, so I could sit with my new bride. (spoke with US Airways, not their problem, I did not book it through them, to bad) · The car rental was booked for APRIL, not May as I requested, it cost me extra money, and anger, I had to demand that a car be provided, Budget, was out of cars. Lucky us we got one, but not what was initially arranged!! · Like they say "Buyer be aware" be firm, assertive and polite. But always double check everything three times. So the question is will I travel via Orbitz again? I will see if they post this on the web site, if they do not, then I will spread the word to everyone and anyone who will listen, if they talk to me and acknowledge their stupid carelessness, we will see. Either than this, I'm still on my honeymoon with my beautiful wife, enjoying life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you rent a car, make sure you get a map of the Island, best maps are at gas stations. DRIVE THE SPEED LIMIT, you will get a ticket, the po-po does not care that you are on vacation. Take a Club to secure your car from being stolen. Isolated beaches are great, do not go on a holiday, no place to park, go after the holiday. Buy your own food at the FOOD MART, it is cheaper, and you save a lot of money, unless you must have breakfast or steak everyday!! Negotiate prices, do not be impulsive in buying, do not demonstrate desperation to buy something. SUN SCREEN DO IT or FRY. Remember no liquids at the Airport (My coconut syrup is gone!!!!). the Locals are friendly, but stay out of dark rowdy places, this is their Island NOT yours!!!. Respect Nature, and whatever you do, DO NOT LITTER!!!! They will throw you in the dump, trust me!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Strattanville, Pa.
Jun 1, 2009

A great vacation

We had a great view of the ocean and the beach was just across the street. Most anything you would need is within a very short walk from the hotel. There was always something going on close to the hotel. I was unhappy that the room safe was an extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Great Location for the price

Great location! Literally just steps away from Waikiki beach. The view is gorgeous from the hotel and the rooms were very cleanly and just as pictured online. However, the activity center and valet staff were unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazypl1
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 1, 2009

Excellent location for the price

The place is great. We had an awesome view of the ocean and sunset. It got a bit noisy sometimes, but you could still hear the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy as a Clam
Business
Mpls, MN
Jun 1, 2009

Great location! Will stay there again!

What I loved most about the hotel was definitely the location. I preferred to be close to the Ocean and the Zoo and that's exactly where this hotel is. It's not beach front, but it might as well be since the walk to the beach is just a few steps away. Also, since we were at the end of Kalakua Ave, there wasn't all the excess traffic that most people experience. It didn't bother us, but being at the end of Kalakua Ave usually meant being the last pick up and drop off for shuttle vans or tours, however, since all the hotels are located close by, the wait for other ppl to get dropped off was never long and we were usually back at our hotel within 10 minutes of arriving in Waikiki. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, as were the maids. Beds were very comfortable and so were the pillows--just not the decorative pillows, but I suppose that's why they were only for decoration. Only negatives to keep in mind are: if you reserve a room through Orbitz and it is only a "standard/room saver" room, breakfast is NOT included (however, upon arrival, you can purchase a breakfast package daily or weekly depending on your needs). They have the same exact room for just $10 more and it DOES include breakfast, so make sure you distinguish what you are getting before you confirm your purchase. Also, Tiki's Bar and Grill in the hotel had a limited menu and their dinners cost a lot more than lunch. Average dinner cost $25+, whereas, some of the other restaurants along Kalakua Ave had similar/better dishes for a better price. Nonetheless, the service we received there was great and the Mango Margarita was DELICIOUS (just make sure you ask them to add fresh puréed mango to your drink). Lastly, the towels were noticeably hard, as if they just ran them through the washer without any kind of softener or detergent. BUT, they were clean and the maids did well in replenishing our supply each time they cleaned our rooms. All in all, I will definitely stay here again and I will recommend it to anyone else who visits the Waikiki area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make the most of the beach! It is so beautiful and you will never see anything more breathtaking. Swim as much as you can and definitely SNORKEL. The ABC stores sell snorkels for $15-20, but I'm not sure of the quality because I brought my own. They also sell the ugly swimming shoes for a reasonable price, roughly $12-15. Wear swimming shoes because if you want to see fish, you will have to run into some coral. I got cut 3x, twice on my foot and once on my hand. However, that didn't stop me from going back because the ocean really was that beautiful. For bargain hunters like myself, make sure you take the time to pick up all the pamplets/brochures/books that you find in your hotel or on the street because some have better deals than others and you may even find a handy dandy coupon or two to places you're most likely to visit. If you only want to rent a car for one day, Dollar Car Rental has the best prices and they will pick you up f/your hotel and transport you to the rental area. However, if you're specific about what kind of car you want, you might want to plan ahead because everyone is trying to rent a car and rental companies usually run out half an hour to an hour after they open. They also don't know how long ppl plan to keep the cars so they don't know what they have available until the day before or the morning of, which can limit your options. Lastly--SWIM AS MUCH AS YOU CAN and definitely visit Hanauma Bay. Oh one more thing--invest in a tour guide for the Polynesian Cultural Center because otherwise, you will get very bored. =)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portola Valley, CA
Jun 1, 2009

The Most Relaxing Trip

The hotel was right by the beach, which is really convenient. The room was clean and big enough for the two of us. We had a beautiful view of the ocean. The breakfast was so-so, but free. It usually consisted of some french toast sticks, breakfast burrito, cereal, fruit, juice, and muffins. It was nice being able to put your food in those lunch boxes they give you because you can take it back to your room, or sit by the pool and watch the hula dancer. Overall, I had a great time and this place was definitely worth the value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Yelp helped me out a lot finding great restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Strattanville, Pa.
Jun 1, 2009

A great vacation

We had a great view of the ocean and the beach was just across the street. Most anything you would need is within a very short walk from the hotel. There was always something going on close to the hotel. I was unhappy that the room safe was an extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AMARILLO,TX.
May 31, 2009

VACATION

THE HOTEL IS CROSS STREET FROM BEACH,AND A MONEY SAVERS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 30, 2009

Decent Hotel

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Aston and had a good time. It is nothing fancy but it is also a great location and very reasonibly priced. We enjoyed our stay. Our only problem was the AC, it did not get the job done and we got to the hotel and 1 and coud not check in, which was fine we came back at 2:45 and still had to wait! Theyt would not let us check in 15 minutes early!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Super Chef behind the Hyatt! Very well priced and great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vvvvv
Business
CA
May 29, 2009

Good

Over all the the hotel is very good. In the night the sound from the bar and the sourrounding music concerts is really loud and cannot sleep, which takes away the next day on the vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top