$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

4 stars
2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
1,192 reviews
Great Stay !

Right from the get go, the service was great. We were given a deluxe ocean view instead of the... See full review

  • LikiLiki
  • May 13, 2014
that was great

that was so great experience.i will recommend this hotel to other because of its wonderful location. See full review

  • redface
  • Apr 16, 2014
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel in Oahu greets guests with surfboards and citrus shades in its lobby, and bright island decor and natural elements of bamboo and rattan in its guestrooms. Start the day off with live music accompanied by freshly brewed Kona coffee, tropical fruit, baked goods and many other choices, or pack these tasty treats in a complimentary cooler bag and enjoy breakfast on the beach. With wood floors, original art and hand-carved island decorations, the on-site Tiki's Grill and Bar sets a South Pacific 1950s scene that serves up braised beef short ribs and grilled salmon, alongside kid-friendly meals served, believe it or not, on Frisbees.
Key facts
  • 645 guestrooms
  • 20 floors
  • 2 full-service restaurants: Tiki's Grill and Bar and Wolfgang Puck Express
  • Subway takeout
  • Bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Banquet, meeting and reception event facilities
  • Business center
Neighborhood
Located directly across Kalakaua Avenue from the famous Waikiki Beach, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is near the Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and the Manoa Falls rainforest. Spectacular views of the Diamond Head volcano site can be seen right from the resort, and the Ala Wai Golf Course is a few blocks inland, for those craving eighteen holes under the tropical sun.
Hints and tips
Guests can borrow towels and beach chairs from the hotel to take to the beach, and there is excellent snorkeling in the lagoon across the street.

Choose a room on the higher floors for unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head.
Policies and fees

The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's third floor Upper Pool Deck is under enhancement project until the end of 2014. Work is from Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm. The enhancement project will consist of 4 phases, which include demolition and removal, waterproofing, reconstruction, and finishing work. There will be overlap as work proceeds from one phase to another. The overall project outlined below is anticipated to take 3-4 months to complete (weather and unforeseen circumstances may prolong the project).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Rooms

Partial Ocean View Deluxe
Partial Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 248 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean View Deluxe
Ocean View of Waikiki Beach, full-size balcony, 1 king bed or 2 double beds, mini-refrigerator, 264 sq ft. Non-smoking, air conditioning, clock radio, cable TV, hair dryer, iron/board, in-room safe, high speed internet.
Ocean Front Room
Room features an ocean front view with one king bed or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Partial Ocean View Room
Room features a partial ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Junior Suite
Junior suite features one king bed or two double beds and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Ocean View Room
Room features an ocean view with either one king bed, two twins or two double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board. Complimentary "Breakfast on the Beach" available daily for guests staying in this room.
Standard Room
Room features two twin or double beds or one king bed. Includes alarm clock, radio, refrigerator, in-room safe, dataport, cable TV with music and in-room movies, hair dryer and iron/board.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.4 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.8 mi

Dining

Tiki's Grill and Bar
Tiki's is a blend of the old and the new, the nostalgia of Trader Vic's and the excitement and "attitude" of Hard Rock Cafe. The outdoor bar will sit under shadow of a 30' volcano and will offer breathtaking vistas of the ocean and Waikiki. The restaurant will have both indoor and outdoor seating, serving Hawaiian Regional and American cuisine. Tiki's open 10:30am-Midnight. Nightly entertainment during Happy Hour from 4-6pm and from 10pm-12am. Casual Dress. Available for Lunch and Dinner.
Cold Stone Creamery
Nextdoor to Wolfgang Puck Express. If you haven't had one yet, you just gotta come and get it - you haven't tasted ice-cream until you try one of these treats. Open weekdays from 11am-11pm and weekends from 11am-midnight. Casual Dress.
Breakfast on the Beach
The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel's signature amenity, "Breakfast on the Beach", is a breakfast like no other. "Breakfast on the Beach" is a breakfast with American and Asian fare that is served on a portable "to go" fashion on the pool deck each morning from 6:30-9:00am.
Wolfgang Puck Express
World renowned chef with lots of restaurants and express outlets. It's hip, upscale and he uses the freshest ingrediants to create excellent, casual Eurasian cuisine. Serving everything from soups, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, desserts & specialty items. Hours are from 7:30am-10pm. Casual Dress. Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Subway
Cuisine Type Sandwiches, Casual Dress, Open daily from 7am-11pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Cookie Corner
Cuisine Type Dessert, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1192)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
1192 out of 1192
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Charlie
Connecticut
Dec 6, 2012

Superb Value

Very good value for the money. Hospitality and services are awesome. Great folks at the Activity Desk were helpful and extremely accommodating in setting up our helicopter ride around Oahu as well as Luau and Pearl Harbor trip. The only thing that could have made our trip more pleasant would have been the installation of automatic doors to the rooms to make it easier to gain entry for those of us who have trouble opening cast iron grates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If making a reservation requiring special needs such as accessibility, call hotel to make sure of the requirements. We booked room with "accessibility" but it was not the least bit user-friendly. When told of the problem, though, the hotel was superb in solving it with an upgrade to a fully-accessible room with a much better view off the lanai.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Someonewhostayedatthishot
Business
San Jose
Nov 13, 2014

Good location

I was there on business but this was business with pleasure with my wonderful view of the ocean. Staff was helpful. One thing to watch out for is their $23 resort fee per day that they add on when you get there. Take that into account when you book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Kitten
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 2, 2014

Upgrade Disappointment

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for one night to celebrate my birthday. We had made a dinner reservation nearby and didn't want to fight traffic on Halloween. We originally booked a room with a king size bed and partial ocean view. When we got to the hotel they told us they gave away all the rooms already with King size beds and there were only two doubles left. I booked this a month ago, why can't you just save me the room I booked?? Then they said as a consolation they would upgrade our room to full ocean view. We were happy with this, until we got to the room. Um... No. Our view was still a partial and we looked directly on to the roofs of very close neighboring buildings. We could BARELY see the ocean. I wouldn't have even counted that room as a partial ocean view. I know they have full ocean view rooms as that hotel faces the beach! So when I called and asked they said what did I expect since we checked in late. I expect great service and follow through on your supposed "upgrade". When I check in to my hotel reservation should be of no consequence of what my room looks like. The bathroom had peeling paint on the walls and was a bit dirty. Towels were stuffed into the rack like the maid was in a huge hurry. And halfway through the night our TV stopped working. Front desk said there was nothing to be done. For the price I would expect so much more. I won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have a nice continental breakfast served by the pool but bring the coffee cups provided in your room. The cups at breakfast are tiny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussie Holidayers
Business
Sydney, Australia
Oct 3, 2014

Grand ending to Hawiian Holiday

Being our first visit to Honolulu we were not sure of which hotel to select. We were so happy that the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel was the perfect answer to our holiday needs. The rooms were not as large as other hotels we had stayed at but this was of little consequence when considering the location and views from our room. The complimentary continental breakfast by the pool with Hawaiian singer and dancer let us feel we were on holidays in a special place. Many of the daily tour companies pick up at the doorstep. The quick walk across the road to Waikiki Beach provided convenient and safe swimming. We will definitiely book there again when we return to Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PERMAC
Business
Carson, Ca
Sep 22, 2014

Fantastic Family Vacation

We stayed in Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. We were upgraded to Jr. Suite and that's a plus! Room view side is amazing still can see the gorgeous beach. Our experience was great! We pay extra to use their amenities though. I thought breakfast and wifi included. So expect to be charged for parking and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Expect ABC (All Blocks Covered as they say) stores are everywhere you won't miss.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnDoes
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 25, 2014

Good location but has some issues

Good: Gave us a free upgrade when we requested a single king bed instead of 2 queen beds that was given to us (we have a toddler). That upgrade also gave us a ocean view compared to "partial" ocean view that we booked. Great location - right next to beach. Decent breakfast (included). Wireless access in room and pool area (included). Clean environment. Bad: Expensive hotel. Mandatory $27 valet fee per day whether you take your car out or not plus the tip that is a silent obligation. Sometimes there is a long delay for the valet to get your car. Worst case was 30 mins for us. Complained about non-working a/c thermostat in the room. Never got fixed. It would either work at 65 degrees or we have to switch it off. We mostly kept it off since the whole hotel was air conditioned anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For vegetarians. LuLu's Waikiki restaurant is right below the hotel (not in the hotel). As vegetarians, we were delighted to find very delicious food options there. We had Quesadilla and Pasta.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Socaman Dan
Business
Santa Monica California
Aug 17, 2014

WE RECEIVED A VERY NICE VIEW ROOM

We appreciated receiving a room with a view. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Plenty of food at breakfast, including some HAWAIIAN entertainment. The HOTEL portion of the O package was $221. per night. After I booked, I learned that I could have paid $183. per night if I booked from the hotel or my AAA discount. Was not happy about that !! I will know better next time !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took the City bus (few blocks from the hotel) to Hunama Bay to snorkel. Bus runs about every hour right into the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lbvteach
Business
Burlington, MA
Aug 16, 2014

Great for our short stay

We only stayed in Waikiki for 2 nights. This hotel was perfect for our family. It was affordable, clean and the staff was great. It could use some updating of the bathrooms, but they were clean and in good working order. The pool was a bit small, but clean. The location to the beach cannot be beat! Valets were quick and courteous. Overall, a very goo experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Domecraka
Business
Portland
Jun 29, 2014

dissapointed

First, we were surprised with an additional "amenities fee" of $23/day. The carpet in the rooms was at least 20 yrs old. The housekeeping was barely existent. No hot tub by the pool. "Breakfast" is continental, at best. Overall, just felt ripped off and disappointed. Won't stay at an Aston hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Lanikai! Get away from the chaos of Wiakiki and see the quiet, calm, white sandy beaches of Kailua and Lanikai. And try the mopeds to get there! So fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NorCal island lover
Business
East Bay
Jun 26, 2014

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

We've stayed there before and will most likely stay there again. Great location: you're at the end of Waikiki so foot traffic is out of main craziness, but close enough to get a taste if that's what you like. Beach across the street is always easy to find a spot and protected by a wall for the little ones. Valets were friendly, elevator system reduced crowding, food was good (morning continental included, Tiki's and more), the pool was perfect...overall, well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Zoo and Kapiolani park is across the street. Diamond head is a short drive away and most tours pick you up right at the front door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lee New Husband
Business
Minnesota
May 28, 2014

Good view and location but expensive

Good location at the end of the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. View from balcony was nice. Room was clean and organized. Nice to have a fridge in the room but the Keurig in the room was unnecessary as the coffee at "complimentary" breakfast was better. Room looked somewhat like the pictures but not fully remolded as some of them show. The TV and table were nice. We unfortunately got stuck by the ice machine which made a lot of noise and flooded the hallway area right outside our door. The bathroom needed updates. Toilet handle was a mess. Would only work in a certain position. I thought it was a little expensive ($600 for 3 nights). That included the $27 mandatory fee per day for the "amenities." Which included a very simple but okay breakfast line, DVD rental (which didn't work on our PlayStation in our room anyways), and some other things in the hotel. I know the price for staying on Waikiki is expensive but I think I would try to find a cheaper place off the beach that is nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking: If you stay here park in the Zoo parking lots for $1 an hour right next to the hotel. Otherwise it's $28 to park at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top