$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
316 reviews
mother -daughter vacation

the hotel was good. i was in hawaii with my daughter to show her the sites. i used to live in... See full review

  • m.sanchez
  • Aug 20, 2014
Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything. See full review

  • Coolmarc
  • Jul 22, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (316)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 316
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jujubees
Business
San Francisco
May 13, 2014

Hawaiian Vacation

Centrally located, a block from the beach, shopping , restaurants and entertainment. Bus stops, either way about 50 ft away. Staff accommodating and helpful. Only problem, balcony or lanai littered with encrusted bird pop. Avoid handling the railings, otherwise the room is clean. Room ambience very soothing and relaxing. AC is great, has its own digital temp control in increments of degrees. Microwave and Mimi fridge provided so you stock your own food and drinks. Hotel recommended for budget traveller w/out sacrificing comfort and security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is cheaper to shop on Kuhio Ave , where the hotel is than at Kalakau, a block up by the beach even from the same store chain. Eat seafoods! You're in Hawaii, they are fresh and cheap. Don't forget fiber...pineapple, papaya, mangoes and of course, macadamia!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Waikiki4u
Business
Wish it were Hawaii
Feb 5, 2013

Review of my stay

The pros: the staff were excellent in treating me as if I were the only customer they had. Room cleaning occurred daily and nothing was missed or short changed. The location is great, one block from the beach and next shopping centers. The cons: The facility is circa 1960s/1970s. And the rooms need an update. Parking is an option but limited spaces available. I would return to this hotel solely because the service was so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moderate Traveler.
Business
California
Jan 30, 2013

Good Value...

Great no frills hotel in good location. Parking expensive, but probably the same as anywhere in Waikiki

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Navy Mom One
Business
Topeka KS
Jun 1, 2012

Ok for the money

Older hotel that needs updating. Placed a security deposit on bill without telling me. Took over a week to have it removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ronny koko
Business
boston
Feb 11, 2012

worth the money

2 blocks from waikiki beach great value facilities available to use at all beach hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eau Claire, WI
Oct 29, 2011

Birthday getaway

I've stayed at this hotel over many name changes because of the location and price. It can be noisy at night due to the restaurant on the ground floor, esp. if one is on the Ewa side. I prefer the Diamond Head side. The pool is quite small and cannot be accessed from inside the hotel. It does need to be repainted but I found it adequate during the afternoon. The staff was fantastic and friendly. The in-room refrigerator and microwave were a great help with meals and the Food Pantry is only a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy microwavable food for some meals and reduce expenses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donj
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Fall Vacation

This was my second stay at this hotel and it was not as good as the first time. At night when I turned on the ligts in the bathroom there were cock roaches. I contacted the front desk and they sent someone to spray, but the roaches were back in a couple of days. The first full day I was there, I returned to my room at 8 p.m., the room had not been cleaned and there were no clean towels. The front desk sent someone to empty the trash and bring clean towers. I had to keep asking for towels and oten the room did not get cleaned until around until 5 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WmEBrown
Business
Oahu, Hawaii, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Less tahn $80.00, GOOD Deal!!!

I live here on the island (Oahu). The hotel is a nice place, good for my $$$. However I did not receive an Ocean view room, as I should have.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Helicoptor scenic tour of all Islands and visit the town of Haleiwa go go on a SHARK encounter....!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kapaa, HI
May 15, 2011

Best Customer Service

The receptionist were friendly, we got along like friends. I arrived at the hotel three hours early, thinking I would be able to get the room as early as possible, but there was a little mishaps, the previous guest who were leaving that day decided they wanted to check out at the latest time. So it was no biggy to me, I asked the receptionist if they would kindly hold on to my lauggage for me, they offered to bring up to the room when it was ready. I decide to go to the store and come back by the time the original check in was, so I arrive, back to the hotel with a different receptionist, He has informed me that the previous guest have decided to check out the next day, in the room I was first assigned, so instead I was offered an upgrade a 3Bed Suite. That was so nice kind of them. The rooms was spectacular and the view was beautiful, mountains and the beautiful city. I never wanted to leave bit I had no choice. Service and descriptions as explained online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Apr 18, 2011

I would not stay here again

The room was the "only king bed on the floor", but right by the elevators. The walls are paper thin and the inside noise was almost as bad as the ridiculous street noise. The staff was mostly rude and would not offer any help or assistance. The bellman just stood and watched as I searched for a ramp for entry, then kept watching me drag my heavy luggage up the entry stairs. Parking availability is a joke, as is paying $20 a night for parking, then having to pay an extra $7 (per 10 hours) to park at their overflow lot. No onsite food or laundry service. The cleaning crew was friendly, that's about the most positive thing I can say. Would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The noise from outside is extreme from 11pm-4am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is about a 5 minute walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top