$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
528 reviews
very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds. See full review

  • brett sk
  • Jan 27, 2013
Family Vacay

Good location, right in the middle of everything. Just a few blocks away from the beach. Can't wait... See full review

  • Heartyboie
  • Jun 15, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (528)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 528
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
canada
Jun 2, 2011

"NOT a Boutique Hotel"

Do stay here if you like: 1. A full 20-minutes wait to check in. 2. Rude and unprofessional staff. Check in clerk who don't bother with a simple 'hello'. 3. Music blasting from night clubs on Friday and Saturday nights. Earplug provided by the hotel will not help. 4. No one pick up the phone when call for room service. 5. Indifference concierge. 6. Ladies of the nights soliciting in front of hotel door. There better choices on direct on Waikiki beach in this price range. This is not a boutique hotel. It is located in the city club district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Feb 24, 2008

A very unpleasant experience

I don't know why any hotel would choose to exist on that street. I wouldn't walk my dog down that street, let alone my child. The noise, car alarms, and screaming last throughout, the night forbidding us to get one minute of sleep. Fortunately, the hotel was willing to relocate us to one of their other properties located away from this frightening area. I give them high marks for accommodating our request. The other location was excellent. They and all the other hotels in that area need to pressure the city to clean that street up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
canada
Jun 2, 2011

"NOT a Boutique Hotel"

Do stay here if you like: 1. A full 20-minutes wait to check in. 2. Rude and unprofessional staff. Check in clerk who don't bother with a simple 'hello'. 3. Music blasting from night clubs on Friday and Saturday nights. Earplug provided by the hotel will not help. 4. No one pick up the phone when call for room service. 5. Indifference concierge. 6. Ladies of the nights soliciting in front of hotel door. There better choices on direct on Waikiki beach in this price range. This is not a boutique hotel. It is located in the city club district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Feb 24, 2008

A very unpleasant experience

I don't know why any hotel would choose to exist on that street. I wouldn't walk my dog down that street, let alone my child. The noise, car alarms, and screaming last throughout, the night forbidding us to get one minute of sleep. Fortunately, the hotel was willing to relocate us to one of their other properties located away from this frightening area. I give them high marks for accommodating our request. The other location was excellent. They and all the other hotels in that area need to pressure the city to clean that street up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
seattle, wa
Sep 5, 2009

not what it appeared to be online

the rooms were not as big as they looked online. the nightlife is VERY noisy. the hotel is in a party area and on one side you have a bar and the other a parking garage. there was only one elevator working and it took about 10 minutes to reach the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

a rental car is not needed. you can take shuttles or walk to basically any location on the island.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First Time to Oahu
CA
Apr 22, 2009

AQUA Waikiki Wave Review

The hotel is alright, worth about two and a half stars. When you drive up to the Waikiki strip, it's not even noticeable, kinda hole in the wall. The location is great, a few blocks from Waikiki beach. That's why we booked it. They try to keep it up clean, but you get what you pay for, it's run down. Although, the cleaning staff was pretty good and quick to send extra towels upstairs. The concierge was pretty knowledgeable, but I ended up buying all of my tours online, as the prices you get quoted through the concierge are marked up significantly. The front desk staff is friendly, depending on the shift, so I can't say all of them were friendly. As for the noise, if you stay below 6th floor, prepare for a rough noisy night. Party animals don't go to bed till 6 am, plus the street noise is unbearable. I complained the next morning, they said the type of room I booked did not qualify for an upper floor. My advice: if you absolutely have to stay there, pick the highest floor. Overall, it was an OK stay, as we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First Time to Oahu
CA
Apr 22, 2009

AQUA Waikiki Wave Review

The hotel is alright, worth about two and a half stars. When you drive up to the Waikiki strip, it's not even noticeable, kinda hole in the wall. The location is great, a few blocks from Waikiki beach. That's why we booked it. They try to keep it up clean, but you get what you pay for, it's run down. Although, the cleaning staff was pretty good and quick to send extra towels upstairs. The concierge was pretty knowledgeable, but I ended up buying all of my tours online, as the prices you get quoted through the concierge are marked up significantly. The front desk staff is friendly, depending on the shift, so I can't say all of them were friendly. As for the noise, if you stay below 6th floor, prepare for a rough noisy night. Party animals don't go to bed till 6 am, plus the street noise is unbearable. I complained the next morning, they said the type of room I booked did not qualify for an upper floor. My advice: if you absolutely have to stay there, pick the highest floor. Overall, it was an OK stay, as we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Affordable, Clean and Great Location!!

Although a little small and old building structure, the interior was very well furnished. The location was so covenient considering this is a very affordable hotel. It can be a little noisy at night with all the clubs and mid-night activities going on til late everynight. But in general the moeny was very well spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jan 9, 2010

Excellent location and price

I liked the location of the place - only about a 10 min walk from the beach, and lots of food and stalls right next door. Also, complimentary beach towels. Bad part: bad house keeping. Of the week that I stayed there, they didn't replace the shampoo, soap, coffee/tea, conditioner, etc for about 5 days. The shampoo and conditioner was also very weak and watery. Another bad thing is the noise level! I can hear garbage trucks by 5-6am and the bar next door is crazily loud. It kept me awake all night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Adult Reviewer
Northern Virginia
May 15, 2009

Great Guest Services But Average Overall

I stayed in this hotel for about 10 days, 5.5 days in the Aloha Suite Superior Wave & 4.5 days in the Deluxe Wave. In both rooms we were on the 12th floor, only 5 rooms away from one another. Below is my review: Con: - Bathroom: ONLY when we stayed in the Deluxe Wave is where we had a problem with the shower head. The power was too low and the temperature would change. The temperature of the water would randomly change several degrees down. The feeling is noticable, but its not going to burn or freeze your butt off. Iffy (impartial feedback): - Room Service: The only problem was with the sheets. They cleaned our room, giving us new towels, fixing our bed, and throwing away the trash. BUT they didnt change our sheets. They had reused the same sheets. Maybe they only change the sheets when guests checkout, but it would have been nice if they changed the sheets whenever someone "cleans" the room. - Noise: It's close to the night life scene, so there are always loud people out. The noise is tolerable, but if you want a more relaxing atmosphere then try finding another hotel (probably a hotel further from the beach or on a higher floor). - Plumbimg: There was a problem with the plumbing, so before they fixed it, the night before there were random tumping sounds. Sounds that lasts for several seconds, but happened a few times. Pro: - Customer Service: Everyone there is soooooo nice. They gave us suggestions & directions to whatever we needed/wanted to do. - Price: The rooms are nice & the location is great with the prices we paid for. Overall, I would still stay at this hotel because its in the middle of everything. Several blocks away from the beach, next to the international market, 1 block away from a shopping strip, close to the bars/clubs, several blocks away from car rental services, and 2 blocks away from the Magic of Polynesian show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top