$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol, TN
Jun 2, 2011

Aqua Waikiki Wave

Rooms were cleaned every day. We did the free breakfast and spent lots more money. Guy in charge led us to believe that there was lava flowing into ocean at Hilo -(Big Island) flight which we bought. Not true. We needed to spend the night on the island or book a really late flight to see the lava glow. Also we should have been told to bring a coat. It was very cold at the Volcano National Park. We did the dinner cruise, the circle tour- excellent tour guide named Rocky, the Dole Plantation, the Macadamian plantation, the Germine luau, hiked to Diamond Head twice,saw lost of hula shows, did the Pearl Harbor tour, the Arizona, the Air Museum and Army Museum, rented a car for 2 days- stopped at lots of beaches along the Northshore, went to the flea market at Aloha Stadium on 2 Saturdays, went to the beach and did lots of shopping. Someone at the hotel should have told us about the $1.00 bus fare for senior citizens. They did give us a bus schedule and we finally found out for ourselves. Would like to have known earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Rhode Island
Jun 7, 2011

, location, location

The hotel was conveniently located, so that we could walk to the beach, restaurants and shops. It was clean, but room service at times was either very late in the day, and in one case, not at all. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Very noisy at night, especially on the weekends, even though we were on the 7th floor. All in all a delightful vacation, and we could not have been happier with the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants in walking area. Some well known chains and some pricey local. High Tea at the Moana Surfrider is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy family
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 15, 2011

Fun family getaway

Staff are really nice and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Delia, "Lovin Life"
Business
Salinas, CA
Jun 14, 2011

First timer to Hawaii!!

The hotel itself is located in a great location. The well known "International Marketplace" is your backyard. Many great things to buy and lots of great food to eat. My kids loved it!! And the best part is that it's a walking distance from the beach. Not far at all!! Just the right distance to enjoy the walk. We also enjoyed "Germaines Luau"!! That was awesome. From the hotel, u walk a block away to catch the bus for a great night of entertainment at the luau!! Since we had a rental car, we were able to enjoy many other things. Pearl Harbor, Waimea Falls, Diamond Head, Hanaua Bay, & the Dole Plantation. Never had any problem with parking at the hotel. We were lucky to have scheduled our vacation when we did. We were in Hawaii during the Pan Pacific Festivals!! Enjoyed the parades and all the history that comes with it!! Planning to go again. Maybe as soon as next year!!! Loved the whole experience!! Would definitely stay at Aqua Wave Waikiki!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just plan ahead. Food does cost more in Hawaii. Breakfast is easy so cereal, PB&J sandwiches, or fruit in the hotel made it a little less expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eau Claire, WI
Oct 29, 2011

Birthday getaway

I've stayed at this hotel over many name changes because of the location and price. It can be noisy at night due to the restaurant on the ground floor, esp. if one is on the Ewa side. I prefer the Diamond Head side. The pool is quite small and cannot be accessed from inside the hotel. It does need to be repainted but I found it adequate during the afternoon. The staff was fantastic and friendly. The in-room refrigerator and microwave were a great help with meals and the Food Pantry is only a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy microwavable food for some meals and reduce expenses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reiko
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 5, 2011

Great place for short stay

The location is so convenient and easy access to local transportations, walking distance to everywhere: Waikiki beach, shops, restaurants, and many attractions. They gave us a junior suite which was very spacious with two beds. I was aware of the noise of the hotel, and sure it was. The ear plug did not work, and had sleepless nights in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went twice to UDON restaurant on Kuhio across from the Hotel. It is simple Japanese noodle shop, self service. The key is that they make a fresh noodle right in front of our eyes, and cook for the customers. It was so tasty with perfect al dente for Japanese Noodle. On top of that the price was so cheap, maybe the cheapest restaurant we ever went and the best food!!! Everyday, there was a big line in front of the restaurant for the fans. I cann't wait to go back to Honolulu, just for that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
big traveler
Business
Northern, VA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Xmas escape

Great location with basic accommodations. Convenient for city bus/trolley stops. No amenities. Friendly and courteous staff. An aged facility in need of some structural upgrades that would increase its appeal. Probably better for short stay (1 to 3 days) vs 1 week or longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kfwiwon
Business
California, USA
Feb 10, 2012

one week stay at Oahu

I enjoyed my 6 night stay at Aqua Waikiki Wave. I recommend this hotel to any budget travelers visiting Oahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YankeeFan23
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Needs something extra

Located just a block off the main strip, this hotel isn't a bad place to stay. Although local kids seem to hang out in the alley way next to the hotel and they can get pretty loud at night. Nice hotel, clean but, lacking that special something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the time sharing orientation. Great discounts are provided for sitting in the meeting and saying no at the end.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abaaz
Business
Nome, Alaska
Mar 16, 2012

Adventure Hawaii

They first put my buddy and I in a 2nd floor room with a view of the garage wall and a single bed. We went back and told them that was not going to work, that we'd booked for 2 beds. They put us in a decent room on the 7th floor that was much much better than the lower level room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off the beaten path for less expensive better food; also look for those $15 all you can eat buffets, much better food and more of it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top