$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
529 reviews
Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything. See full review

  • Coolmarc
  • Jul 22, 2014
Family Vacay

Good location, right in the middle of everything. Just a few blocks away from the beach. Can't wait... See full review

  • Heartyboie
  • Jun 15, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (529)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
529 out of 529
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Germany
Apr 23, 2009

good location

No parking space and have to pay for whole day fee even though we just parked for half an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nel!
Los Angeles
Mar 30, 2011

Good and bad

didnt spend much time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2010

You get what you pay for

The Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel is non-descript and is appropriate for budget-minded travelers. It is a 10-15 minute walk to Waikiki beach and shopping. Dining options are non-existent within the hotel (except for an attached Chinese restaurant) but plentiful in the surrounding area. Parking is available for $20/day in the hotel basement but space is extremely limited. The overflow lot (hydraulic lift type) in the alley is available but is not accessible 24/7. There are no elevators leading from the garage to the hotel, only stairs. The handicapped wheelchair lift was out of order for the duration of my stay. One major consideration for travelers wishing for rest and relaxation is the proximity of the hotel to nightclubs and bars downstairs. The noise is likely to keep you up at night depending on how high of a floor you are on. Management provides ear plugs in the room for that reason. Also, the proximity of said entertainment venues downstairs tends to draw undesirable types engaging in raucous behavior; definitely something to consider if you plan to bring your family. Overall, if you do not mind bare bones accommodations, neighborhood, and the noise, this is an appropriate hotel for those on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightclubs and bars are plentiful and within earshot of the hotel.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Isha
Oahu
Jan 17, 2010

The good and bad

My husband and I stayed in Waikiki on NYE. However the location of our room must of been near a bar. Could not sleep the whole night and you could hear the loud music and people yelling the the parking garage directly outside of our patio. The hotel provided earplugs but it was still to loud.The redid the rooms but it still had an old look to it. The hotel is not bad just for a one night stay if you are going out to have fun, but I would not recommend staying their for a family trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donj
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Fall Vacation

This was my second stay at this hotel and it was not as good as the first time. At night when I turned on the ligts in the bathroom there were cock roaches. I contacted the front desk and they sent someone to spray, but the roaches were back in a couple of days. The first full day I was there, I returned to my room at 8 p.m., the room had not been cleaned and there were no clean towels. The front desk sent someone to empty the trash and bring clean towers. I had to keep asking for towels and oten the room did not get cleaned until around until 5 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First Time to Oahu
CA
Apr 22, 2009

AQUA Waikiki Wave Review

The hotel is alright, worth about two and a half stars. When you drive up to the Waikiki strip, it's not even noticeable, kinda hole in the wall. The location is great, a few blocks from Waikiki beach. That's why we booked it. They try to keep it up clean, but you get what you pay for, it's run down. Although, the cleaning staff was pretty good and quick to send extra towels upstairs. The concierge was pretty knowledgeable, but I ended up buying all of my tours online, as the prices you get quoted through the concierge are marked up significantly. The front desk staff is friendly, depending on the shift, so I can't say all of them were friendly. As for the noise, if you stay below 6th floor, prepare for a rough noisy night. Party animals don't go to bed till 6 am, plus the street noise is unbearable. I complained the next morning, they said the type of room I booked did not qualify for an upper floor. My advice: if you absolutely have to stay there, pick the highest floor. Overall, it was an OK stay, as we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 30, 2011

Excellent Location Bad Customer Service

The hotel is located in the middle of Waikiki close to the clubs, the beach, and transportation. However, our room had some problems and we had to be moved to a different room. The staff of the hotel was nice and responsive, but when it came to management it was just sad and pathetic. We expected them to be more responsive and have the guts to talk to us, but we had to initiate conversation every time. We felt that management just wanted to ignore the problem and hope we leave soon, so they can forget about it. We did not expect to get something big from management, but it will have been nice if they had offer something more of just reimburse us for some medicine. We will have been happy if they would have paid for our taxi to the airport, but nothing. Overall the hotel is in a good location, but management really has to take some lessons in Customer Service. We would recommend this hotel to a friend, but at their own risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First Time to Oahu
CA
Apr 22, 2009

AQUA Waikiki Wave Review

The hotel is alright, worth about two and a half stars. When you drive up to the Waikiki strip, it's not even noticeable, kinda hole in the wall. The location is great, a few blocks from Waikiki beach. That's why we booked it. They try to keep it up clean, but you get what you pay for, it's run down. Although, the cleaning staff was pretty good and quick to send extra towels upstairs. The concierge was pretty knowledgeable, but I ended up buying all of my tours online, as the prices you get quoted through the concierge are marked up significantly. The front desk staff is friendly, depending on the shift, so I can't say all of them were friendly. As for the noise, if you stay below 6th floor, prepare for a rough noisy night. Party animals don't go to bed till 6 am, plus the street noise is unbearable. I complained the next morning, they said the type of room I booked did not qualify for an upper floor. My advice: if you absolutely have to stay there, pick the highest floor. Overall, it was an OK stay, as we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donj
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Fall Vacation

This was my second stay at this hotel and it was not as good as the first time. At night when I turned on the ligts in the bathroom there were cock roaches. I contacted the front desk and they sent someone to spray, but the roaches were back in a couple of days. The first full day I was there, I returned to my room at 8 p.m., the room had not been cleaned and there were no clean towels. The front desk sent someone to empty the trash and bring clean towers. I had to keep asking for towels and oten the room did not get cleaned until around until 5 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Isha
Oahu
Jan 17, 2010

The good and bad

My husband and I stayed in Waikiki on NYE. However the location of our room must of been near a bar. Could not sleep the whole night and you could hear the loud music and people yelling the the parking garage directly outside of our patio. The hotel provided earplugs but it was still to loud.The redid the rooms but it still had an old look to it. The hotel is not bad just for a one night stay if you are going out to have fun, but I would not recommend staying their for a family trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top