$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HB,Super Sales
Business
Buffalo, New York
Jan 17, 2011

Location, Location, Location!!!!!!!!!!!

If you are looking for a Hotel where you can hear the surf and have a bueatful view of Waikiki, this hotel is not for you. The beach is advertised as 1 block away, thats not true its about 4 blocks away. The clubs and traffic noise is unbeliveable, the hotel provids ear plugs. We stayed on the 15th floor and the noise is still loud. This hotel is only worthy of a 2 star rating at best. There is no one to assist with baggage, you need to climb 10 stairs to get into the hotel. If you have a car and there is no parking under the hotel prepare to park about 3 blocks away. There are hookers and drunks right outside the hotel at night, not something children should be exposed too. There are 2 elevtors only one worked. Wireless internet is available but try to get on. [*]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Isha
Business
Oahu
Jan 17, 2010

The good and bad

My husband and I stayed in Waikiki on NYE. However the location of our room must of been near a bar. Could not sleep the whole night and you could hear the loud music and people yelling the the parking garage directly outside of our patio. The hotel provided earplugs but it was still to loud.The redid the rooms but it still had an old look to it. The hotel is not bad just for a one night stay if you are going out to have fun, but I would not recommend staying their for a family trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A Canadian and a Swiss
Business
Canada
Oct 11, 2009

Clean, but not-so-great service

Rooms are nicely decorated and housekeeping is great. You can tell rooms have been renovated (bathroom door was hard to close, paint on door chipping a bit). Staff had a bit of attitude and did not inform us of services that they offered to their guests (ie. beach towels). When asking questions, staff gave short answers that made us feel like they didn't want to deal with us. Area was noisy, but anything in Waikiki would probably be the same. I would still recommend this hotel if you want a clean room and convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donj
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Fall Vacation

This was my second stay at this hotel and it was not as good as the first time. At night when I turned on the ligts in the bathroom there were cock roaches. I contacted the front desk and they sent someone to spray, but the roaches were back in a couple of days. The first full day I was there, I returned to my room at 8 p.m., the room had not been cleaned and there were no clean towels. The front desk sent someone to empty the trash and bring clean towers. I had to keep asking for towels and oten the room did not get cleaned until around until 5 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First Time to Oahu
Business
CA
Apr 22, 2009

AQUA Waikiki Wave Review

The hotel is alright, worth about two and a half stars. When you drive up to the Waikiki strip, it's not even noticeable, kinda hole in the wall. The location is great, a few blocks from Waikiki beach. That's why we booked it. They try to keep it up clean, but you get what you pay for, it's run down. Although, the cleaning staff was pretty good and quick to send extra towels upstairs. The concierge was pretty knowledgeable, but I ended up buying all of my tours online, as the prices you get quoted through the concierge are marked up significantly. The front desk staff is friendly, depending on the shift, so I can't say all of them were friendly. As for the noise, if you stay below 6th floor, prepare for a rough noisy night. Party animals don't go to bed till 6 am, plus the street noise is unbearable. I complained the next morning, they said the type of room I booked did not qualify for an upper floor. My advice: if you absolutely have to stay there, pick the highest floor. Overall, it was an OK stay, as we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 4, 2010

Aqua Waikiki Wave - not for families

I was there for a baby luau and a vacation that was long overdue. The last time I stayed at this hotel, the rooms were really clean and the noise level wasn't anything to complain about. However, this time the hotel room carpet was not well taken care of, the noise was horrible, the sink backed up the first day, and at 2:00 am every morning, the toilet would make a very loud, high pitched sound. I had to get up and flush the toilet to make the sound go away. They ran out of clean towels one day so we ended up having to reuse towels from the day before. I appreciated the free beach towel service, but the staff seemed to be confused on the procedure on how they are checked out. For most days, I could just go to the counter and get one. The last couple of days, I had to actually check one out and back in when I returned. They seemed to lack consistency. There were prostitutes less than 1/2 a block from the hotel entrance. I would not recommend this hotel to people that I know that have families because of the prostitutes. I am not sure that I will stay at this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Using the public bus system was very easy. For $2.50 you can take a bus ride around the entire island - can't beat that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Houston Pastor
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 5, 2010

Replace the shower rods and curtains!

[...] Shower curtains grabbed you and wouldn't let go. Need to replace with curved rods and plastic curtains. Front lobby furniture was tattered and worn out fake leather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's, Cheesecake Factory very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denton, Texas
May 26, 2010

High Noise Location

This was first trip to Hawaii for beach wedding of our daughter. Hotel is aged but clean. Staff very nice. However, hotel is in a VERY HIGH NOISE area - both sides of hotel look out over parking garages and the noise bounces up from the street up to the balcony. There are bars adjacent that DO NOT CLOSE until 3pm - so hear music until then. Parking is $20 per night. Must get in early to get a parking space. If never been to Waikiki - important to get a GPS and a street map - driving is extremely confusing to manuver due to one way streets and such. Hotel is located 6 blocks from the beach. Best place for breakfast was Eggs N Things on Saratoga Street. Get there early. Dukes is great restaurant. Smorgys is bad breakfast buffet - open air with birds and flies. Be prepared for tons of traffic and tons of people in the whole area. Beach area is beautiful. Recommend taking HI-1 East to see beautiful beaches... North Shore is a must drive to - outstanding views and actual island life. Daughter stayed at Hotel Renew which is 1/2 block from beach in the prettiest area of Wakiki - if we come again - will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eggs N Things on Saratoga Street. Best breakfast ever! Fluffiest pancakes ever put in my mouth. Amazing omlettes - must get there early - has a balcony view - is located upstairs over another little shop. Very small and quaint - good rep of island culture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach California
Jul 5, 2009

Hawaii

Good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 30, 2011

Excellent Location Bad Customer Service

The hotel is located in the middle of Waikiki close to the clubs, the beach, and transportation. However, our room had some problems and we had to be moved to a different room. The staff of the hotel was nice and responsive, but when it came to management it was just sad and pathetic. We expected them to be more responsive and have the guts to talk to us, but we had to initiate conversation every time. We felt that management just wanted to ignore the problem and hope we leave soon, so they can forget about it. We did not expect to get something big from management, but it will have been nice if they had offer something more of just reimburse us for some medicine. We will have been happy if they would have paid for our taxi to the airport, but nothing. Overall the hotel is in a good location, but management really has to take some lessons in Customer Service. We would recommend this hotel to a friend, but at their own risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top