$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug, Joe and Bec
Business
Gresham, Oregon
Dec 29, 2010

Our First Hawaiian Vacation

The Aqua Wave was a fantastic hotel. The staff was great, the facility was great and the service was awesome. I Hawaii, the Hoku Nai'a Dolphin Watch Tour, The Circle Island Tour and the Arizona Memorial tour were all wonderful. We missed the Paradise Cove Luau because it was cancelled due to rain so if we get back to Hawaii we will have to do this. Also, pur Parasailing tour was cancelled due to rain but overall it was a wonderful trip. Can't wait to come back to Hawaii again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Da Big Kahunna was right next to the hotel and became our local hangout. $2.00 Mai Thi's and the staff was excellent. Highly recommended to anyone visiting Waikiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moline, IL
May 16, 2007

Comfortable & Friendly...

The AQUA Waikiki Wave was very comfortable, the room seemed much larger than most with a sitting area with a table and two chairs. I liked the fact that there was a sink with a long counter in the bathroom and the closet had adequate space for hanging clothes and there was still enough room for two suitcase to fit comfortably. The location was very good, it was just across the street from the bus stop and just a few blocks away from the beach. There were restaurants and shops up and down the street. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous, overall, our stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. The caf? next door has the good breakfast and at a good price. 2. The beach is very close and there are lots of shops and restaurants. 3. The hotel is close to several nightclubs and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 6, 2007

Friendy Staff and Great ...

Friendy Staff and Great Location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Tx
Jan 25, 2010

Hawaii 2010 trip

We enjoyed our stay at the Aqua Waikiki Wave. Great location, good amenities and very friendly staff. Our rooms were wonderful. We received a room upgrade upon early arrival and had two wonderful suites. Had a chance to experience a fabulous leg and foot massage located right off the lobby. Just a short walk to Starbucks, various reasonably priced dining establishments and just steps away from the Internation Market Place and the fabulous ABC stores. Just a block from the beach and great shopping area. Can't beat the price for this hotel. Only had one night that was a bit noisy. Would definitely book this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on Kuhio street and just one block behind the main street of Kalakaua Avenue we were able to find numerous inexpensive eating establishments and great shopping just a few steps away including Starbucks and ABC stores close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver BC, Canada
Dec 16, 2009

PERFECT

Location was great for us, staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were spacious. We were located on the 2nd floor, and the noise outside didnt bother me at all. You may not like it if youre a light sleeper or just dont like noise period. They said the pool is fairly small, although I did not check it out. But Waikiki Beach is about a 5-10min walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If youre a younger crowd or like a younger crowd and like hip hop and R&B there are quite a few clubs around the hotel. Most nights I found were 18+ but specific clubs/nights are 21+.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward,ca
Apr 28, 2011

Birthday trip

My Hawaii trip was my first [...]. I truly recommend staying at Aqua wakiki wave. You are in the heart of downtown. International market is just steps away. The hotel was clean and comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Thanks [...]! for making my 30th birthday the best ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at helenas. Best hawaiian authentic food ever. You can eat everything in a luau without the luau.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay area
Aug 27, 2010

birthday get away

my experience here was great. at my arrival the front desk was nice and quick with getting us a room. the room seemed newly remodled with a contemporary design. very cozy. sheets were changed everyday without a problem.everything was clean and working. we had a room that was right next to the stairs so usually we took the stairs, it was faster than walking all the way to the elevators. what really stood out to me were the two night workers that stood in front of the hotel. one was a big filipino guy and not sure what the other was. they were always friendly after coming home late at night after a club. always joking with us and having funny conversations. whats great about the hotel is that after i believe it was 6pm or 7pm, the front doors lock so you need ur key to get in. the hotel is also situated right behind the international market, its literally right next to the stairs of the hotel, five steps away. the beach was a few blocks but no more than a ten minute walk to waikiki beach. i loved it here and i would most definitely come back next year to this same hotel. it was nice, cheap, good location, friendly staff, and your only sleeping there at night cause your out for the day, so what more can you ask for. LOVE IT!!! oh and also theres a really good restuarant right next door that served delicious loco moco. yummm. and 2 blocks away was like a parking lot with soo many different food trucks. we had rice and steak for about 6 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

theres the zanza bar and another club right across the street. i think it was called play but the cover was only like 5$ and they played fairly good music. im from the bay and they even played our music there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gero for the Waikiki
Business
Pacifica, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Great Location!!

This was our third year in a row that we stayed in Waikiki and the room we got was superior to the rooms we got at another hotel. You can't complain about the price and the location. The distance to the beach was not even far. I felt we were in a centralized location where everything was in a walkable distance. Their pool was nothing great so don't even bother with it. If your on a budget, give this place a try :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 7, 2008

Excellent Location/Easy Assess

Convenient location, close to shopping, food, hotels, beach, and airport. would stay there again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court next door, with excellent entertainment and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K-Proy2011
Business
Kalamzoo Mi
Jun 17, 2011

Very nice

We came to Oahu for our honeymoon. We did several excursions and the hotel was very helpful. Everyone was nice and friendly..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top