$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
528 reviews
very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds. See full review

  • brett sk
  • Jan 27, 2013
Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything. See full review

  • Coolmarc
  • Jul 22, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (528)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
528 out of 528
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Feb 24, 2008

A very unpleasant experience

I don't know why any hotel would choose to exist on that street. I wouldn't walk my dog down that street, let alone my child. The noise, car alarms, and screaming last throughout, the night forbidding us to get one minute of sleep. Fortunately, the hotel was willing to relocate us to one of their other properties located away from this frightening area. I give them high marks for accommodating our request. The other location was excellent. They and all the other hotels in that area need to pressure the city to clean that street up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
...dissapointed frequent traveler!
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Feb 17, 2010

cute but NO PARKING!

The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very roomy and beautiful. However the parking situation is rediculous. Its on a first come first serve basis. They only have 20 parking stalls, and if your like me who usally checks after 3:00 pm, your out of luck. [...] Instead of helping me find parking near the hotel, the staff just said "Oh well." Not a great stay there because of this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy with AQUA
Oxnard, Ca.
Sep 14, 2009

If you have a family dont stay here!!

First off the elevator has been broken for over a month and that forced us to either wait for an elevator that would skip floors or take the service elevator or stairs. 15 floors of hotel and asked to take stairs. Once we got checked in we were informed that in order to use the hotel parking we had to pay $20 a day. Once we were in the room the ceiling was spot painted with the wrong color so it was obvious, the outside noise came right through the sliding window, and the bathroom looked as if someone had been doing lines off the toilet seat. Everyday after the maid cleaned the room it smelled as if she had been smoking in the room. The hotel is non-smoking which was a bonus for us and everyday we came back to a room that smelled of smoke. That was just the inside. Getting to the hotel was a mission in itself with the prostitutes hanging just outside the enterance. It makes for great people watching but not great for families. You need a key to get in the hotel after 10pm. What if you checking in? You stand there banging on the glass hoping someone can hear you and then walk over to the door to trigger the sensor. The staff while somewhat helpful had a certian "if you dont like it find another hotel" attitude. Finally the fire alarm at 4am. Once we were back in the room there were two annoucements that it was all clear, obviously being that we were already told to go up to our rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every meal will cost at least $60 per couple. Be prepared!!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Old Spice
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 28, 2011

The Worst

Don't go here if you have a car that you need to park! There is no parking available at the motel. Two nights we had to walk 2 to 4 blocks away on Seaside to park the van. While the hotel offers alternate parking next door, the parking lot next door closes early and is selective about which vans it will and will not park in its garage. The noise!!! The bar or something near by keeps you awake even if you are on the 5th floor. I know it is a party city; but, really, you cannot come and go if you have a car. You won't be able to park in the garage and it is one way in, one way out. Very tight. Handicap not accommodating. Never did see the lift in use. Several steps up and down to the street. I wouldn't eat at the China Garden or restaurant inside. While it all looks very formal the tea tasted like "dirt". Add to all of this, the elevator. Very, very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car. All of the tour companies offer pick up service to and from all destinations.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waikiki
Dec 25, 2010

I didn't rest

It was party central. From 11 pm to 430 am it was noisy near this motel. I didnt get much rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norco, California
Jan 3, 2011

review

Although the night staff was friendly and helpful the day staff seemed overwhelmed, the hotel ameneties ie; elevator fitness rooms, and internet either worked intermittenly or did not work at all. Disclosure of costs were not clear, was told parking would be $20.00 for my stay however upon checkout was charged $20.00 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NM
Apr 18, 2011

I would not stay here again

The room was the "only king bed on the floor", but right by the elevators. The walls are paper thin and the inside noise was almost as bad as the ridiculous street noise. The staff was mostly rude and would not offer any help or assistance. The bellman just stood and watched as I searched for a ramp for entry, then kept watching me drag my heavy luggage up the entry stairs. Parking availability is a joke, as is paying $20 a night for parking, then having to pay an extra $7 (per 10 hours) to park at their overflow lot. No onsite food or laundry service. The cleaning crew was friendly, that's about the most positive thing I can say. Would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The noise from outside is extreme from 11pm-4am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is about a 5 minute walk away.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ronald Lawrence
Oahu, Hawaii We live in Lakeview, Ohio
May 7, 2011

UGH! Hotel was toooo far from the beach

I had asked for a beach front hotel, but I didn't get it. The hotel smelled of Chinese all the time. We were put in a noisy room right next to the parking garage that stayed open all night! I think we have had alot better vacations before and the Luau food was gross!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the beach area...more shops, finer dining and more entainment.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San jose ca
Jun 21, 2011

Never come back

The hotel located next to a parking deck that make noise thru out the night and on the other side have a night club and hookers stand around the hotel. A guy a front desk try to give me a attitude when I complain that my room haven't been clean. House keeper come at 3-4 pm for me. Bad very bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allan Elite Runner
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Worst hotel experience

The hotel was the worst hotel we have stayed in. Parking was a nightmare. The hotel charges $20 per day and they only have 12 parking spots??? At night there is no way you could find a spot. Rooms are not bad. Swimming pool is the size of a bathtub. Front desk staff are very rude and make you feel like you owe them just because the weather is good. Right outside the hotel enterance, all drug deals and prostitution are taking place starting 8 pm. The city view of the room was the roof of the utility level. Everything you want to change is an upgrade. Over all we would never go back to such a hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We could not sleep all night long. It's OK for younger crowd, but not for families with teens and young childerns.

Back to menu Return to top