$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allan Elite Runner
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Worst hotel experience

The hotel was the worst hotel we have stayed in. Parking was a nightmare. The hotel charges $20 per day and they only have 12 parking spots??? At night there is no way you could find a spot. Rooms are not bad. Swimming pool is the size of a bathtub. Front desk staff are very rude and make you feel like you owe them just because the weather is good. Right outside the hotel enterance, all drug deals and prostitution are taking place starting 8 pm. The city view of the room was the roof of the utility level. Everything you want to change is an upgrade. Over all we would never go back to such a hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We could not sleep all night long. It's OK for younger crowd, but not for families with teens and young childerns.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver CO
Jun 5, 2011

Hotel is old and worn

The hotel rooms are worn out and the bathrooms have little ventilation. The neighborhood is so loud at night that the hotel actually provides earplugs! The area is full of prostitutes that solicited continuously.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
...dissapointed frequent traveler!
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Feb 17, 2010

cute but NO PARKING!

The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very roomy and beautiful. However the parking situation is rediculous. Its on a first come first serve basis. They only have 20 parking stalls, and if your like me who usally checks after 3:00 pm, your out of luck. [...] Instead of helping me find parking near the hotel, the staff just said "Oh well." Not a great stay there because of this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waikiki
Dec 25, 2010

I didn't rest

It was party central. From 11 pm to 430 am it was noisy near this motel. I didnt get much rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norco, California
Jan 3, 2011

review

Although the night staff was friendly and helpful the day staff seemed overwhelmed, the hotel ameneties ie; elevator fitness rooms, and internet either worked intermittenly or did not work at all. Disclosure of costs were not clear, was told parking would be $20.00 for my stay however upon checkout was charged $20.00 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ronald Lawrence
Business
Oahu, Hawaii We live in Lakeview, Ohio
May 7, 2011

UGH! Hotel was toooo far from the beach

I had asked for a beach front hotel, but I didn't get it. The hotel smelled of Chinese all the time. We were put in a noisy room right next to the parking garage that stayed open all night! I think we have had alot better vacations before and the Luau food was gross!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the beach area...more shops, finer dining and more entainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Apr 18, 2011

I would not stay here again

The room was the "only king bed on the floor", but right by the elevators. The walls are paper thin and the inside noise was almost as bad as the ridiculous street noise. The staff was mostly rude and would not offer any help or assistance. The bellman just stood and watched as I searched for a ramp for entry, then kept watching me drag my heavy luggage up the entry stairs. Parking availability is a joke, as is paying $20 a night for parking, then having to pay an extra $7 (per 10 hours) to park at their overflow lot. No onsite food or laundry service. The cleaning crew was friendly, that's about the most positive thing I can say. Would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The noise from outside is extreme from 11pm-4am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is about a 5 minute walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Dec 15, 2010

Hated this hotel.

Bed & pillows uncomfortable. Had to wait 3-hours to get extra pillows, called 3-times for them. Bathroom dirty,low grade hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Old Spice
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 28, 2011

The Worst

Don't go here if you have a car that you need to park! There is no parking available at the motel. Two nights we had to walk 2 to 4 blocks away on Seaside to park the van. While the hotel offers alternate parking next door, the parking lot next door closes early and is selective about which vans it will and will not park in its garage. The noise!!! The bar or something near by keeps you awake even if you are on the 5th floor. I know it is a party city; but, really, you cannot come and go if you have a car. You won't be able to park in the garage and it is one way in, one way out. Very tight. Handicap not accommodating. Never did see the lift in use. Several steps up and down to the street. I wouldn't eat at the China Garden or restaurant inside. While it all looks very formal the tea tasted like "dirt". Add to all of this, the elevator. Very, very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car. All of the tour companies offer pick up service to and from all destinations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Feb 24, 2008

A very unpleasant experience

I don't know why any hotel would choose to exist on that street. I wouldn't walk my dog down that street, let alone my child. The noise, car alarms, and screaming last throughout, the night forbidding us to get one minute of sleep. Fortunately, the hotel was willing to relocate us to one of their other properties located away from this frightening area. I give them high marks for accommodating our request. The other location was excellent. They and all the other hotels in that area need to pressure the city to clean that street up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top