$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Denver CO
Jun 5, 2011

Hotel is old and worn

The hotel rooms are worn out and the bathrooms have little ventilation. The neighborhood is so loud at night that the hotel actually provides earplugs! The area is full of prostitutes that solicited continuously.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
...dissapointed frequent traveler!
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Feb 17, 2010

cute but NO PARKING!

The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very roomy and beautiful. However the parking situation is rediculous. Its on a first come first serve basis. They only have 20 parking stalls, and if your like me who usally checks after 3:00 pm, your out of luck. [...] Instead of helping me find parking near the hotel, the staff just said "Oh well." Not a great stay there because of this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Waikiki
Dec 25, 2010

I didn't rest

It was party central. From 11 pm to 430 am it was noisy near this motel. I didnt get much rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Norco, California
Jan 3, 2011

review

Although the night staff was friendly and helpful the day staff seemed overwhelmed, the hotel ameneties ie; elevator fitness rooms, and internet either worked intermittenly or did not work at all. Disclosure of costs were not clear, was told parking would be $20.00 for my stay however upon checkout was charged $20.00 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ronald Lawrence
Couples
Oahu, Hawaii We live in Lakeview, Ohio
May 7, 2011

UGH! Hotel was toooo far from the beach

I had asked for a beach front hotel, but I didn't get it. The hotel smelled of Chinese all the time. We were put in a noisy room right next to the parking garage that stayed open all night! I think we have had alot better vacations before and the Luau food was gross!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the beach area...more shops, finer dining and more entainment.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
NM
Apr 18, 2011

I would not stay here again

The room was the "only king bed on the floor", but right by the elevators. The walls are paper thin and the inside noise was almost as bad as the ridiculous street noise. The staff was mostly rude and would not offer any help or assistance. The bellman just stood and watched as I searched for a ramp for entry, then kept watching me drag my heavy luggage up the entry stairs. Parking availability is a joke, as is paying $20 a night for parking, then having to pay an extra $7 (per 10 hours) to park at their overflow lot. No onsite food or laundry service. The cleaning crew was friendly, that's about the most positive thing I can say. Would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The noise from outside is extreme from 11pm-4am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is about a 5 minute walk away.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Francisco, Ca
Dec 15, 2010

Hated this hotel.

Bed & pillows uncomfortable. Had to wait 3-hours to get extra pillows, called 3-times for them. Bathroom dirty,low grade hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Old Spice
Family
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 28, 2011

The Worst

Don't go here if you have a car that you need to park! There is no parking available at the motel. Two nights we had to walk 2 to 4 blocks away on Seaside to park the van. While the hotel offers alternate parking next door, the parking lot next door closes early and is selective about which vans it will and will not park in its garage. The noise!!! The bar or something near by keeps you awake even if you are on the 5th floor. I know it is a party city; but, really, you cannot come and go if you have a car. You won't be able to park in the garage and it is one way in, one way out. Very tight. Handicap not accommodating. Never did see the lift in use. Several steps up and down to the street. I wouldn't eat at the China Garden or restaurant inside. While it all looks very formal the tea tasted like "dirt". Add to all of this, the elevator. Very, very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car. All of the tour companies offer pick up service to and from all destinations.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Madison, WI
Feb 24, 2008

A very unpleasant experience

I don't know why any hotel would choose to exist on that street. I wouldn't walk my dog down that street, let alone my child. The noise, car alarms, and screaming last throughout, the night forbidding us to get one minute of sleep. Fortunately, the hotel was willing to relocate us to one of their other properties located away from this frightening area. I give them high marks for accommodating our request. The other location was excellent. They and all the other hotels in that area need to pressure the city to clean that street up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler5335
Business
California
Dec 1, 2014

Dirty, dated, and overlooking a massive construction site

I'm a super easy, laid back traveler, and this place was sending out red-flags from the start. Rude check-in clerk was throwing hidden fees at me from the start (deposit and daily 'hospitatlity fee'), room is surface, cosmetic fixes over old and dated hardware and disgusting carpeting. Hotel overlooks a MASSIVE HIGH RISE ACTIVE CONSTRUCTION PROJECT two-blocks wide that is as LOUD as it is ugly. In the midst of booking a room (on a competitor that starts with E) somewhere else and eating the cost, just to get out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top