$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
296 reviews
Waikiki Wonderer

Besides the construction that was going on outside of my window, the entire experience was very... See full review

  • Beyond disappointing
  • May 8, 2015
Fun week

The hotel and location were excellent. Great value for being in the heart of Waikiki. See full review

  • James
  • May 1, 2015

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away.

General
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Property features

Style meets value in the heart of Waikiki

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center
  • Non-smoking property
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)

Nearby attractions
  • The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center
  • Non-smoking property
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)

Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Policies
  • The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite
Spacious junior suite with 2 Queen beds. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tiff0316
Business
florida
Dec 21, 2012

Roach infested!!!!

Upon return to our room after dinner we walked onto our room and there were bugs in our room and the bathroom. There was also one in the toilet. We further looked in the room and found about 7 more behind the mini fridge. When we went downstairs to complain we were told this was a "common problem in all hotels in hawaii". They switched our room and when we went in we also found a roach. Very disapointing how they handled the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dianeandart
Business
Columbus, ohio
Jan 27, 2013

airport special

Location was close to airport, but in a run down warehouse type neighborhool and was difficult to find. Parking was free, but limited. Room walls were paper thin and room could use some updating. Microwave was missing. Room was clean and bed ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very sad vacationer
Business
Mississippi
May 23, 2013

Not recommended for too many horrible reasons

We had reserved standard room w/ 2 queen beds for 6 nights stay at Aqua Waikiki Wave. They must have borrowed those website photos b'cz this hotel was not anything like the photo inside and extrior. Missed hotel parking entrace led by a dirty ally w/ stinking dumpsters, made two go arouds. No easy entrance, no slopes nor elevator from parking or street, so we dragged up our suitcases. The hallway smelled like some prostitution/druggies stay kind of place, my daughter said. Followed by an old 50's vintage looking dinky door into a room filled w/ more musty orders, very filthy carpets, we didnt to take off our flip flops. Our room was facing a next parking structures across an another ally, plus curtains didn't close w/o my hair clip... we never enjoyed any views outside balcony. Into a third night, we were woken up by a banging construction noise from a next room. Front desk person said there were water leaks into hotel office in below level which had to be fixed. And into the fifth fourth night, weekend party people were going off til until sun came up. And we were woken up by yet another construction noise coming from other side of wall, and this time was a room renovation. Oh, almost forgot to mention that hotel A/C was out of service due to some emergency repairs for two days. It was not our vacation option to be coped anymore. We needed to be rescued out of this outdated hotel before the room floor falls apart in our sleep. So they moved us to an another hotel of theirs and into a suite room w/ better service minded people. Although it was only for last one night of our vacation, yet it made a nice wrap up on ending. In conclusion, DO NOT STAY THERE unless otherwise you want it to ruin your sweet Hawaiian vacation!!! We want our money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RBP
Business
Colorado
Jun 3, 2011

Dont take a family

The hotel staff was friendly but that was about the only good thing. Prostitutes are all over on front of the hotel soliciting everyone walking by. There are earplugs provided by the hotel and even on the 12th floor the bars were loud and the garbage trucks started at 6:00AM and did not finish until 7:00AM. the bathroom was tiny, dingy and poorly ventilated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
canada
Jun 2, 2011

"NOT a Boutique Hotel"

Do stay here if you like: 1. A full 20-minutes wait to check in. 2. Rude and unprofessional staff. Check in clerk who don't bother with a simple 'hello'. 3. Music blasting from night clubs on Friday and Saturday nights. Earplug provided by the hotel will not help. 4. No one pick up the phone when call for room service. 5. Indifference concierge. 6. Ladies of the nights soliciting in front of hotel door. There better choices on direct on Waikiki beach in this price range. This is not a boutique hotel. It is located in the city club district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 13, 2007

HOTEL KEY HELL

This was an awful experience regarding helpfulness/knowledge of staff and room access. Every time I had to go back into my room I had to go down to the lobby and get a new key made because it would stop working. The maids could not open my door, the maintenance man could not open it either. They set someone once to reprogram it and that did not work. At one point in the day there were three of us in the hall way trying to get into our rooms and could not. It was an old and very small hotel with very few amenities. They are cleaning it up, but it needs more than just a fresh coat of paint. It was cheap, but not worth the hassle and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HCP
Business
Boise, ID
Sep 19, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!

We do not reccomend this hotel to anyone. First we got lost on the way to the hotel. I tried to call them several times for directions and no one would answer the phone. The first night we were there a fire alarm went off at 3am and we had to evacutate the Hotel. We stood out on the street for an hour and no hotel staff came to explain or apologize. There was no fire of course. They only had one working elevator for 15 floors. So we climbed the stairs to our sixth floor room. Parking was an additional $20 a night, provided you could find parking. One night we had to park three blocks away at a different hotel. The blankets had stains on them. We found three chocroaches in our room. The carpet was thread bare and pilling. The only good thing about our hotel was the location; but then againm, there were about 30 other hotels in the same location that I am sure were much nicer. Try the Mariot on Waikiki. We heard nice things about it. The weather was wonderful and the beach was beautiful. I loved Oahu and if I ever have another chance to go there I will just stay at a different hotel. Everything else was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The international market place is right behind the hotel. It offers lots of inexpensive lunch options and some fun shopping.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy with AQUA
Business
Oxnard, Ca.
Sep 14, 2009

If you have a family dont stay here!!

First off the elevator has been broken for over a month and that forced us to either wait for an elevator that would skip floors or take the service elevator or stairs. 15 floors of hotel and asked to take stairs. Once we got checked in we were informed that in order to use the hotel parking we had to pay $20 a day. Once we were in the room the ceiling was spot painted with the wrong color so it was obvious, the outside noise came right through the sliding window, and the bathroom looked as if someone had been doing lines off the toilet seat. Everyday after the maid cleaned the room it smelled as if she had been smoking in the room. The hotel is non-smoking which was a bonus for us and everyday we came back to a room that smelled of smoke. That was just the inside. Getting to the hotel was a mission in itself with the prostitutes hanging just outside the enterance. It makes for great people watching but not great for families. You need a key to get in the hotel after 10pm. What if you checking in? You stand there banging on the glass hoping someone can hear you and then walk over to the door to trigger the sensor. The staff while somewhat helpful had a certian "if you dont like it find another hotel" attitude. Finally the fire alarm at 4am. Once we were back in the room there were two annoucements that it was all clear, obviously being that we were already told to go up to our rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every meal will cost at least $60 per couple. Be prepared!!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
May 11, 2009

Horrible

Way noisey and the pool is like having a kiddie pool in your back yard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allan Elite Runner
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Worst hotel experience

The hotel was the worst hotel we have stayed in. Parking was a nightmare. The hotel charges $20 per day and they only have 12 parking spots??? At night there is no way you could find a spot. Rooms are not bad. Swimming pool is the size of a bathtub. Front desk staff are very rude and make you feel like you owe them just because the weather is good. Right outside the hotel enterance, all drug deals and prostitution are taking place starting 8 pm. The city view of the room was the roof of the utility level. Everything you want to change is an upgrade. Over all we would never go back to such a hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We could not sleep all night long. It's OK for younger crowd, but not for families with teens and young childerns.

Back to menu Return to top