$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2014 Check-out: Apr 25, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
304 reviews
very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds. See full review

  • brett sk
  • Jan 27, 2013
great stay

Very satisfied, only downfall, was construction noise outside window in ams.. See full review

  • ekgnancy
  • Apr 7, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (304)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.4 / 5
16 out of 304
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
local sleeper
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 6, 2013

Nice for the price I paid

I got a good rate on travel site. If I had to pay full price I would have been dissapointed by the loud noise from roof top bars near the hotel at night. They did provide complimentary ear plugs. The staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Red box across the street at food pantry. They have DVD player in room.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
Wave reviewer
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Feb 10, 2013

Better than expected

Friendly staff; located a couple of blocks from Waikiki beach and a block from the good shopping strip. Very clean and spacious room; comfortable bed/pillows. Rooms have balcony with seating. For the price, this place is a good deal and I am particular about where I stay. I slept well since it was quiet even though the hotel is in the middle of a crowded area. I had a car since I wanted to see the island and was staying other places --parking is expensive. If you are planning on staying in the Waikiki area, do not get a rental car, just walk or use the bus system. Get a four day bus pass - cheaper than paying for each ride. Good luck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Have an early dinner during happy hour 3-6 pm because meals and drinks are cheaper during this time.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
Hawaiian Moon
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 28, 2012

Aqua Waikiki Wave

Very convenient walking distance to everything I wanted to be near and see. It is literally backed up to the the International Marketplace The room was average in comfort, but needs updating in the bathroom, and the elevator service was very slow. It was quiet and clean and I had a good package deal price .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
VickiShaver
Business
Haslett, MI
Jul 9, 2012

Happy with my short stay

I was in Honolulu for a one day layover and wanted to spend a little time on the beach. From start to finish this was a positive experience. Staff was friendly and provided resources quickly and efficiently, including arranging for an airport shuttle/taxi. I had worried a bit about the noise based on other reviews, but that was not a problem at all. My room had a great view, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This is close to everything! The beach, the International Market and other shops, and the bus and trolley routes.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Hilo, Hawai
May 17, 2011

Great Bargain

Clean hotel. Middle of Waikiki. Business center not free but reasonable. Gym was small but had new equipment. Great price for what you got

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
SouthernGent
Business
Texas
Nov 23, 2010

Good but not great

I didn't have a good feeling about the staff at the hotel from the get go. I called the hotel when I arrived at the airport and asked for parking instructions to see if there was a garage available or if I had to park elsewhere. The first person I talked to asked me to hold, but then never came back (I held the line for 12min). The second person I talked to, after having to call back, said that there was parking but the rates had gone up to $20.00 per day instead of the previously quoted $10.00. In driving to the hotel, it was a gorgeous and scenic route. I arrived around 430pm and was able to see the sunset as I drove down Kuhio road. The hotel is not easy to see. The sign is very small, and hidden behind many trees in the street. In fact, I passed the hotel the first time because of this. Additionally, the parking lot is down an alley way that has a sign stating 'NO ENTRY' so that doesn't help anyone. The hotel itself was nice, good lobby, and every wednesday they have a 'watch the waves' event and give drinks and snacks and have live music; quite festive. A note to all that are booking at this hotel, plan for the elevator. Their is 'random' scheduled maintenance and inspection of the premise. While I stayed at the hotel one of the elevators was not working the entire time, and the other one opened half way on the floors sometimes...quite annoying. The hallways of this hotel have not been renovated. In getting out of the elevator I was skeptical of my choice. I was given a room on the 10th floor and it was actually fantastic. The room had lots of amenities including a fridge, microwave, small 19"flat screen tv, desk, adequate lighting, and well kept overall. As far as the noise goes. It's true. It's not a good sign when the hotel gives you complementary ear plugs and a note saying 'we know about the noise. hope this helps.' I was on the 10th floor and around 1am to 3am the music gets really loud. I am a very light sleeper, so that didn't help either. I never used the ear plugs, just put a pillow on my head and focused on sleep. The WiFi is not usable. It doesn't work half the time and when it does it is slower than dial-up. i.e. Google took 2min and 45 seconds to load. Yes, I timed it. They know it's bad, they even have a survey asking how to improve it...ha! The surrounding area of the hotel is amazing. There are shops all around, a Starbucks for all those craving a morning shot of espresso, and quite a few restaurants within walking distance. Additionally, there is a huge shopping district surrounding the hotel if you walk about a block or so south east, shops include Coach, Louis Vuitton, Ferrari Store, etc... Overall not a bad experience, but a few things, that from travelling so much, you just come to expect that were missing: easy parking, updated hotel atmosphere throughout (not just lobby....), unusable wi-fi, and too much noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a drive on H1-East to see amazing beaches, rainforest, and nature...literally as you drive the ocean is next to your wheels. Amazing!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Malibu, CA
Jun 14, 2010

Waikiki 6-6 to 6-11

I would leave before 7am and get home in the evening to shower, then go to dinner meetings. The room was clean and quiet. The one negative was the tight parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chuck's Cellar is great for a relaxing dinner if traveling alone. Quiet live jazz, a great pupu menu and old school atmosphere.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
diving dolphin
Business
Seoul, Korea
Apr 16, 2010

Great location, super soft linens

It is in Waikiki. On weekends, people party. So you can't avoid noise on those nights. It can be a torture for some people if they can't party, too. But all of us loved the location. You can walk around and everything that you need is in 10 min walking distance. I loved the strong water pressure of shower and super soft linens. It will be my choice gain for my next visit in Oahu for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

DA BIG KAHUNA WAKIKI on the first floor of the hotel do karaoke at night. They have pool tables. The service and price were good. We had so much fun.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
Valuehunter
Business
San Francisco
Feb 26, 2010

Not bad for the price.

Decent room size, fairly clean and modern. Bathroom too small and a little janky but for price... Location good for walking in Waki Waki. Parking available but no elevator. Had to lug boxes up and down. Friendly staff. Most places are run down in WakiWaki unless you pay top dollar so relatively speaking, I thought this place was pretty decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Foodland, Don Quixote, Wal-Mart, Costco and of course Ala Moana for deals on food and gifts in addition to Kauakaua.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
...dissapointed frequent traveler!
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Feb 17, 2010

cute but NO PARKING!

The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very roomy and beautiful. However the parking situation is rediculous. Its on a first come first serve basis. They only have 20 parking stalls, and if your like me who usally checks after 3:00 pm, your out of luck. [...] Instead of helping me find parking near the hotel, the staff just said "Oh well." Not a great stay there because of this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top