$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
296 reviews
Waikiki Wonderer

Besides the construction that was going on outside of my window, the entire experience was very... See full review

  • Beyond disappointing
  • May 8, 2015
Fun week

The hotel and location were excellent. Great value for being in the heart of Waikiki. See full review

  • James
  • May 1, 2015

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away.

General
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Property features

Style meets value in the heart of Waikiki

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center
  • Non-smoking property
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)

Nearby attractions
  • The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center
  • Non-smoking property
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)

Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Policies
  • The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite
Spacious junior suite with 2 Queen beds. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brett sk
Business
s.korea
Jan 27, 2013

very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay area
Aug 27, 2010

birthday get away

my experience here was great. at my arrival the front desk was nice and quick with getting us a room. the room seemed newly remodled with a contemporary design. very cozy. sheets were changed everyday without a problem.everything was clean and working. we had a room that was right next to the stairs so usually we took the stairs, it was faster than walking all the way to the elevators. what really stood out to me were the two night workers that stood in front of the hotel. one was a big filipino guy and not sure what the other was. they were always friendly after coming home late at night after a club. always joking with us and having funny conversations. whats great about the hotel is that after i believe it was 6pm or 7pm, the front doors lock so you need ur key to get in. the hotel is also situated right behind the international market, its literally right next to the stairs of the hotel, five steps away. the beach was a few blocks but no more than a ten minute walk to waikiki beach. i loved it here and i would most definitely come back next year to this same hotel. it was nice, cheap, good location, friendly staff, and your only sleeping there at night cause your out for the day, so what more can you ask for. LOVE IT!!! oh and also theres a really good restuarant right next door that served delicious loco moco. yummm. and 2 blocks away was like a parking lot with soo many different food trucks. we had rice and steak for about 6 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

theres the zanza bar and another club right across the street. i think it was called play but the cover was only like 5$ and they played fairly good music. im from the bay and they even played our music there.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gero for the Waikiki
Business
Pacifica, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Great Location!!

This was our third year in a row that we stayed in Waikiki and the room we got was superior to the rooms we got at another hotel. You can't complain about the price and the location. The distance to the beach was not even far. I felt we were in a centralized location where everything was in a walkable distance. Their pool was nothing great so don't even bother with it. If your on a budget, give this place a try :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 7, 2008

Excellent Location/Easy Assess

Convenient location, close to shopping, food, hotels, beach, and airport. would stay there again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court next door, with excellent entertainment and shopping

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K-Proy2011
Business
Kalamzoo Mi
Jun 17, 2011

Very nice

We came to Oahu for our honeymoon. We did several excursions and the hotel was very helpful. Everyone was nice and friendly..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 24, 2007

awesome

the AQUA WAVE WAIKIKI.....was excellent....traveled with twelve year old son and everytime we entered the hotel it was like coming home....very attentive staff ...housekeeping was excellent and the location was central to everything I plan on making this an annual trip.....I felt as though I made and informed decision and won the lottery......would highly recommend....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very short walk to beach, shops, zoo....easy freeway access...excellent centralized local....

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 12, 2007

Very friendly

Aqua Waikiki Wave was very nice, clean, friendly hotel, room was large with 2 queen bed, nicely furnished. The location is just super, just in the centre of everything. We just enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Unique Market Place, lots of sortiments for reasonable price. You can find a perfect gift for everybody you love.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flamingo Jane
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 25, 2011

We couldn't believe our eyes.

The room was huge, clean, and large windows on 2 sides.1 king size bed and 1 queen size bed. It was not crowded at all for 4 adults. Convenient to the International Market and not far from the beach. We saw a free Hula show on the beach and were also entertained by just people watching. Good service here and wished we could stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like nightlife, it is all around you.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2007

Excellent place to stay

I have found that the Aqua Waikiki Wave is a wonderful place- it's located in the heart of Waikiki. It is surrounded by restaurants, boutiques, ABC stores and a few minutes away from the International Marketplace. It's a little noisy on the weekend mornings since the area has many bars and places to go dancing. I solved the parking problem- there is a elevated parking place you can park in the alley next to the hotel. In addition, you can park cheaply at the trade center which is next door. The rooms are very clean, and the staff helpful and courteous. The beach is only a few minutes away, and Duke's is across the street. If I were to visit Waikiki again, I would stay at the Aqua Waikiki Wave. It would be a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The area has everything!!!!!!!!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 20, 2007

Great hotel

The room was very comfortable and large. I really liked having a microwave, refridgerator and coffee maker. The safe in the room was also very easy to operate. We had a suite on an upper view with two lanais and partial views of the ocean and Diamond Head. The beach was a short walk away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Germain's Bakery is next door and has delicious pastries. The hotel is also next to the International Marketplace. You can hear street noise even on the upper floors but the hotel provides you with complimentary ear plugs.

Back to menu Return to top