$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
528 reviews
very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds. See full review

  • brett sk
  • Jan 27, 2013
Family Vacay

Good location, right in the middle of everything. Just a few blocks away from the beach. Can't wait... See full review

  • Heartyboie
  • Jun 15, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (528)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
528 out of 528
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theresa I.
Pennsylvania
Jul 13, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The room and location was great for the price. The only problem was the noise from the street. The hotel is located on a main street and the young party-goers are out until 4am or so shouting in the streets. Needed to leave the tv on all night in order to stay asleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The reataurant "Da Big Kahuna" located in the hotel offered great food and drinks at a very reasonable price. Don't go to Ihop...big rip-off!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DzBosscowboy
San Diego
Jul 11, 2011

Great hotel for the price

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the beach, restaurants, and shopping in Waikiki. It did not disappoint. Everything was within walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were very clean. The only downfall was the noise level. It is very close to all the bars, which can be a good or bad thing. We were on the 10th floor and the noise could still be easily heard. The hotel provides ear plugs for you so they are trying. We both slept well in spite of the noise. Overall i was happy with the hotel. I recommend trying to get a room on a higher floor and on the west side of the hotel. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The breakfast food on the strip by the beach is a lot cheaper than the ones by the hotel. The IHOP by the hotel is charging almost $20 for an omelet.Its worth it to walk and find something better, and cheaper.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DzBosscowboy
San Diego
Jul 11, 2011

Great hotel for the price

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the beach, restaurants, and shopping in Waikiki. It did not disappoint. Everything was within walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were very clean. The only downfall was the noise level. It is very close to all the bars, which can be a good or bad thing. We were on the 10th floor and the noise could still be easily heard. The hotel provides ear plugs for you so they are trying. We both slept well in spite of the noise. Overall i was happy with the hotel. I recommend trying to get a room on a higher floor and on the west side of the hotel. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The breakfast food on the strip by the beach is a lot cheaper than the ones by the hotel. The IHOP by the hotel is charging almost $20 for an omelet.Its worth it to walk and find something better, and cheaper.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
las vegas
Jul 2, 2011

you get what you pay for

the location of the hotel is great... within walking distance of some restaurants & attractions like scuba diving. the room itself wasnt impressive... one of the people in town said it was recently taken over and renovated & it was run down before that. it may not say it but parking is $20/day & $8/day for a scooter. the good: location, the bad: the parking, uninviting rooms, the ugly: nothing awful really... just remember you get what you pay for also, the partial ocean view means if you look out over the balcony railing to your side, you can see the ocean between some buildings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try the big kahuna next door with their live entertainment

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
las vegas
Jul 2, 2011

you get what you pay for

the location of the hotel is great... within walking distance of some restaurants & attractions like scuba diving. the room itself wasnt impressive... one of the people in town said it was recently taken over and renovated & it was run down before that. it may not say it but parking is $20/day & $8/day for a scooter. the good: location, the bad: the parking, uninviting rooms, the ugly: nothing awful really... just remember you get what you pay for also, the partial ocean view means if you look out over the balcony railing to your side, you can see the ocean between some buildings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try the big kahuna next door with their live entertainment

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Jun 27, 2011

Loved it!

We were a group of 3 friends in one room and my sons in another (ages 18, 20 and 22). Our rooms were perfect, the location was perfect (easy walking distance to shopping and beach)and the staff was the best! We had a car, so we traveled to the north shore and the beaches in the east as well as hanging out on Waikiki. We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Jun 27, 2011

Loved it!

We were a group of 3 friends in one room and my sons in another (ages 18, 20 and 22). Our rooms were perfect, the location was perfect (easy walking distance to shopping and beach)and the staff was the best! We had a car, so we traveled to the north shore and the beaches in the east as well as hanging out on Waikiki. We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San jose ca
Jun 21, 2011

Never come back

The hotel located next to a parking deck that make noise thru out the night and on the other side have a night club and hookers stand around the hotel. A guy a front desk try to give me a attitude when I complain that my room haven't been clean. House keeper come at 3-4 pm for me. Bad very bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K-Proy2011
Kalamzoo Mi
Jun 17, 2011

Very nice

We came to Oahu for our honeymoon. We did several excursions and the hotel was very helpful. Everyone was nice and friendly..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K-Proy2011
Kalamzoo Mi
Jun 17, 2011

Very nice

We came to Oahu for our honeymoon. We did several excursions and the hotel was very helpful. Everyone was nice and friendly..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top