$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reiko
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 5, 2011

Great place for short stay

The location is so convenient and easy access to local transportations, walking distance to everywhere: Waikiki beach, shops, restaurants, and many attractions. They gave us a junior suite which was very spacious with two beds. I was aware of the noise of the hotel, and sure it was. The ear plug did not work, and had sleepless nights in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went twice to UDON restaurant on Kuhio across from the Hotel. It is simple Japanese noodle shop, self service. The key is that they make a fresh noodle right in front of our eyes, and cook for the customers. It was so tasty with perfect al dente for Japanese Noodle. On top of that the price was so cheap, maybe the cheapest restaurant we ever went and the best food!!! Everyday, there was a big line in front of the restaurant for the fans. I cann't wait to go back to Honolulu, just for that!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eau Claire, WI
Oct 29, 2011

Birthday getaway

I've stayed at this hotel over many name changes because of the location and price. It can be noisy at night due to the restaurant on the ground floor, esp. if one is on the Ewa side. I prefer the Diamond Head side. The pool is quite small and cannot be accessed from inside the hotel. It does need to be repainted but I found it adequate during the afternoon. The staff was fantastic and friendly. The in-room refrigerator and microwave were a great help with meals and the Food Pantry is only a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy microwavable food for some meals and reduce expenses.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sugarviri
Business
Vista, CA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

great location, great hotel

walking distance to Waikiki beach, the only downside are the hookers walking up and down the street infront of the hotel. other than that it was a great experience, we booked the deluxe room that was in the 11th floor with a balcony with partial ocean view. the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Diamond Head is about 15 min bus ride away. it is cheaper to do it yourself rather than with a tour company. the bus ride from the waikiki hotel area is only $2.50 one way and the charge is $1 to enter the reservation.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ross F
Business
Whitehall, MI, USA
Oct 17, 2011

One night lay over

This was just a one night lay over but it was the second time we have stayed at the Aqua Wave and it has been a good stay both times. This time we were located on the second floor over looking the alley and International Market. It is Waikiki and it is busy all night so the noise could be a problem if the stay is for more than one night. I would suggest asking for a room on the opposite side from the alley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgpg
Business
Kent, WA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

great for the price

it was a nice stay, we stayed a week and really enjoyed it. the staff was great, the room was clean, the beach was just a short walk away, great food places nearby. there's a club next door so if you are a light sleeper this place might not be for you even though they do supply you with earplugs. but since both my husband and i are not light sleepers the noise did not bother us. great place would absalutely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donj
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Fall Vacation

This was my second stay at this hotel and it was not as good as the first time. At night when I turned on the ligts in the bathroom there were cock roaches. I contacted the front desk and they sent someone to spray, but the roaches were back in a couple of days. The first full day I was there, I returned to my room at 8 p.m., the room had not been cleaned and there were no clean towels. The front desk sent someone to empty the trash and bring clean towers. I had to keep asking for towels and oten the room did not get cleaned until around until 5 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SmithStuff
Business
Poplarville, MS
Sep 24, 2011

Only if your into partying

I booked a room at the Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel on Oahu for one night to attend a Luau while staying on Molokai for the rest of my vacation. The hotel location is right in the middle of the Waikiki Beach city area. If you are the partying type, this is the hotel for you. However, we are not, and the noise kept us up all night. People were screaming and cutting up outside the hotel and outside our door on the sixth floor all night. We constantly heard motorcycles rev up their engines and police/ambulance sirens. The hotel even provides complimentary ear plugs, which makes it difficult to hear an alarm clock when you have a flight out early the next morning. I read that the hotel was noisy, but I underestimated how noisy it would be. If you're going to Waikiki Beach to party, book this hotel because is in the right location for you. Otherwise, find one along the beach or on the outskirts of Waikiki. Better yet, go to Molokai instead and enjoy what Hawaii truly has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Girl
Business
Whittier, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Great location but noisy

The hotel itself was clean but nothing out of the ordinary. The location was the best thing as it was close to everything in Waikiki. But the noise from the bars/nightlife was terrible--'til 4am on Fri-Sun nights. Parking was kind of inconvenient for the high fee and the free WiFi was slow but better than nothing. For the price, it was a decent place to stay as I've seen worse for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want some local food and like rice balls and spam musubis, be sure and try this hidden gem called Iyasume on Koa Avenue in Kings Village. Delicious and cheap!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WmEBrown
Business
Oahu, Hawaii, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Less tahn $80.00, GOOD Deal!!!

I live here on the island (Oahu). The hotel is a nice place, good for my $$$. However I did not receive an Ocean view room, as I should have.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Helicoptor scenic tour of all Islands and visit the town of Haleiwa go go on a SHARK encounter....!!!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catelinn
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Awesome vacation for young couple!

Great and convenient location in Waikiki area for shopping, eating, drinking and going to the beach! The concierge service was also very helpful in being able to book for us some activities and a rental car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top