$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
312 reviews
mother -daughter vacation

the hotel was good. i was in hawaii with my daughter to show her the sites. i used to live in... See full review

  • m.sanchez
  • Aug 20, 2014
Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything. See full review

  • Coolmarc
  • Jul 22, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RBP
Colorado
Jun 3, 2011

Dont take a family

The hotel staff was friendly but that was about the only good thing. Prostitutes are all over on front of the hotel soliciting everyone walking by. There are earplugs provided by the hotel and even on the 12th floor the bars were loud and the garbage trucks started at 6:00AM and did not finish until 7:00AM. the bathroom was tiny, dingy and poorly ventilated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
canada
Jun 2, 2011

"NOT a Boutique Hotel"

Do stay here if you like: 1. A full 20-minutes wait to check in. 2. Rude and unprofessional staff. Check in clerk who don't bother with a simple 'hello'. 3. Music blasting from night clubs on Friday and Saturday nights. Earplug provided by the hotel will not help. 4. No one pick up the phone when call for room service. 5. Indifference concierge. 6. Ladies of the nights soliciting in front of hotel door. There better choices on direct on Waikiki beach in this price range. This is not a boutique hotel. It is located in the city club district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bristol, TN
Jun 2, 2011

Aqua Waikiki Wave

Rooms were cleaned every day. We did the free breakfast and spent lots more money. Guy in charge led us to believe that there was lava flowing into ocean at Hilo -(Big Island) flight which we bought. Not true. We needed to spend the night on the island or book a really late flight to see the lava glow. Also we should have been told to bring a coat. It was very cold at the Volcano National Park. We did the dinner cruise, the circle tour- excellent tour guide named Rocky, the Dole Plantation, the Macadamian plantation, the Germine luau, hiked to Diamond Head twice,saw lost of hula shows, did the Pearl Harbor tour, the Arizona, the Air Museum and Army Museum, rented a car for 2 days- stopped at lots of beaches along the Northshore, went to the flea market at Aloha Stadium on 2 Saturdays, went to the beach and did lots of shopping. Someone at the hotel should have told us about the $1.00 bus fare for senior citizens. They did give us a bus schedule and we finally found out for ourselves. Would like to have known earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilo, Hawai
May 17, 2011

Great Bargain

Clean hotel. Middle of Waikiki. Business center not free but reasonable. Gym was small but had new equipment. Great price for what you got

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Haven, MI
May 17, 2011

We had a great time.

Great location. With our rental car, we were able to go everywhere we wanted. There was a fee for parking the car, but the price seemed pretty typical (we checked around).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationing 32 yr old female
Buffalo, NY
May 17, 2011

Very pleased

Location: I couldn't have asked for better. Hotel Staff: So awesome & personable. The area changes at night. Definately still all hustle and bustle. A club is RIGHT next door. The music and loud people outside didnt bother me, it was the fighting that went on. Luckily, ear plugs really do work. The room had complimentary earplugs on the desk. The Room: VERY clean and updated. Just as the pictures showed. What a relief. I plan on staying up North Shore next time but if i do Honolulu/waikiki area, this will be where i stay. Very pleased with price, location (close to tons of shopping/eating/beach) and quality of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
May 15, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Great hotel for the price. Close to beach and other great attractions in Waikiki. Only downside is Waikiki can be very noisy and you could hear the noise outside at night. Staff was very friendly and honest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kapaa, HI
May 15, 2011

Best Customer Service

The receptionist were friendly, we got along like friends. I arrived at the hotel three hours early, thinking I would be able to get the room as early as possible, but there was a little mishaps, the previous guest who were leaving that day decided they wanted to check out at the latest time. So it was no biggy to me, I asked the receptionist if they would kindly hold on to my lauggage for me, they offered to bring up to the room when it was ready. I decide to go to the store and come back by the time the original check in was, so I arrive, back to the hotel with a different receptionist, He has informed me that the previous guest have decided to check out the next day, in the room I was first assigned, so instead I was offered an upgrade a 3Bed Suite. That was so nice kind of them. The rooms was spectacular and the view was beautiful, mountains and the beautiful city. I never wanted to leave bit I had no choice. Service and descriptions as explained online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazy and Ali's mom
Texas
May 14, 2011

Aloha

4 adults to one room with 2 double beds, plenty of room, beds comfortable, bathroom space adequate, nothing special. Basics provided, soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Room has a microwave, mini refrig, and coffee pot, makes 2 cups. Outside with 2 plastic chairs and table with good views of Diamond Head and some ocean views from the 12th floor. Yes, there was noise day and esp. at night, but staying next to the Market, places with outdoor music and on one of the busiest roads in the area, you have to expect it. Staff friendly and efficient. We were not in the room much, bath, sleep and a little relaxing on the outside porch while others bath, etc... Beach towels provided at the front desk. Close to many resturants, an ABC store and shopping. Beach about 2 city block walk. Staff stored our suitcases before checking time, 3pm and also after 12 noon check out until we left for the airport at 7pm. Good value for the price, we read the reviews and knew to expect noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Look into purchasing a Go Ohau card, if you plan on seeing many attractions, ie Pearl Harbour, Diamond Head, snorkleing, Luali, canoeing, Grand Island tour, etc.. good investment and saved money, only drawback, must make many reservations ahead of time. Most pickups were within easy walking distance from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, WA
May 11, 2011

Not bad for the price

The hotel is Very good for the price you pay. The only thing i didn't like was the elevator was either too slow or not working at all. Other than that nice clean hotel in the heart of Waikiki...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search