$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
528 reviews
very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds. See full review

  • brett sk
  • Jan 27, 2013
Family Vacay

Good location, right in the middle of everything. Just a few blocks away from the beach. Can't wait... See full review

  • Heartyboie
  • Jun 15, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (528)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
528 out of 528
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
imaluckydickens
Maui HI
Aug 30, 2009

Great location,bad parking

Hotel is in a great location, our room was on the ninth floor which gave us a terrifc view.The room was clean but the bathroom needed updating.(it was from the seventies) We ordered the deluxe room and it was not high end or anything. The description of this place is a little misleading if you ask me. I would have paid more to stay in one of the high end hotels looking back. This is an old hotel building that was updated at some point. They charge you $20 per night to park and the garage is tiny and fills up before 6pm, then they send you to another hotel to park. Fun! If I had read all this I wouldnt have stayed here. They also automatically sign you up for the newspaper to be delivered. Why not ask me first? Slick. I will close in saying the staff was really friendly and polite. Especially the maids. They would always say hi and smile and make you feel like you were somewhere special. They should be up at the front desk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We saved a lot by eating at places like the Cheesecake factory one block over from the hotel. It had a gorgeous interior and really good food, with prices that wont give you a heart attack.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Petrozavodsk, Russia
Oct 7, 2010

Good budget solution for youth

Quite large rooms with 2 queen beds, clean, well kept. Interior and furniture are a little old, wi-fi is extremely slow, works only on mornings. Even on the 10th floor it was noisy in nights from the nearby clubs till ~ 2 am. But if you go there too - it doesn't matter. Staff don't really care about you, but if you got a problem like a plugged sink and bath tub - it gets solved quite fast. Overall I got what I paid for: a decent place to sleep, and get some rest after a busy day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony0291
Navarre, FL
Jun 20, 2009

Honest rating

You couldn't ask for a better staff. They did all they could to make the stay enjoyable. That said, our room was directly across from the elevator, and on the 9th floor. I expected to hear lots of noise from guests getting on and off the elevator but I also heard many trucks every morning, delivery and garbage trucks. It was far too noisy for my taste. Also, when we checked in, the key wouldn't open the door, and we were waiting for about 15 minutes to get in our room after a long flight. The hallway wasn't air conditioned, so we felt miserable. In another room my mom had, anyone could just open the door. It couldn't lock. Finally, the bathroom was tiny, with the sink in the same room. The shower had very strong pressurem which forced the curtain on us during showers. I think a bowed curtain rod would have helped. Parking was $20 a night and it was a tight squeeze most of the time. When it was full, I'd have to park at another hotel 2 blocks away. Parking was as much as $35 a night in some places. Restaurants wouln't validate parking, so you'd be better off walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car if you're going to Waikiki. It's not needed and a waste of money. For day trips away from the area, you can rent a car at Enterprise which is very close and return it the same day. Taxis, shuttles and busses will work fine for most travel not in walking distance. My mom has trouble walking, so we drove to a nearby restaurant. Parking was $15 after tip, a taxi was $7 and a lot less stressful. Of course walking was less than 10 minutes---if you're able to.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ryan P.
Riverside, California
May 3, 2013

Oahu couples getaway

This hotel is an old boutique style business. The hotel is pretty clean, although mold is an issue. The staff are wonderful. Gabriel and Isaac could not have been more helpful, and saved us money on our adventures. Don't expect the rooms to be extraordinary, because they could use some serious remodeling. Great place for saving money, just don't expect it to be quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame Udon and Subway are across the street. For budget friendly dining, I would strongly suggest these two establishments.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gattina
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 24, 2012

Simple Hotel at Affordable Price

I got this the day of -- so perhaps that explains why it was only $78 or so. The hotel is simple but provides all you need. It's also attached to a Chinese restaurant (which I've never seen in a non-Chinese hotel before).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

House Without a Key, Halekulani Hotel

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, WA
May 11, 2011

Not bad for the price

The hotel is Very good for the price you pay. The only thing i didn't like was the elevator was either too slow or not working at all. Other than that nice clean hotel in the heart of Waikiki...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abaaz
Nome, Alaska
Mar 16, 2012

Adventure Hawaii

They first put my buddy and I in a 2nd floor room with a view of the garage wall and a single bed. We went back and told them that was not going to work, that we'd booked for 2 beds. They put us in a decent room on the 7th floor that was much much better than the lower level room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off the beaten path for less expensive better food; also look for those $15 all you can eat buffets, much better food and more of it.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Affordable, Clean and Great Location!!

Although a little small and old building structure, the interior was very well furnished. The location was so covenient considering this is a very affordable hotel. It can be a little noisy at night with all the clubs and mid-night activities going on til late everynight. But in general the moeny was very well spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 4, 2010

AQUA Waikiki Wave

The AQUA Waikiki Wave was a very nice hotel, the room was clean and it was worth the cost. If you are on a budget this is the hotel is for you! It was a short walk to the beach and also near many dining options. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jan 9, 2010

Excellent location and price

I liked the location of the place - only about a 10 min walk from the beach, and lots of food and stalls right next door. Also, complimentary beach towels. Bad part: bad house keeping. Of the week that I stayed there, they didn't replace the shampoo, soap, coffee/tea, conditioner, etc for about 5 days. The shampoo and conditioner was also very weak and watery. Another bad thing is the noise level! I can hear garbage trucks by 5-6am and the bar next door is crazily loud. It kept me awake all night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top