$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
315 reviews
mother -daughter vacation

the hotel was good. i was in hawaii with my daughter to show her the sites. i used to live in... See full review

  • m.sanchez
  • Aug 20, 2014
Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything. See full review

  • Coolmarc
  • Jul 22, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 14, 2011

Very nice friendly, helpful staff

Very nice friendly, helpful staff members, clean, tidy, gym would need a little upgrade. Higher floor recommended for the little noise coming thorough the neighbouring night-clubs. Would recommend and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgpg
Business
Kent, WA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

great for the price

it was a nice stay, we stayed a week and really enjoyed it. the staff was great, the room was clean, the beach was just a short walk away, great food places nearby. there's a club next door so if you are a light sleeper this place might not be for you even though they do supply you with earplugs. but since both my husband and i are not light sleepers the noise did not bother us. great place would absalutely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donj
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Fall Vacation

This was my second stay at this hotel and it was not as good as the first time. At night when I turned on the ligts in the bathroom there were cock roaches. I contacted the front desk and they sent someone to spray, but the roaches were back in a couple of days. The first full day I was there, I returned to my room at 8 p.m., the room had not been cleaned and there were no clean towels. The front desk sent someone to empty the trash and bring clean towers. I had to keep asking for towels and oten the room did not get cleaned until around until 5 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SmithStuff
Business
Poplarville, MS
Sep 24, 2011

Only if your into partying

I booked a room at the Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel on Oahu for one night to attend a Luau while staying on Molokai for the rest of my vacation. The hotel location is right in the middle of the Waikiki Beach city area. If you are the partying type, this is the hotel for you. However, we are not, and the noise kept us up all night. People were screaming and cutting up outside the hotel and outside our door on the sixth floor all night. We constantly heard motorcycles rev up their engines and police/ambulance sirens. The hotel even provides complimentary ear plugs, which makes it difficult to hear an alarm clock when you have a flight out early the next morning. I read that the hotel was noisy, but I underestimated how noisy it would be. If you're going to Waikiki Beach to party, book this hotel because is in the right location for you. Otherwise, find one along the beach or on the outskirts of Waikiki. Better yet, go to Molokai instead and enjoy what Hawaii truly has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Girl
Business
Whittier, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Great location but noisy

The hotel itself was clean but nothing out of the ordinary. The location was the best thing as it was close to everything in Waikiki. But the noise from the bars/nightlife was terrible--'til 4am on Fri-Sun nights. Parking was kind of inconvenient for the high fee and the free WiFi was slow but better than nothing. For the price, it was a decent place to stay as I've seen worse for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want some local food and like rice balls and spam musubis, be sure and try this hidden gem called Iyasume on Koa Avenue in Kings Village. Delicious and cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WmEBrown
Business
Oahu, Hawaii, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Less tahn $80.00, GOOD Deal!!!

I live here on the island (Oahu). The hotel is a nice place, good for my $$$. However I did not receive an Ocean view room, as I should have.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Helicoptor scenic tour of all Islands and visit the town of Haleiwa go go on a SHARK encounter....!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catelinn
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Awesome vacation for young couple!

Great and convenient location in Waikiki area for shopping, eating, drinking and going to the beach! The concierge service was also very helpful in being able to book for us some activities and a rental car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny,ny
Aug 26, 2011

Loud but fine

Right above the clubs, though the view was nice. there are better, but good for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wahini Wannabe
Business
Grove City, OH
Aug 23, 2011

Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel

The hotel was very nice and exactly what we wanted. Clean, large room, 2 balconies (we didn't even request a balcony, so that was nice!), all the features we expected and everything worked fine. The hotel staff was professional and courteous, very friendly and helpful. The desk clerks, the concierge, and the housekeeping staff were great. The hotel is a short walk from Waikiki beach. The International Market Place is right beside the hotel. We enjoyed shopping there several times. We liked the location for shopping and restaurants. There are dozens of fine restaurants in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Do go to Germaine's Luau for a fun evening. The food, atmosphere, people, and entertainment are wonderful. We had a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Instructor
Business
Donalsonville, Ga, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Perfect location to everything

The Aqua Wave was not luxurious but it is very nice and location was perfect to everything we wanted to do. It has two very nice gift shops and a very good Chinese restaruant. Next door is a very nice and friendly restaruant and bar called The Big Kahuna. Food is delicious. On the other side, is the International Market Center. It is 10 minutes to the beach and shuttles will pick you up in front of hotel or down the street one block. The people were extremely nice and very helpful. I would definitely stay there again. Hilda (Teri) Hornsby from Ga.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining and shopping was perfect. Everything is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allan Elite Runner
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Worst hotel experience

The hotel was the worst hotel we have stayed in. Parking was a nightmare. The hotel charges $20 per day and they only have 12 parking spots??? At night there is no way you could find a spot. Rooms are not bad. Swimming pool is the size of a bathtub. Front desk staff are very rude and make you feel like you owe them just because the weather is good. Right outside the hotel enterance, all drug deals and prostitution are taking place starting 8 pm. The city view of the room was the roof of the utility level. Everything you want to change is an upgrade. Over all we would never go back to such a hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We could not sleep all night long. It's OK for younger crowd, but not for families with teens and young childerns.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top