$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Navy Mom One
Single
Topeka KS
Jun 1, 2012

Ok for the money

Older hotel that needs updating. Placed a security deposit on bill without telling me. Took over a week to have it removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gimu
Family
Vancouver
May 12, 2012

Excellent room

Room was very comfortable and specious. The 2 balconies were great. Location was right in the middle of all action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoenLo
Couples
Sacramento, CA, USA
May 1, 2012

Couple retreat

My husband and I made a last minute trip to Oahu and stayed at the Aqua Wave. This is a great hotel for couples. This is not a hotel you want to have your children stay at. The reason I say that is due to the clubs and noise form the clubs and the "women of the night" that are right outside on the street. These problems are in no way the hotels fault. It's just not what I would want my children to see. The location is great for going to the international market place and getting to the beach. I also liked that I was just a block down from Denny's. The rooms are very nice but the elevators have a mind of their own!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to know the staff at the hotel. Most have lived on Oahu for a very long time and will help you with anything from tours to wear to get the best tattoo. Great staff and customer service.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauraandfamily
Family
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 11, 2012

good value

We got this room for a good deal, so I would say it was worth it. The room was really clean and nice, and bigger than expected. It's close to everything (right in the middle of Waikiki). We were woken by partying or rowdy neighbors, as mentioned in some other reviews. It comes with wireless internet in the rooms, which I needed. However, the hotel charges $20/day for parking. We ended up parking on the street kinda far away to avoid the charges (maybe 1/2 mile walk), but free street parking can be kinda hard to find. Also, the hotel does not have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gattina
Couples
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 24, 2012

Simple Hotel at Affordable Price

I got this the day of -- so perhaps that explains why it was only $78 or so. The hotel is simple but provides all you need. It's also attached to a Chinese restaurant (which I've never seen in a non-Chinese hotel before).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

House Without a Key, Halekulani Hotel

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YankeeFan23
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Needs something extra

Located just a block off the main strip, this hotel isn't a bad place to stay. Although local kids seem to hang out in the alley way next to the hotel and they can get pretty loud at night. Nice hotel, clean but, lacking that special something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the time sharing orientation. Great discounts are provided for sitting in the meeting and saying no at the end.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abaaz
Nome, Alaska
Mar 16, 2012

Adventure Hawaii

They first put my buddy and I in a 2nd floor room with a view of the garage wall and a single bed. We went back and told them that was not going to work, that we'd booked for 2 beds. They put us in a decent room on the 7th floor that was much much better than the lower level room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off the beaten path for less expensive better food; also look for those $15 all you can eat buffets, much better food and more of it.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ronny koko
Single
boston
Feb 11, 2012

worth the money

2 blocks from waikiki beach great value facilities available to use at all beach hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kfwiwon
Couples
California, USA
Feb 10, 2012

one week stay at Oahu

I enjoyed my 6 night stay at Aqua Waikiki Wave. I recommend this hotel to any budget travelers visiting Oahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
big traveler
Couples
Northern, VA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Xmas escape

Great location with basic accommodations. Convenient for city bus/trolley stops. No amenities. Friendly and courteous staff. An aged facility in need of some structural upgrades that would increase its appeal. Probably better for short stay (1 to 3 days) vs 1 week or longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top