$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
527 reviews
very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds. See full review

  • brett sk
  • Jan 27, 2013
Family Vacay

Good location, right in the middle of everything. Just a few blocks away from the beach. Can't wait... See full review

  • Heartyboie
  • Jun 15, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (527)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
527 out of 527
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaKoya
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Dec 17, 2011

What a surprise!

When we checked in, we were told that they had sold out of the stardard room we reserved.......they gave us a suite with 3 queen sized beds and one of them in a separate space!! Everything was better than expected! Perfect location with walking distance to shops/restaurants. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy the night life, this is perfect so that you can have a good time and not worry about driving back to the hotel.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reiko
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 5, 2011

Great place for short stay

The location is so convenient and easy access to local transportations, walking distance to everywhere: Waikiki beach, shops, restaurants, and many attractions. They gave us a junior suite which was very spacious with two beds. I was aware of the noise of the hotel, and sure it was. The ear plug did not work, and had sleepless nights in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went twice to UDON restaurant on Kuhio across from the Hotel. It is simple Japanese noodle shop, self service. The key is that they make a fresh noodle right in front of our eyes, and cook for the customers. It was so tasty with perfect al dente for Japanese Noodle. On top of that the price was so cheap, maybe the cheapest restaurant we ever went and the best food!!! Everyday, there was a big line in front of the restaurant for the fans. I cann't wait to go back to Honolulu, just for that!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eau Claire, WI
Oct 29, 2011

Birthday getaway

I've stayed at this hotel over many name changes because of the location and price. It can be noisy at night due to the restaurant on the ground floor, esp. if one is on the Ewa side. I prefer the Diamond Head side. The pool is quite small and cannot be accessed from inside the hotel. It does need to be repainted but I found it adequate during the afternoon. The staff was fantastic and friendly. The in-room refrigerator and microwave were a great help with meals and the Food Pantry is only a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy microwavable food for some meals and reduce expenses.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sugarviri
Vista, CA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

great location, great hotel

walking distance to Waikiki beach, the only downside are the hookers walking up and down the street infront of the hotel. other than that it was a great experience, we booked the deluxe room that was in the 11th floor with a balcony with partial ocean view. the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Diamond Head is about 15 min bus ride away. it is cheaper to do it yourself rather than with a tour company. the bus ride from the waikiki hotel area is only $2.50 one way and the charge is $1 to enter the reservation.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ross F
Whitehall, MI, USA
Oct 17, 2011

One night lay over

This was just a one night lay over but it was the second time we have stayed at the Aqua Wave and it has been a good stay both times. This time we were located on the second floor over looking the alley and International Market. It is Waikiki and it is busy all night so the noise could be a problem if the stay is for more than one night. I would suggest asking for a room on the opposite side from the alley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgpg
Kent, WA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

great for the price

it was a nice stay, we stayed a week and really enjoyed it. the staff was great, the room was clean, the beach was just a short walk away, great food places nearby. there's a club next door so if you are a light sleeper this place might not be for you even though they do supply you with earplugs. but since both my husband and i are not light sleepers the noise did not bother us. great place would absalutely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donj
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Fall Vacation

This was my second stay at this hotel and it was not as good as the first time. At night when I turned on the ligts in the bathroom there were cock roaches. I contacted the front desk and they sent someone to spray, but the roaches were back in a couple of days. The first full day I was there, I returned to my room at 8 p.m., the room had not been cleaned and there were no clean towels. The front desk sent someone to empty the trash and bring clean towers. I had to keep asking for towels and oten the room did not get cleaned until around until 5 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donj
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Fall Vacation

This was my second stay at this hotel and it was not as good as the first time. At night when I turned on the ligts in the bathroom there were cock roaches. I contacted the front desk and they sent someone to spray, but the roaches were back in a couple of days. The first full day I was there, I returned to my room at 8 p.m., the room had not been cleaned and there were no clean towels. The front desk sent someone to empty the trash and bring clean towers. I had to keep asking for towels and oten the room did not get cleaned until around until 5 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SmithStuff
Poplarville, MS
Sep 24, 2011

Only if your into partying

I booked a room at the Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel on Oahu for one night to attend a Luau while staying on Molokai for the rest of my vacation. The hotel location is right in the middle of the Waikiki Beach city area. If you are the partying type, this is the hotel for you. However, we are not, and the noise kept us up all night. People were screaming and cutting up outside the hotel and outside our door on the sixth floor all night. We constantly heard motorcycles rev up their engines and police/ambulance sirens. The hotel even provides complimentary ear plugs, which makes it difficult to hear an alarm clock when you have a flight out early the next morning. I read that the hotel was noisy, but I underestimated how noisy it would be. If you're going to Waikiki Beach to party, book this hotel because is in the right location for you. Otherwise, find one along the beach or on the outskirts of Waikiki. Better yet, go to Molokai instead and enjoy what Hawaii truly has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SmithStuff
Poplarville, MS
Sep 24, 2011

Only if your into partying

I booked a room at the Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel on Oahu for one night to attend a Luau while staying on Molokai for the rest of my vacation. The hotel location is right in the middle of the Waikiki Beach city area. If you are the partying type, this is the hotel for you. However, we are not, and the noise kept us up all night. People were screaming and cutting up outside the hotel and outside our door on the sixth floor all night. We constantly heard motorcycles rev up their engines and police/ambulance sirens. The hotel even provides complimentary ear plugs, which makes it difficult to hear an alarm clock when you have a flight out early the next morning. I read that the hotel was noisy, but I underestimated how noisy it would be. If you're going to Waikiki Beach to party, book this hotel because is in the right location for you. Otherwise, find one along the beach or on the outskirts of Waikiki. Better yet, go to Molokai instead and enjoy what Hawaii truly has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top