$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kick711
Business
Pensacola, FL
Sep 7, 2013

Great hotel

Staff and location played a big role in my rating. The staff (from the doorman to the housekeepers) were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great spot. It's walking distance from the beach and good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
local sleeper
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 6, 2013

Nice for the price I paid

I got a good rate on travel site. If I had to pay full price I would have been dissapointed by the loud noise from roof top bars near the hotel at night. They did provide complimentary ear plugs. The staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Red box across the street at food pantry. They have DVD player in room.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janice Casino
Business
Las Vegas , Nevada
Jul 31, 2013

Funtastic!

I'd like to say everyone was helpful and informative. My only complaint is parking. The hotel guests should not be charged so much for parking. I'd return but without a car. Needs more power outlets. Good job staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fussy old guy
Business
Santa Clara, California
Jun 20, 2013

Excellent value and simple comfort

We appreciated the efficient, helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, with gym and newspapers an extra bonus. No meals, but we were in Honolulu, the eating capital of the world and near every stellar hotel and restaurant you could imagine. Buses, taxis and tours on our doorstep. Some pet friendly rooms may be a future benefit too! 10th floor room was consistently quiet despite nearby clubs, elevator did not get stuck even once. We will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the Go Oahu card if you want to see the sights. Yelp helps, restaurant.com and Groupon have some offers. Shopping is big city, though markets have some great food and souvenirs. Macadamia nuts and pineapple are not really touring items, but the beaches, ranches, Lolani palace and Pearl Harbor are memorable (we were too tired for the final night Luau!).

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very sad vacationer
Business
Mississippi
May 23, 2013

Not recommended for too many horrible reasons

We had reserved standard room w/ 2 queen beds for 6 nights stay at Aqua Waikiki Wave. They must have borrowed those website photos b'cz this hotel was not anything like the photo inside and extrior. Missed hotel parking entrace led by a dirty ally w/ stinking dumpsters, made two go arouds. No easy entrance, no slopes nor elevator from parking or street, so we dragged up our suitcases. The hallway smelled like some prostitution/druggies stay kind of place, my daughter said. Followed by an old 50's vintage looking dinky door into a room filled w/ more musty orders, very filthy carpets, we didnt to take off our flip flops. Our room was facing a next parking structures across an another ally, plus curtains didn't close w/o my hair clip... we never enjoyed any views outside balcony. Into a third night, we were woken up by a banging construction noise from a next room. Front desk person said there were water leaks into hotel office in below level which had to be fixed. And into the fifth fourth night, weekend party people were going off til until sun came up. And we were woken up by yet another construction noise coming from other side of wall, and this time was a room renovation. Oh, almost forgot to mention that hotel A/C was out of service due to some emergency repairs for two days. It was not our vacation option to be coped anymore. We needed to be rescued out of this outdated hotel before the room floor falls apart in our sleep. So they moved us to an another hotel of theirs and into a suite room w/ better service minded people. Although it was only for last one night of our vacation, yet it made a nice wrap up on ending. In conclusion, DO NOT STAY THERE unless otherwise you want it to ruin your sweet Hawaiian vacation!!! We want our money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hellobamba
Business
Seoul, South Korea
May 5, 2013

Reasonable hotel.

I stayed for 3 nights. This hotel's price was reasonable. The room was clean every day and it's located not far from waikiki beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

marukame udon

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ryan P.
Business
Riverside, California
May 3, 2013

Oahu couples getaway

This hotel is an old boutique style business. The hotel is pretty clean, although mold is an issue. The staff are wonderful. Gabriel and Isaac could not have been more helpful, and saved us money on our adventures. Don't expect the rooms to be extraordinary, because they could use some serious remodeling. Great place for saving money, just don't expect it to be quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame Udon and Subway are across the street. For budget friendly dining, I would strongly suggest these two establishments.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waikiki
Business
waikiki
Apr 24, 2013

hotel

elevator is slow is in a noisy area but it's next to everything right by the beach and market good price if you don't mine the outdated carpet and bathtub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
varnadoarellano
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Enjoyed our stay

This was my second visit. Wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful Love the central location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicoleyu
Business
Atlanta
Mar 11, 2013

Good

Totally aqua wave is a good hotel in this price. It's near the Waikiki beach and some restaurants, international market, bars and club, convenience to shopping eating and for fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International market.

Back to menu Return to top