$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very sad vacationer
Business
Mississippi
May 23, 2013

Not recommended for too many horrible reasons

We had reserved standard room w/ 2 queen beds for 6 nights stay at Aqua Waikiki Wave. They must have borrowed those website photos b'cz this hotel was not anything like the photo inside and extrior. Missed hotel parking entrace led by a dirty ally w/ stinking dumpsters, made two go arouds. No easy entrance, no slopes nor elevator from parking or street, so we dragged up our suitcases. The hallway smelled like some prostitution/druggies stay kind of place, my daughter said. Followed by an old 50's vintage looking dinky door into a room filled w/ more musty orders, very filthy carpets, we didnt to take off our flip flops. Our room was facing a next parking structures across an another ally, plus curtains didn't close w/o my hair clip... we never enjoyed any views outside balcony. Into a third night, we were woken up by a banging construction noise from a next room. Front desk person said there were water leaks into hotel office in below level which had to be fixed. And into the fifth fourth night, weekend party people were going off til until sun came up. And we were woken up by yet another construction noise coming from other side of wall, and this time was a room renovation. Oh, almost forgot to mention that hotel A/C was out of service due to some emergency repairs for two days. It was not our vacation option to be coped anymore. We needed to be rescued out of this outdated hotel before the room floor falls apart in our sleep. So they moved us to an another hotel of theirs and into a suite room w/ better service minded people. Although it was only for last one night of our vacation, yet it made a nice wrap up on ending. In conclusion, DO NOT STAY THERE unless otherwise you want it to ruin your sweet Hawaiian vacation!!! We want our money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hellobamba
Business
Seoul, South Korea
May 5, 2013

Reasonable hotel.

I stayed for 3 nights. This hotel's price was reasonable. The room was clean every day and it's located not far from waikiki beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

marukame udon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ryan P.
Business
Riverside, California
May 3, 2013

Oahu couples getaway

This hotel is an old boutique style business. The hotel is pretty clean, although mold is an issue. The staff are wonderful. Gabriel and Isaac could not have been more helpful, and saved us money on our adventures. Don't expect the rooms to be extraordinary, because they could use some serious remodeling. Great place for saving money, just don't expect it to be quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame Udon and Subway are across the street. For budget friendly dining, I would strongly suggest these two establishments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waikiki
Business
waikiki
Apr 24, 2013

hotel

elevator is slow is in a noisy area but it's next to everything right by the beach and market good price if you don't mine the outdated carpet and bathtub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
varnadoarellano
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Enjoyed our stay

This was my second visit. Wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful Love the central location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicoleyu
Business
Atlanta
Mar 11, 2013

Good

Totally aqua wave is a good hotel in this price. It's near the Waikiki beach and some restaurants, international market, bars and club, convenience to shopping eating and for fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wave reviewer
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Feb 10, 2013

Better than expected

Friendly staff; located a couple of blocks from Waikiki beach and a block from the good shopping strip. Very clean and spacious room; comfortable bed/pillows. Rooms have balcony with seating. For the price, this place is a good deal and I am particular about where I stay. I slept well since it was quiet even though the hotel is in the middle of a crowded area. I had a car since I wanted to see the island and was staying other places --parking is expensive. If you are planning on staying in the Waikiki area, do not get a rental car, just walk or use the bus system. Get a four day bus pass - cheaper than paying for each ride. Good luck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Have an early dinner during happy hour 3-6 pm because meals and drinks are cheaper during this time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Waikiki4u
Business
Wish it were Hawaii
Feb 5, 2013

Review of my stay

The pros: the staff were excellent in treating me as if I were the only customer they had. Room cleaning occurred daily and nothing was missed or short changed. The location is great, one block from the beach and next shopping centers. The cons: The facility is circa 1960s/1970s. And the rooms need an update. Parking is an option but limited spaces available. I would return to this hotel solely because the service was so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moderate Traveler.
Business
California
Jan 30, 2013

Good Value...

Great no frills hotel in good location. Parking expensive, but probably the same as anywhere in Waikiki

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brett sk
Business
s.korea
Jan 27, 2013

very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top