$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner of San Diego
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Deep Sleep

The beds are so comfortable, extra blankets in case it gets to cold, and plenty of soft pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you decide to stay in a Waikiki hotel, I recommend Aqua Waikiki Wave. Not much parking but the price is only $25 a day.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honeymooner
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Honeymoon

My husband and I went to Hawaii for our honeymoon, and since we figured we'd be out and about most of the time, we just wanted something simple and clean. Aqua wave is old, but we gave it a chance. The carpet is grungy. Just walking to the room you could tell what it would be like. The bathtub had hair in it which meant it hadn't been cleaned, the light and towel rack were rusted, there are two plastic chairs on our balcony overlooking construction, and also one of the two elevators were broken, and there wasn't any stair access except the fire escape which obviously we couldn't use. Our room was cleaned (beds made and more shampoo put out) everyday but one. We weren't really sure why it wasn't either. Maybe because we asked for more towels that day? Idk. Also they charge $25 a night for parking. On the plus side, the location is nice. Right by two bus stops and within walking distance to the beach and restaurants. Our last night we moved to the Hilton as a present from my brother. If you can afford it, go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try taking the bus. It's $2.50 a person but will save you a ton, and it goes to places like Haunama Bay, Diamond Head, and Arizona Memorial. Just taking a cab to the airport was $40.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner of San Diego
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Deep Sleep

The beds are so comfortable, extra blankets in case it gets to cold, and plenty of soft pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler5335
Business
California
Dec 1, 2014

Dirty, dated, and overlooking a massive construction site

I'm a super easy, laid back traveler, and this place was sending out red-flags from the start. Rude check-in clerk was throwing hidden fees at me from the start (deposit and daily 'hospitatlity fee'), room is surface, cosmetic fixes over old and dated hardware and disgusting carpeting. Hotel overlooks a MASSIVE HIGH RISE ACTIVE CONSTRUCTION PROJECT two-blocks wide that is as LOUD as it is ugly. In the midst of booking a room (on a competitor that starts with E) somewhere else and eating the cost, just to get out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NA for me
Business
Prescott, AZ
Nov 29, 2014

Great vacation

The staff was excellent, very friendly and professional. Isaac helped us a lot with our computer needs. We liked the coffee and water in the lobby. The only thing better would have been a continental breakfast in the morning. I know some of the Aquas have fruit and sweet rolls. We like the size of the room and this time we were in room 1218 which was way quieter than our last visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the coupon books, they help a lot on finances. Use The Bus, cheap island travel if you don't mind taking a little longer to get to places, they go everywhere, even to Leonard's bakery (yum). The shuttle from the Aqua to Ala Moana mall takes too long, take The Bus.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Popolo Pua
Business
Washington, D.C.
Nov 16, 2014

Clean, Functional, Good Waikiki Location

The rooms were clean and the staff was great. The location is two block from the beach, but that wasn't an issue for us. We were glad we paid the extra money for a room on a higher level because Waikiki Market Place was loud at night. However, it's been closed down, so you may not need the upgrade. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
m.sanchez
Business
roselle, nj
Aug 20, 2014

mother -daughter vacation

the hotel was good. i was in hawaii with my daughter to show her the sites. i used to live in hawaii many years ago and liked it so much that when my daughter turn 15 that was her birthday gift. again the hotel was very good, staff friendly and knowleable, room was confortable and clean and the location was very good was at the beach eveery day. stores and rests. acroos the street. very convinient. thank you for good memories

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

location

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coolmarc
Business
North hills, California
Jul 22, 2014

Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese food

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
docsato
Business
los angeles
Jul 8, 2014

Convenient

No extra thrills/frills.Close to Waikiki beach. Staff friendly. Maintenance responded very quickly for Television replacement etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Figure out the parking situation-$25 per day if you can find a spot or $20 next door but no in/out ability.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heartyboie
Business
San Diego, Califirnia
Jun 15, 2014

Family Vacay

Good location, right in the middle of everything. Just a few blocks away from the beach. Can't wait until they completed the new International Market place. I would definitely go back and stay at Aqua Waikiki Wave again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top