$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucas C.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

so so

The hotel was well located in the shopping area but there were to many hidden fees and they forgot to mention there is a huge construction site next door so you won't be able to sleep past 7am. In all honesty i probably could of stayed at a nicer hotel and spent the same amount by the time they were done adding all of their hidden fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhian C.
Business
N/A
Jan 8, 2015

Great time with family

We had a great time and were very comfortable in this hotel. The staff offered us an upgrade on the room for a very low price (there were 4 adults, so this was a welcome upgrade). Because of this, we were a lot more comfortable than we would have been. Parking was a bit of an issue because there were two disabled people in our party. The parking garage is down a set of stairs (no elevator available), and due to construction next door and a general lack of parking at the hotel, we had to park a block away for one of our two nights. This was mostly an inconvenience for us, but if there were someone in our group that truly could not do stairs, they would not have made it into the lobby. Otherwise, the view was great, the staff were friendly, and the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jose G.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

family trip

the hotel room was nice, however the parking was very limited.The hallways need some updating but the room was clean and presentable. The staff was courteous and helpful. Hotel is close to lots of shopping and walking distance to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner of San Diego
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Deep Sleep

The beds are so comfortable, extra blankets in case it gets to cold, and plenty of soft pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you decide to stay in a Waikiki hotel, I recommend Aqua Waikiki Wave. Not much parking but the price is only $25 a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honeymooner
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Honeymoon

My husband and I went to Hawaii for our honeymoon, and since we figured we'd be out and about most of the time, we just wanted something simple and clean. Aqua wave is old, but we gave it a chance. The carpet is grungy. Just walking to the room you could tell what it would be like. The bathtub had hair in it which meant it hadn't been cleaned, the light and towel rack were rusted, there are two plastic chairs on our balcony overlooking construction, and also one of the two elevators were broken, and there wasn't any stair access except the fire escape which obviously we couldn't use. Our room was cleaned (beds made and more shampoo put out) everyday but one. We weren't really sure why it wasn't either. Maybe because we asked for more towels that day? Idk. Also they charge $25 a night for parking. On the plus side, the location is nice. Right by two bus stops and within walking distance to the beach and restaurants. Our last night we moved to the Hilton as a present from my brother. If you can afford it, go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try taking the bus. It's $2.50 a person but will save you a ton, and it goes to places like Haunama Bay, Diamond Head, and Arizona Memorial. Just taking a cab to the airport was $40.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner of San Diego
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Deep Sleep

The beds are so comfortable, extra blankets in case it gets to cold, and plenty of soft pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler5335
Business
California
Dec 1, 2014

Dirty, dated, and overlooking a massive construction site

I'm a super easy, laid back traveler, and this place was sending out red-flags from the start. Rude check-in clerk was throwing hidden fees at me from the start (deposit and daily 'hospitatlity fee'), room is surface, cosmetic fixes over old and dated hardware and disgusting carpeting. Hotel overlooks a MASSIVE HIGH RISE ACTIVE CONSTRUCTION PROJECT two-blocks wide that is as LOUD as it is ugly. In the midst of booking a room (on a competitor that starts with E) somewhere else and eating the cost, just to get out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Popolo Pua
Business
Washington, D.C.
Nov 16, 2014

Clean, Functional, Good Waikiki Location

The rooms were clean and the staff was great. The location is two block from the beach, but that wasn't an issue for us. We were glad we paid the extra money for a room on a higher level because Waikiki Market Place was loud at night. However, it's been closed down, so you may not need the upgrade. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
m.sanchez
Business
roselle, nj
Aug 20, 2014

mother -daughter vacation

the hotel was good. i was in hawaii with my daughter to show her the sites. i used to live in hawaii many years ago and liked it so much that when my daughter turn 15 that was her birthday gift. again the hotel was very good, staff friendly and knowleable, room was confortable and clean and the location was very good was at the beach eveery day. stores and rests. acroos the street. very convinient. thank you for good memories

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coolmarc
Business
North hills, California
Jul 22, 2014

Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top