$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
312 reviews
mother -daughter vacation

the hotel was good. i was in hawaii with my daughter to show her the sites. i used to live in... See full review

  • m.sanchez
  • Aug 20, 2014
Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything. See full review

  • Coolmarc
  • Jul 22, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Oct 3, 2008

Decent place to stay with great Aloha.

The location was great, very easy walking distance to most things in Waikiki. The beach was only a block away, and the staff were very aloha friendly. If you like shopping, there was a ton nearby. The hotel was definately old. Their recent renovations were just skin deep. The hotel rooms look nice. Everything had a worn quality to it. In addition, it was a bit noisy. I'm not a light sleeper, but the construction and the early morning (4-6am) ruckus outside was disturbing. The hotel gives you one set of earplugs. Club and street traffic were present, but it didn't really bother me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't dine nearby. The local eats were tourist traps, especially the Big Kahuna. THe food was awful. The Pho place across the street was good, and the breakfast place next to the right side ABC store (upstairs) was decent. The rest we tried were horrendous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, Nevada
Apr 30, 2011

Best Location

We stayed most of the time relaxing in the room, I like the room space, I love the Hotel location it's close to everything, we didn't even rented a car. The only thing is we called housekeeping a few times they said yes, but nobody showed up. A day before we left that's the only time they fixed the room, they did not change the linen for the six day that we stayed there. This is our first time to go to Hawaii, overall we had an awesome time, wish to come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is more expensive get a booklet coupon, it's available everywhere, the shopping center at the International Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville KY
Oct 25, 2010

Great Deal on a hotel in Waikiki

Hotel is an older hotel that has been redone. It was immaculately clean. The rooms were a little small for an 8 day stay so we upgraded to a suite on the 10th floor corner room for a mere 10 dollars more per day. There were 3 Queen beds in the room even though we were only a party of 2. It was a huge suite with chairs, 2 lanais, a nice sized bath, fridge and microwave, coffee pot. 2 flat screens. IT IS A LOUD HOTEL. The street noise comes right in and it can be loud. Sirens etc. Book a higher floor to minimize noise. There was live music every ngiht at the international market right out the door but it shuts down pretty early. Decent food at the chinese restaurant in the hotel. The other restaurant was called Da Big Kahuna. It was mediocre at BEST. Opt for something else. There are tons of restaurant within walking distance. All in all for the money it is a great hotel. I booked a trip through [...] with rt airfare from Cinci, 8 nights hotel and a rental car all taxes for two people for 2109.00 FOR TWO PEOPLE. It was insanely nice for the money. We went to the Waikiki Outrigger on the beach the last night and stayed on the water. The room was 339.00 plus taxes etc. For the money, the WAVE is a great deal. Parking is 20 dollars a day and the GARAGE is TIGHT.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the hotel. It is 20 bucks a day but you are right there in the hotel. I'd do it before I would park and walk from eleswhere. GET OUT OF TOWN most days and go to the North shore, the Leeward side of the island and the Windward Side. BEAUTIFUL!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christina--Travel fever mom
San Pablo, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Mini family vacation

The front desk personnel were helpful, parking next door was $15 overnight, a walk to the beach and shops. Rooms were nice, but bathrooms were tight. Overall good location and family activities close by :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Dec 14, 2010

Pleasantly Surprised!

Traveling for the Honolulu marathon, I booked the room without knowing much about the area or the hotel but was pleasantly surprised with the nice accommodations! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I got to check in early and they upgraded my room, nice! It was in a great location, close to shops, the beach, and bus stops. The shuttle to the airport ($10) left something to be desired, but it did the job. Really happy with my stay at the Aqua Waikiki Wave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's Hawaiian fusion restaurant (226 Lewers Street) was pricey but *spectacular* food and drinks!! For breakfast, the best ever macadamia nut pancakes were at a place called Eggs and Things (343 Saratoga Road), always a crowd, may be a wait for parties larger than one, get there early!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IndyDwellers
Waikiki Hi
Oct 24, 2010

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel did not have to worry about anything and they were very helpful. The room was very nice and clean. We stayed on the 11th floor and it was not loud at all. Walking to the beach was easy and the let you check out beach towels for free. The view from the balcony wasn't very good but we didn't intend to spend much time looking out the window anyway. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the food court at the International Market and go to the food court in the shopping mall / plaza by the beach. You can get a fruit plate, toast and coffee at the Paradise Cafe for $5.50.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikk81
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Jan 16, 2011

Aqua Wave

We were there on a winter break and we stayed for 13 nights. Plenty of room, clean and friendly staff. Plus the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Duke's Canoe Club. Check it out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bolingbrook, IL
Jun 11, 2010

"Unbeatable location for the price"

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel, right in the heart of Waikiki. We were there for five nights and not only upon arrival for check-in were we warmly greeted at the front desk, but each time either going in or out there was a "Good Morning/Good Evening or Aloha". That made my wife and I feel even more welcome by the fact we were celebrating our 5th yr. wedding anniversary there. We celebrated our honeymoon in Honolulu also. Our room was very nice and clean with plenty of space and a beautiful street view from our window. There is a parking garage below the Hotel and it is a first come first serve basis. Make sure you get a parking permit for your car when you check in. Also there is not a ramp coming out of the garage to the front of the Hotel so you must carry your luggage up the stairs to the first floor level to get to the front desk. Another wing of the lobby has clothing shops, a massage shop, a business center, and an asian restaurant. The one Wednesday we were there, that evening in the lobby there was live music and free wave runner drinks and snacks. We just loved our 5 night stay at the Aqua Waikiki Wave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I ate breakfast at Denny's most mornings which is about a block and 1/2 down on the same side of the street. We tried Duke's restaurant buffet breakfast once in another hotel on the next street over. You name it they had it and very good but a little pricey. The Big Kahuna is next door to the Wave with lunch and dinner specials every day, and open until 4am. Two blocks down across from Denny's is Perry's Buffet,good food all you can eat and reasonable prices. There is also a Chili's within a block of there. Shopping of course you can't miss the ABC Stores. I think their on every block! Which is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, ca
Aug 2, 2010

great hawaii vacation

this place was great for the four of us traveling buddies. perfect place for the 25-35 crowd or anyone that likes to be a blocks distance from a good night life. Will most definitely stay there again if i ever head to Oahu again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right behind the international marketplace..get all your souvenirs here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveller linda
portland oregon
Mar 27, 2011

A good choice if...

The hotel's location is perfect. Parking available, just 1 1/2 blocks from the beach, inexpensive food options near by. A good choice IF you don't mind the noise. I would definately pay the extra for a higher floor. Being on the west side of the building would be even better. So nice to be able to sit out on the lanai. Easy bus and shuttle pick ups. I was surprised how nice the rooms and lobby are since I bought it as a package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great steak plate take out at the FOOD Mart that is just a few blocks east of the hotel, other side of street. A good general grocery, but a great steak take out just inside door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search