$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
528 reviews
very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds. See full review

  • brett sk
  • Jan 27, 2013
Family Vacay

Good location, right in the middle of everything. Just a few blocks away from the beach. Can't wait... See full review

  • Heartyboie
  • Jun 15, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (528)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
528 out of 528
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
omaha nebraska
Apr 22, 2009

Hawaii's little best kept secrect

the staff at the hotel is above the rest, and very helpfull. this is a great location to all the night life and fun during the day, it is also so close to the international market place, you are in there backyard. at night it was real noisy but because of the price the nice rooms and the staff i would stay here every year i go to Hawaii. i loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you will be one block from all the main attractions that Waikiki has to offer, and that is a short walk

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Dec 3, 2009

GREAT DEAL!!

This was a great location and a great deal for price in Waikiki. We were upgraded to the 10th floor suite at no charge when we checked in. Other reviews have complained about noise, but we had no issues with that. Only complaint is the internet (Wi-Fi) is EXTREMELY SLOW! Not even worth it it try and use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of stores and ABC stores as well as International Market right next door. Everything is in walking distance!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Black Cloud
Post Falls, Idaho
Jun 24, 2009

Close to the action of Waikiki.

The staff at the hotel could not have been friendlier. It is in a great location for all the action of downtown Waikiki. Several reasonably priced places to eat in the area. Would recommend the Galaxy Steakhouse. The ONLY thing that bothered me was the parking situation. Most hotels in Waikiki have parking garages that are not cheap including this one. Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are sometimes 2 "ABC Stores" per block. These are good stores to fulfill most every need. Be aware that everything in Hawaii is much more expensive than on the mainland. I paid NINE DOLLARS FOR A GALLON OF MILK!! It's fun there, but be prepared for a lot of sticker shock. Waikiki Beach is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Make sure you ask one of the employees for the shortcut there. The International Marketplace is also right next door.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JnM
Stockton, Ca
Apr 18, 2010

Great location

Great location but noisy because its in the heart of waikiki next to all of the shops and bars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii anytime!!
Seattle, WA
Nov 15, 2010

Very nice but noisy

My sister and daughter and I were there to hang out at the beach and shop mostly so I was looking for the best deal available. This was certainly a good price. I paid a little extra to get a room on the higher floor As the previous reviews said, it was pretty noisy. I think there must be several clubs in the area, it went on until 2 am on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Sunday night was surprisingly quiet. That being said, I had my earbuds so it didn't really bother me much. The room was spacious and clean. The service was good and it was very convenient to any place we wanted to go. For the right price, I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
go there
Business
bremerton, wa
Jun 3, 2009

it was nice

this hotel is in a great location it is by everything i was able to walk everywhere i went

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robstercraw
California
Jul 4, 2012

Waikiki

Don't stay on the fourth floor - our room was infested with a colony of neverending cockroaches. But they gladly moved us to the eleventh floor - where there were no cockroaches. Very friendly staff - free wifi - parking was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

heard singers

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Feb 15, 2010

Great deal. Remember Waikiki is busy!

We wanted something clean, and close to public transportation as we didn't want to hassle with a car. We also needed to keep within our budget. Turns out our friends(locals) were available to drive us around. It worked out just fine for us. Clean, friendly, within walking distance to the beach and lots of shopping. Right on the bus line, if we'd needed it. The staff was terrific. The good part about the location is also the bad part about the location--noise. People are on vacation and want to party. Ear plugs were provided and made all the difference. Beach towels were provided. The room came with fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. That helped us make picnics to take to the beach. If you expect a calm, relaxing, beachfront stay, this isn't it. It is a great place for the price, the comfort, and the access to places. The staff could not have been nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

After hiking up Koko Head Crater, had a lovely foot/leg massage at Barefoot Massage in the lobby of the hotel.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville KY
Oct 25, 2010

Great Deal on a hotel in Waikiki

Hotel is an older hotel that has been redone. It was immaculately clean. The rooms were a little small for an 8 day stay so we upgraded to a suite on the 10th floor corner room for a mere 10 dollars more per day. There were 3 Queen beds in the room even though we were only a party of 2. It was a huge suite with chairs, 2 lanais, a nice sized bath, fridge and microwave, coffee pot. 2 flat screens. IT IS A LOUD HOTEL. The street noise comes right in and it can be loud. Sirens etc. Book a higher floor to minimize noise. There was live music every ngiht at the international market right out the door but it shuts down pretty early. Decent food at the chinese restaurant in the hotel. The other restaurant was called Da Big Kahuna. It was mediocre at BEST. Opt for something else. There are tons of restaurant within walking distance. All in all for the money it is a great hotel. I booked a trip through [...] with rt airfare from Cinci, 8 nights hotel and a rental car all taxes for two people for 2109.00 FOR TWO PEOPLE. It was insanely nice for the money. We went to the Waikiki Outrigger on the beach the last night and stayed on the water. The room was 339.00 plus taxes etc. For the money, the WAVE is a great deal. Parking is 20 dollars a day and the GARAGE is TIGHT.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the hotel. It is 20 bucks a day but you are right there in the hotel. I'd do it before I would park and walk from eleswhere. GET OUT OF TOWN most days and go to the North shore, the Leeward side of the island and the Windward Side. BEAUTIFUL!!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jls2001
Washington, DC
Aug 23, 2012

Great value for a lower-priced hotel

Great location in Waikiki near all the shops and restaurants and beach. Great option if on a budget. Spacious, clean rooms with everything you need to enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Yard House. Good food and terrific beer selection!

Back to menu Return to top