$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
373 out of 373
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wanting value for my buck
Business
SLC, UT
Nov 10, 2009

1st time in Hawaii

The rooms were clean and the maid service employees were very friendly and did a great job. The hotel is just a few blocks from the beach and is surrounded by lots of great souvenir hunting. The external noise is very present even on higher floors (they provide earplugs in the rooms). Another downer is parking. Be prepared to add $25 a day if you have a vehicle. There are many scenic and fun places to visit. We recommend hiking Waimea and visiting Pearl Harbor of course. Be aware that Hawaii is like many other destinations in that you will be approached regularly in many locations (even the Dole Plantation) by representatives for timeshare and vacation clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lengthy row of small kiosks right beside the Wave where you can test your haggling skills. Never pay the price they quote as you can get it reduced by half usually.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 16, 2010

Honeymoon

The hotel was clean and because it was our honeymoon we were placed upstairs on the 14th floor. This was very nice of the staff since the hotel is on a busy club, restaurant area. The staff was nice and the cleaning person was sweet. We walked everywhere, we very much recommend the Oahu nature tours but did NOT enjoy the one recommended by the hotel; bike Hawaii it was more expensive and was not as pretty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely the Oahu nature tours were spectacular. The staff is courteous, knowledgeable and take their care about the environment. It was our second tour with them and we loved it. We were convinced by the hotel activities person to go on the bike and hike tour with bike Hawaii.I had explained that I was not a pro bike rider and was told I would be okay. The bike tour started late and when they saw I was not going to go super fast I was told to sit in the van. I paid 55 dollars per person for that bike tour and it was not worth my money. They also tell you the area for the hike is a private area and it is true, it is because it is abandoned and neglected, no one wants to go there. I also couldn't hear the tour guide half the time (steer clear!!!) and peddle your way to Oahu Nature tours!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WmEBrown
Business
Oahu, Hawaii, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Less tahn $80.00, GOOD Deal!!!

I live here on the island (Oahu). The hotel is a nice place, good for my $$$. However I did not receive an Ocean view room, as I should have.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Helicoptor scenic tour of all Islands and visit the town of Haleiwa go go on a SHARK encounter....!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aqua wave
Business
san jose,ca
Sep 15, 2009

Hawaii Vacation

First trip to hawaii. Good experience with hotel; other than slow elevators. Could be a little bigger, but overall pretty good service and decently clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

INTERNATIONAL MARKETPLACE is right next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Aug 16, 2010

Oahu hotel noisy

Nice hotel, rooms are well kept and roomy, had problem with bath room, water leak from above was fixed, my biggest complaint the noise from outside is unbelievable even at 3am, needed ear plugs at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't visit Hanauma Bay, to expensive, not worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
utah
Jun 1, 2009

Good Hotel

Nice hotel . Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Noisy at night though. Lots of noise from streets down below but it is in downtown party capital of Hawaii. Doors are very noisy when they close, so if you have neighbors coming in and out of their room at night good luck sleeping. They do provide you with earplugs though. Parking is rediculus. They charge an extra $20 a day to park there. What a ripoff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Srinivas Reddy
Business
Dublin, OH
Aug 11, 2009

Good location

Best thing about this hotel are good location and friendly hotel staff. This hotel is located next to Waikiki trade center where lot of restaurants and stores are located. Famous International Market Place is just behind the hotel where you can find lot of things much cheaper (negotiate 30-50% less price!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Food Pantry, International Market Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Apr 8, 2010

Great Location, Sleepless Nights.

I read reviews about this hotel prior to booking my trip. The complaints were mainly about the noise coming from the club that neighbors this hotel. Unfortunately, the reviews were right. The location of this hotel was the best thing. The price I had to pay for the location was loss of sleep due to the loud music and crowds outside the hotel. It was easy to get around and the bus stop near the hotel made the return to my stay much more easier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The buses in Waikiki are VERY CONVENIENT! I'm from Southern California and I drive everywhere. i.e., I don't travel by bus. Conquering the bus was not as difficult as I thought it would be thanks to my Droid Google Maps App. A 4-day bus pass is $25 and comes in handy if you plan on getting around, especially if you're under 25 years of age and have a difficult time renting a car like I did; the rental was too expensive. I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Girl
Business
Whittier, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Great location but noisy

The hotel itself was clean but nothing out of the ordinary. The location was the best thing as it was close to everything in Waikiki. But the noise from the bars/nightlife was terrible--'til 4am on Fri-Sun nights. Parking was kind of inconvenient for the high fee and the free WiFi was slow but better than nothing. For the price, it was a decent place to stay as I've seen worse for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want some local food and like rice balls and spam musubis, be sure and try this hidden gem called Iyasume on Koa Avenue in Kings Village. Delicious and cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cinema Professor
Business
Columbia, SC
Oct 8, 2009

The Price Is Right, But It's Surprising!

The Aqua Waikiki Wave is showing its age, but the location is a major plus. The pool area is not only small, but it's also sandwiched in the rear of the hotel and only accessible by a set of metal stairs which means if you're a guest with a handicap, the pool is essentially unavailable. You should also know there's a very good reason why each room comes with ear plugs as the neighboring clubs run full blast until 4 a.m. every evening. The front desk staff are efficient and good natured. If you ask a question, you'll receive an honest answer which is refreshing. We booked one of the up-scale, partial ocean view deluxe rooms. Be prepared to find the bathroom facilities to be very dated and somewhat in need of repair. The "partial ocean view" means one must go out on a small balcony and lean over the railing while looking down a canyon of buildings towards the beach. If you want the beach experience, take the two block walk and visit the beach. If you rent a car, also be prepared to be somewhat frustrated by the very small parking garage under the hotel. You should know the hotel staff also park their cars in this same garage and may well park behind your car which means to take a drive, you may have to ask the front desk or security to have cars moved. The Chinese restaurant in the hotel near the guest elevators is vastly over-priced and the food portions are rather small. We'd suggest going elsewhere for a meal and don't forget that right across the street (Kuhio Avenue) from the Aqua Wave is a 24-hour fast food place. If someone suggests you try the Japanese restaurant located on University Avenue just outside the main entrance to the University of Hawaii, be prepared for small portions and a large bill at the end of the meal. MY first visit to Waikiki in 1969 was far different than this latest visit 40 years later. If you're on a budget, eating in Waikiki can be a very pricey experience. Also due to the numerous night spots near the Aqua Wave, be prepared to see and potentially be approached by young ladies who are "on the stroll" offering hourly companionship which can be a bit disconcerting. Despite these candid comments, it's hard to beat the package deals available at the Aqua Waikiki Wave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Market Place often gets a bum rap as a tourist trap with over-priced merchandise and aggressive vendors. In reality, if one applies a bit of logic and is willing to do some "window shopping" at the various stalls, the prices and available merchandise are very comparable to other shopping locations on Oahu. Let's face facts - Waikiki is not a discount, bargain type of location, so don't expect Wal-Mart prices. The keys at the International Market are: the stores in the middle give better deals than those at the entrances (for example, the same necklaces at the vendors found near the entrances which sell for $5.00 each can be found for $2.50 at those stores in the middle; it was our experience that the cart and kiosk vendors are more aggressive and higher priced, marking their jewelry and other items at almost absurd prices then quickly offering a person a "deal" by chopping the price by as much as 50 percent and then applying a fast-paced sales routine leading a shopper to think a bargain is at hand, but, in reality, seldom matching the prices found in a store front markets; we had a long chat with one of the vendors from whom we purchased a number of items and she shared with us that the smaller the store, the more likely you are to get a lower price as these smaller stores have less overhead costs; and, be wary of the various food stands. Look at the cleanliness of the interior of the stand and the employees who are preparing your snack. Fish-based offerings can be tempting, but could lead some people to a rather uncomfortable, post-dining experience. Also, be mindful that the guys who offer to let their large birds sit on your hand say it's free, but will logically expect a few dollars to "feed the birds." It's very important to remember that these parrots, macaws and other large birds are attracted to shiny things like rings on your fingers and, as we experienced, are not above using their very powerful beaks to attempt to grab a shiny ring which can be very painful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top