$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 12, 2008

very nice room - breakfast is lacking

this is a lovely hotel, conveniently located. Personnel is very nice, room was large and gorgeous (even though it was one of the budget obstructed view rooms), lobby is lovely. Parking is next to hotel for $18/day. I did not use the spa. There are a few downsides which were not too important to me but should be considered depending on what kind of a vacation you're planning. The breakfast is available in a room next to pool - there is limited seating, and limited food choices. the orange juice does not seem to be fresh, but seems more like orange drink. there are apples, bananas, blueberry and bran muffins, coffee and tea and that's about it. No hot food. If you don't want to stay in the room with the food (and it truly is a room, not a dining room. It feels like a hotel room that has had table dragged into it simply to provide the breakfast that European travelers like), the option is to stand outside by the pool, or sit on a chaise lounge by pool (tough to balance your cup of coffee) stand at one of two bar-type tables, or perhaps grab the one table with seats. As you would expect, there are several people having breakfast at the same time, so it's like a milling crowd, all looking for seats and reaching for the same food at the same time. Not great. The other down-side is the pool which is miniscule - almost like a pond! It's pretty, but not for swimming - really for dipping. Lap swimmers would be discouraged as would children who like to swim and play. Oh - the third negative was the fact that although each rooms provides a hookup for computer, the only wi-fi is in the lobby. There are two computers available there, but they are $5/for 19 minutes. A hotel like this should offer free computer use!! Even small hotels offer a computer for free for their guests. HOWEVER! Having warned you about the fairly important downsides, the place is really quite pretty, well-located, rooms are comfy (coffee provided in room). You can cross the street to the gorgeous and amazing beach at the Hilton Hawaiian, and listen to the music they play for guests sinbathing over there. All beaches in Hawaii (ALL) are public, so if you see a fancy hotel on the beach and want to swim or sunbathe there - you are welcome to! So my advice to budget travelers: stay at Aqua - it's a GREAT, bring your computer, eat breakfast out, and use the beach across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

check out the Coffee shop on the corner - cheap and good. all other restaurants are expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 12, 2008

Very far from Shopping

The Aqua Palms & Spa was all right but if you are looking for a fancy hotel don't stay there. The swimming pool is unbelievable small, the breakfast just juice/coffee/apple/banana and muffins, no bread/milk/cheese/ham/butter...... too early as well from 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM. The staff is ok but no efforts at all to help you out. The hotel was a walking distance from shopping area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a 24 hrs restaurant just right next door but the food is no good at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Billings, MT
Aug 8, 2008

Wonderful Aloha Spritit

Staff were very accommodating. Great location. Housekeeper who cleaned my room was very nice and respectful. How I wish I could remember her name. But she did an incredible job. The only thing I didn't like was when a maintenance man was rushing me while a was getting ready to be out of the room because of the new TV installation. That, I didn't appreciate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the Harbor, Beach, Shopping Center. Accessible to everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jul 25, 2008

good value

very comfortable and clean for the price. location is within walking to beach, park and best hotels while not having to pay the high prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

huge park across street. short walk to beach and high end hotels. walk to center is easy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 16, 2008

Too far from the beach

If you want a beach front hotel this is not a place for you. The beach is on the other side. It's walking distance definitely. About 1 LONG block away. An upside to staying at Aqua Palms is that it's away from the raucous. They also have a great dining restaurant and bar right at the corner. They have friendly staff, its very clean, except for some occasional ants on our kitchen counter. The bed was comfy and the view was nice. Try to get a lanai, it makes the stay so much more luxurious, but its definitely not an ocean view. There's breakfast every morning for 2 hours starting at 7:30 a.m. Coffee, juices, muffins, croissants, and fruit is served right next to the pool. Awesome placement of the pool! If you want to tan, the sun is definitely hitting the pool throughout the day. This hotel is full of all kinds of people. Families, couples, groups/teams and singles. I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone who is just looking for a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wailana Coffee House is at the corner of the block. It has a great breakfast. They are super fast at taking out the food and their Mai Tais are fantastic. Cheap and right to the point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 13, 2008

Location

The hotel location is very nice. Walking distance to the Waikiki beach and to shopping centres and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel location is very nice. Walking distance to the Waikiki beach and to shopping centres and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookline, MA
Jun 6, 2008

Good deal hotel

I was staying there with my girl's friend, I would recommend there if you are not spending time at a hotel all day. The outside of the hotel was not too good but inside was really clean and comfortable. It wasn't too big room but enough to comfortable stay after coming back sightseeing or shopping. The breakfast was only some fruits and muffins,some juices, coffee. It wasn't big breakfast but I was mostly going out to eat branch so it didn't matter. So if you are an kind of active traveler, I think it's good deal to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

Cheap place to spend the night

We spent one transitional night at the Aqua Palms Hotel. Our room was right next to the elevators. We could hear them traveling but figured it's only one night. Having already spent a week on a cruise we were happy about being able to do our laundry(coin operated in the parking garage) until we found a woman's purse, camera case, and beach towel in one of the dryers. Front desk at the hotel did not seem concerned in the least and when we inquired in the morning as to what happened, we were informed that the items where placed in the hotels lost and found. Hmmmm. Anyway, our view was nice, we could see the ocean in one direction and I believe it was Diamond Head off in the distance. The room was relatively clean, bed comfortable and clean, robes were provided, as well as a mini fridge and a room safe. My feet were dirty from going out on the balcony barefoot. Would recommend for budget conscious travelers only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1. The restaurant next door had good food and was reasonably priced. 2. Hawaiian Hilton across the street. 3. I think the beach was fairly close but we did not have time to see it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
May 25, 2008

Good location... Dirty Hotel

The location of the hotel was nice. It is located right across the Hilton, which has their own beach front. The hotel itself was horrible. The room was infested with bugs, the room key NEVER worked, you are charged for parking per day. I would not recommend this hotel nor would I stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a local diner right next door that serves a descent breakfast for $5. If you show your room key, you get 10% off your meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lanexa
May 22, 2008

Nice room

The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable, something you dont always find. The hotel was located to many things which was also convenient. The only draw back was as a disabled individual I had to rent a car to get around on my vacation and the price for daily parking was outragous at the hotel. I had friends staying at different places in Wakiki and they all payed 1/4 of what i did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan a whole day or two for shopping, there are that many stores!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top