$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
332 reviews
exactly what I was looking for

Everything I needed in a clean, safe area with friendly helpful staff. Located close to restaurants... See full review

  • Svelt Momma
  • Apr 5, 2014
Excellent hotel

Good Location, hosptality is great, staff is attentive and helpful See full review

  • Blinkky
  • Jan 11, 2014
Value, style and location near Waikiki Beach

The Aqua Palms Waikiki, a boutique property with contemporary style, is another winner in the Aqua hotel family. The hotel is located a block from Waikiki Beach and only a 10-minute stroll to Hawaii's largest shopping mall. Free in-room Internet, plentiful views and plush amenities make it a good choice for couples and families. Business travelers appreciate an on-site business center and close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center.

Highlights
  • Access to the renovated, kid-friendly Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon
  • Complimentary in-room Internet, daily newspaper, local calls and weekly reception
  • Free coffee and tea service in the lobby 24/7
Location

The hotel's location is perfect for travelers looking for more than the Waikiki experience. Guests can walk to Waikiki's best shopping and dining, plus Waikiki Beach. A 10- to 15-minute walk takes you to Hawaii's largest shopping mall, Ala Moana Center, Ala Moana Beach Park and the Hawaii Convention Center.

Aqua Palms Waikiki Rooms

Each cheery room has been renovated and features free Internet and local calls. Rooms with balconies offer views of the city, park, mountains or ocean. All rooms feature 42-inch LCD TV, signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities, AquaBLISS pillowtop beds, mini fridge, air conditioning, microwave, in-room safe and Kona coffee.

Dining

Downstairs, the popular IHOP serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wailana Coffee House, a modest diner located next door, is a local favorite open 24 hours. A block away, Todai offers a grand buffet and Singha Thai Cuisine features Thai dancers and exotic flavors. Cross the street to find 20 big and small eateries, including Benihana and Lappert's Ice Cream.

Recreation
  • Pool with sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Ala Moana Beach Park
  • Ala Moana Center
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

 

 

Aqua Palms Waikiki Rooms

Diamond Head View
Deluxe rooms offer ample space with a 1 King/Queen or 1 Queen-sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 2 nightstands, desk, full-length mirror, 3-drawer dresser, and shower/bath with views of Diamond Head, Ft. DeRussy Park, and the Pacific Ocean. 4 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Intimate and inviting, these rooms feature either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
City View
Ample accommodations offer either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. Most have views of Ft. DeRussy Park and Diamond Head. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Deluxe Junior Suite
Spacious and comfortable, rooms offer a 1 King sized bed, living area with a Queen sized sleeper sofa with coffee table, and separate vanity area. Private lanai provides views of Waikiki or the Koolau Mountains. 4 guests maximum.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Palms Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2847 -157.8367
Area served
Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Pearl Harbor, Ala Moana Shopping Center Downtown Honolulu, North Shore.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Located at the beginning of Waikiki, near Ala Moana Shopping Center and Waikiki Beach!

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

IHOP
Best known for their award-winning pancakes, omelettes and other breakfast specialties, the IHOP restaurant is open throughout the day and evening hours and offers a broad array of lunch, dinner and snack items as well. Featuring moderately priced, high-quality food and beverage items, and table service in an attractive and comfortable atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
80 out of 332
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
Neighbor Island Local
Hilo, HI
Jun 16, 2009

AVOID Aqua Anything!!!

Far from 3 star/3 diamond. This is an average 2 star hotel. It's clean but small and has poor customer service - and my reservation clearly stated that there were 4 people in my party (2 adults 2 kids) yet they gave me a room with 1 queen and a pull out couch. Not what I signed up for!!! They claimed to be booked and would not change my room. They stated they upgraded my view - but upon entering my room I had a view of a pole. What an upgrade! Be prepared to wait forever to catch an elevator as only 1 works and to pay $20/day to park your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
not happy with vacation
san diego
May 14, 2009

Terrible Hotel

Hotel was in the process of renovations. Elevators took forever and the wait times were long (as long as 5 minutes). Parking was extra and was not noted when the trip was booked. Over all experience was bad. Will not be returning to this hotel or booking with orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jan 14, 2010

terrible hotel!

I found couple of (5 or 6) cockroaches in the hotel room which made me dislike it. The rooms are so tiny too..too small for 3 people or more in a room, but if you're 1 or 2 rooms might be ok. bathroom's very small too. You'll have a hard time opening or closing the bathroom door if you're inside. In general it was dirty place. My bed was not flat and level. Every night I rolled down to my right. It had wireless internet, free TV channels, microwave, a little mini-fridge and a porch which are all great. It was 5-7 min walking to the beach. parking $20 a night. free coffee in the lobby which was not even worth tasting it! had awesome staff! No restaurant in hotel and no gym. I recommend paying $30 more a night and go to a better place :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

a chinese shopping center with good prices on Kalakaua passing the convention center to the east. beach is 5-7 min walking. stores open at nights till 10-11 pm..great nightlife

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
Arrly
Oahu
Feb 1, 2010

Not a place to stay

It was awfull.. The room was way to small and the parking charge was to high.. There were bugs in the bathroom and the hot water didn't work at all.. It was a very unenjoyable stay.. I won't be going back there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
Grammybear
San Bruno, CA
Jun 5, 2012

Sadly Mislead

While the hotel staff was reallly great, this hotel is not as it is being described. We requested and paid for a room with 2 queen beds. What we got was 1 queen bed and 1 sofa that turned into a bed. You can guess how comfortable that was! There was also no advance warning that you paid for hotel parking. In our research for hotels to stay at, we looked for the parking costs, and it was not listed. Overall, we would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Attached to this hotel is an IHOP with the most expensive breakfasts that are not worth eating. The toast was burnt, the 2 egg breakfasts aren't 2 eggs. If we had known this was going to be such a disaster, we would have gladly walked several miles to locate ANYTHING that would have been better.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
Mom's Bucket List
St Paul MN
Jan 4, 2011

Nothing spectacular

Booked this hotel because the description said it was accessible. The lobby was, but the room was not (we could just get the wheelchair into the room.) Some of the front desk staff were very helpful; others were not. Hard to find the pool (no info in the room or in the elevator.) Could not access internet from room, but was able to use wireless in the lobby. There is a trolley stop right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Feb 22, 2010

Hotel review

I am a pool person and the pool wasn't heated. Would of loved to do water aerobics in the morning but the water was freezing cold. The room was too small for 2 people. There was not one mirror in the room, just in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jul 13, 2010

You don't get what you pay for

We did not get the room we paid for. We paid for a Diamond head view and bigger room and they did not give us that instead we got a smaller room. We also added another room for additional family that joined us and there were roaches in that room. The bathrooms were not cleaned well and you could see the old dirt in the bathtub. They also do not have the complimentary breakfast anymore as advertised. We had stayed at this hotel last year and found it to be in a good location. The complimentary breakfast was small but good. Our room was clean and we wanted to give it another try because of the location being one block from the beach and everything around Waikiki is within walking distance. I was very disappointed to have experienced it negatively. The hotel staff was friendly even though they made a mistake in our accommodations. They also gave us a small discount. We would have rather gotten what we paid for and was expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is good if you are not planning on spending much time in the hotel. It is close to everything and you can walk to any location.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
phillip jee
Pasadena, california
Dec 12, 2012

complaints

There was a unexpected heavy hotel parking fee of $20 per day. Room's carpet was wet and smelled like meldue from damp water on carpet..wet enough to soak up our socks instantly. Room cleaning service ovelooked our room and did not replaced all used amenties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hilton Hotel across the street has nice atmosphere and setting avialable to all public and beach access from this hotel.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
Mauidude
Kihei, Maui
Apr 6, 2013

Aqua Palms is in a great location

Other than being in a great location close to Ala Moana, Hilton Hawaiian Village, Fort deRussy, Kuhui/Kauakaua Ave the place is just average. Pool is small yet beautiful, lobby is outdated but has all the amenities. Friendly attentive service all around :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Quick walk to Buffalo Wings, Red Lobster, Outback, Ihop, Cheeseburger Island Style, Kobe, Benihana, Charthouse, Wailana 24 HR Diner. Also Ala Moana is about a 15 min walk west. Great spot!!

Back to menu Return to top