$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
342 reviews
Excellent hotel, excellent location

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the aqua palms for a week while we were in Hawaii for a wedding. For... See full review

  • LindsayA
  • Oct 21, 2014
exactly what I was looking for

Everything I needed in a clean, safe area with friendly helpful staff. Located close to restaurants... See full review

  • Svelt Momma
  • Apr 5, 2014
Blending trendy design with authentic Polynesian touches and top-of-the-line amenities, the Aqua brand is a modern answer to the traditional Hawaiian experience. First founded in 2001, Aqua Hotels & Resorts is now home to more than 15 one-of-a-kind properties on four Hawaiian Islands, including the smaller islands of Lanai and Molokai, and an all-suite hotel in Guam. Like all Aqua properties, Honolulu's Aqua Palms Waikiki is a vibrant hotel with a uniquely Hawaiian feel and a contemporary sensibility. Start your day in paradise with a freshly brewed cup of Kona coffee - a local blend from the Big Island - while taking in beautiful views of Diamond Head, the Pacific Ocean or the tropical city landscape. After enjoying a delicious breakfast at the downstairs IHOP restaurant, head outside to explore the city, or schedule a rejuvenating in-room lomi lomi massage.

Key facts
  • Restaurants within Waikiki
  • Covered parking garage
  • Activity desk
  • Waikiki Trolley pick-up stop
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood

Made famous by Hawaiian movies, postcards and posters, Waikiki is the heart of Honolulu and a must-visit stretch of the city. Unique market stalls, high-end retailers, award-winning restaurants and the legendary Waikiki Beach are located steps away from the Aqua Palms hotel. From the beach, walk 15 minutes to experience some of Honolulu's best restaurants, shops and historic attractions. Watch surfers cut across crystal-clear waves, or catch a ride on a Polynesian outrigger canoe to make a day at Waikiki Beach an unforgettable adventure.

Hints and tips
Thursday evening is manager's reception night in the Aqua Palms lobby. Stop by to try the hotel's signature cocktails and listen to the soothing sounds of classic Hawaiian music.

If you don't plan to rent a car, take advantage of the nearby bus line and shuttle to explore Oahu's rural towns and less-crowded beaches.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Palms Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Aqua Palms Waikiki Rooms

Diamond Head View
Deluxe rooms offer ample space with a 1 King/Queen or 1 Queen-sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 2 nightstands, desk, full-length mirror, 3-drawer dresser, and shower/bath with views of Diamond Head, Ft. DeRussy Park, and the Pacific Ocean. 4 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Intimate and inviting, these rooms feature either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
City View
Ample accommodations offer either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. Most have views of Ft. DeRussy Park and Diamond Head. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Deluxe Junior Suite
Spacious and comfortable, rooms offer a 1 King sized bed, living area with a Queen sized sleeper sofa with coffee table, and separate vanity area. Private lanai provides views of Waikiki or the Koolau Mountains. 4 guests maximum.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

IHOP
Best known for their award-winning pancakes, omelettes and other breakfast specialties, the IHOP restaurant is open throughout the day and evening hours and offers a broad array of lunch, dinner and snack items as well. Featuring moderately priced, high-quality food and beverage items, and table service in an attractive and comfortable atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (342)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
342 out of 342
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Jun 30, 2010

Summer Stay

We liked that on Wednesdays they have a customer appreciation event with drinks, massages and great Hawaiian music. iHop and eateries were close by. Staff was really friendly. The rooms were so freakin' small though for a family. We got two rooms and still I felt claustrophobic. Parking was really tight to maneuver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jefferson City, MO
Jul 28, 2009

Comfortable

The rooms were extremely small. Parking was difficult at times. Quite a few spots were reserved and the parking garage was a tight fit in quite a few places. The continental breakfast was good but there was no choices in food and it alternated every other day so you knew exactly what was going to be there. There was no where to sit when you went to breakfast as the area was off the pool. The was an IHOP right next door and several ABC stores if you wanted something different to eat. The staff was all extremely nice and accommodating. The elevaters were fine when we arrived and then they were inspected the enxt day and ran extremely slow the rest of the time. The middle elevater didn't work at all the rest of the week we were there. I was very impressed that the activity hosts were not pushy and rude. They waited until you approached them they didn't try to push anything on you. They were extremely helpful. We rented a car but it really wasn't necessary because the shuttles, trollys and buses stop directly in front of the hotel. The beach that is only a block from the hotel is actually much better than going up the the very busy part of waikiki. By the hotel was all sand, no rocks. Overall, it was nice. If I were to return to Honolulu, I would probably stay across the street at the Hilton but you aren't in your room enough to really worry about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Not necessary to rent a car. Walmart is not that far if you want to go stock up on food for your room. The bus will take you there and back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Dec 7, 2010

Did not get the full upgrade we paid for

We paid for a room upgrade which on the hotels website stated came with a full american breakfast each morning per person. It also stated we would have a balcony with a table and chairs. We received neither[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pearl City, Hawaii
Jul 4, 2011

hotel stay

It was going great until the air conditioner broke in the middle of the night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Hueneme, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Short visit with my boyfriend

I was there to visit with my boyfriend for a short stay of 5 days. I really wanted to have in-room food delivery for dinner that evening, but that was not shown as available. The hotel was in a good centralized location to see the sites in Waikiki. The rooms were kept very clean, but room service didn't arrive until past 2:00pm on a couple days. The complimentary breakfast had several items to choose from, but was definitely like a continental breakfast (no hot food available, like waffles or sausages)...just finger foods and fruit. One of the elevators was being worked on and both of the other elevators were slow to respond. It didn't help when other guests would hold up the elevator on a floor. The parking was very convenient and very secure since it required security access card to get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an excellent Sushi restaurant less than 2 blocks down the road called Todai Restaurant. It may seem a little pricey, but their buffet has TONS of food available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
P-Node
Business
Olympia, WA
Mar 23, 2011

Great hotel if traveling on a budget

Hotel is in a just about perfect location without being on the beach. 4-5min walk to the beach (1 Block), and 5-10 min walk to Waikiki shopping and restaurants/bars. Hotel has the basics with nothing fancy (very small pool and an IHOP). Standard Rooms were not bad, furniture was old and visually worn, and room / bathroom was a bit smaller than expected. Overall good value though,left us more money for activities and shopping, as we did not go to Hawaii to sit in a hotel room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, go to Snappers Bar & Grill about 100-200yards west of the hotel on Ala Moana Blvd. They had a great breakfast special every morning for just under $3.00! Also, some of the best food you will find will come from the Blue Water Shrimp Company, operated out of a blue truck, trust me, its a famous thing in Oahu.Outstanding food at an even greater price, you have to experience this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walled Lake, MI
Sep 6, 2008

somewhat dissatisfied

Had some issues upon check in.Carpet in my room was very dirty,constant leaking faucet in my bathroom noisy constraction trafic horroble elevator took forever hot hollways tiddly end expenssive $18 parking Only great it was comfortable bed Not going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to starbucks and Mcdonald

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
juniortout
Business
pikeville, ky
Feb 22, 2010

it was ok

it was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Holmfry
Business
Vancouver, BC
May 9, 2009

A friendly quiet hotel

We stayed in the Aqua Palms for 7 nights, and after the third night we decided to ugrade our room to a Diamond Head view room. I highly reccommend this upgrade. The view provided some nice ocean and diamond head views, but the biggest reason for the change for us, was the noise from the street. Our room on the third floor was not very relaxing due to the traffic noise, and if it weren't for paying the extra bucks, I think we would have had a much more negative experience over all of this hotel. The staff are very friendly, and the included continental breakfast provides enough pastries, juice, fruit and coffee to get you through to lunch, which is a nice bonus. I was a little dissapointed at the distance to the beach. The stated one block distance is up for debate, as it takes about 10-15 min to walk there. That said, it was nice to get a walk in before and after meals and the area of beach that the hotel is closest to is much less populated than the main strip of Waikiki, and we tended to prefer it for just hanging out and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're struggling to find something healthy to eat, which can be difficult in Waikiki, Wailana Coffee house has a decent all you can eat salad bar. Also, if you don't want to pay the $7 rate for Mai Tai's throughout Waikiki, head over to the lounge attached to the coffee house for a tasty $3.50 mai tai.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 5, 2010

Convenient location

Good location with convenient access to the beach through the Hilton Hawaiian Village complex. They offer a 10 percent breakfast discount at the IHOP downstairs as well as the corner coffee shop. Convenient to rental car companies and several restaurants. Close to the Army Museum that was very interesting. On the down-side: the rooms were moderately noisy; one can hear talking from other rooms and lanais. I definitely recommend requesting a mountain-view room or the street noise from Ala Moana will be another issue! Beds were made daily but attention to details cleanliness-wise could be improved. Staff was pleasant and generally helpful. Generally felt that we got what we paid for and would recommend the hotel for budget travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Visited the Shorebird daily for $3 MaiTai's noon to 5pm. Also good food, friendly staff and right on the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top