$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Vancouver, WA
Dec 7, 2010

Did not get the full upgrade we paid for

We paid for a room upgrade which on the hotels website stated came with a full american breakfast each morning per person. It also stated we would have a balcony with a table and chairs. We received neither[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Pearl City, Hawaii
Jul 4, 2011

hotel stay

It was going great until the air conditioner broke in the middle of the night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Port Hueneme, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Short visit with my boyfriend

I was there to visit with my boyfriend for a short stay of 5 days. I really wanted to have in-room food delivery for dinner that evening, but that was not shown as available. The hotel was in a good centralized location to see the sites in Waikiki. The rooms were kept very clean, but room service didn't arrive until past 2:00pm on a couple days. The complimentary breakfast had several items to choose from, but was definitely like a continental breakfast (no hot food available, like waffles or sausages)...just finger foods and fruit. One of the elevators was being worked on and both of the other elevators were slow to respond. It didn't help when other guests would hold up the elevator on a floor. The parking was very convenient and very secure since it required security access card to get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an excellent Sushi restaurant less than 2 blocks down the road called Todai Restaurant. It may seem a little pricey, but their buffet has TONS of food available.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
P-Node
Couples
Olympia, WA
Mar 23, 2011

Great hotel if traveling on a budget

Hotel is in a just about perfect location without being on the beach. 4-5min walk to the beach (1 Block), and 5-10 min walk to Waikiki shopping and restaurants/bars. Hotel has the basics with nothing fancy (very small pool and an IHOP). Standard Rooms were not bad, furniture was old and visually worn, and room / bathroom was a bit smaller than expected. Overall good value though,left us more money for activities and shopping, as we did not go to Hawaii to sit in a hotel room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, go to Snappers Bar & Grill about 100-200yards west of the hotel on Ala Moana Blvd. They had a great breakfast special every morning for just under $3.00! Also, some of the best food you will find will come from the Blue Water Shrimp Company, operated out of a blue truck, trust me, its a famous thing in Oahu.Outstanding food at an even greater price, you have to experience this!

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walled Lake, MI
Sep 6, 2008

somewhat dissatisfied

Had some issues upon check in.Carpet in my room was very dirty,constant leaking faucet in my bathroom noisy constraction trafic horroble elevator took forever hot hollways tiddly end expenssive $18 parking Only great it was comfortable bed Not going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to starbucks and Mcdonald

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
juniortout
Couples
pikeville, ky
Feb 22, 2010

it was ok

it was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Holmfry
Couples
Vancouver, BC
May 9, 2009

A friendly quiet hotel

We stayed in the Aqua Palms for 7 nights, and after the third night we decided to ugrade our room to a Diamond Head view room. I highly reccommend this upgrade. The view provided some nice ocean and diamond head views, but the biggest reason for the change for us, was the noise from the street. Our room on the third floor was not very relaxing due to the traffic noise, and if it weren't for paying the extra bucks, I think we would have had a much more negative experience over all of this hotel. The staff are very friendly, and the included continental breakfast provides enough pastries, juice, fruit and coffee to get you through to lunch, which is a nice bonus. I was a little dissapointed at the distance to the beach. The stated one block distance is up for debate, as it takes about 10-15 min to walk there. That said, it was nice to get a walk in before and after meals and the area of beach that the hotel is closest to is much less populated than the main strip of Waikiki, and we tended to prefer it for just hanging out and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're struggling to find something healthy to eat, which can be difficult in Waikiki, Wailana Coffee house has a decent all you can eat salad bar. Also, if you don't want to pay the $7 rate for Mai Tai's throughout Waikiki, head over to the lounge attached to the coffee house for a tasty $3.50 mai tai.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Denver, CO
Apr 5, 2010

Convenient location

Good location with convenient access to the beach through the Hilton Hawaiian Village complex. They offer a 10 percent breakfast discount at the IHOP downstairs as well as the corner coffee shop. Convenient to rental car companies and several restaurants. Close to the Army Museum that was very interesting. On the down-side: the rooms were moderately noisy; one can hear talking from other rooms and lanais. I definitely recommend requesting a mountain-view room or the street noise from Ala Moana will be another issue! Beds were made daily but attention to details cleanliness-wise could be improved. Staff was pleasant and generally helpful. Generally felt that we got what we paid for and would recommend the hotel for budget travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Visited the Shorebird daily for $3 MaiTai's noon to 5pm. Also good food, friendly staff and right on the water.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles
May 8, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel is clean and the location is good. 3 stars Hotel. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value for the money

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lihue. Hawaii
Jul 23, 2010

neat and tidy!!

I like the the room's furniture and the design and the view is really nice.. However, the room is quite smaller than other average hotel and the walkway to the door is really tight that it was hard for a smaller type kind of stroller to go through.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top