$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReiseDon
Business
Cape May, NJ 08204, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Tattered but generally clean

The staff have all been very friendly. The room I got for an average of $120/night was tiny. I found out some water front hotels were charging the same, so I felt the value wasn't that great. The room had a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator as well as iron and ironing board. There was a small desk and table and huge flat screen TV. it appears it was upgraded at some point with marble floors in the bath and hall. However, the furniture was worn and almost looked trash picked. There was a tear in my bed sheet but the sheets seemed clean. There are nicks and scrapes in the walls. The carpet looks old and has a huge 2 ft diameter stain by the bed. The hall carpets have definitely seen better days. The lobby area is functional. I chose this hotel due to location and fact they have free WIFI. However, WIFI is only available in the lobby and is VERY slow. Luckily there was a computer connector in the room, but even that was somewhat slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A nearby Japanese restaurant called Chiba-ken is very good and authentic. The beach seems blocked by the Hitlon properties, but it isn't and you can go there. It is a public beach. The Aqua Palms will provide beach towels, too.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeeeR
Business
Pasadena, CA
Dec 15, 2011

Aqua Palms

Disappointed they don't have wireless in the rooms. Clean but a little tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lori Tracy
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 21, 2011

just okay

Location is good. It is easy to go anywhere, such as beaches, Ala Moana shopping center, Kalakaua Ave..But room is not okay. When we arrived in the first day, the sink clogged and water stayed there for like 20 mins. We need to wait for maintenance staff to fix. There is no wireless internet. but ethernet. only in room which means only one person can use internet at one time. not convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
no name please
Business
Maine, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Nice mini vacation

The room was ample for the price, and clean. Nice location - short walk to the beach. The staff was very accommodating. We have no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stitzer
Business
Reading, PA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

OK short stay

We were here only for a few days on a stop over to Kauai and for what we wanted it was OK for the price. A bit out dated but the staff makes up for a bit of this. If you want a place to bunk down for the night and have activities to keep you busy for the day it is OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to alot of local places and right on the bus routes for the area.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TDPman
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Feb 9, 2012

Great Value

Good solid value in a terrific location. If your are looking for chic, this is not it. Room was small, but worked for 3 people for a week. Rooms on quiet side of the building that faces a major street. Rooms have a nice balcony. One of the quitetest places I have stayed in Waikiki. Slept with the balcony slider open on several nights. Only complaint is that the wired internet was slow. That really only matters if you are on business.I would stay here again. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lost the internet connection one day and had a maintenance person at my door in less than 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Purpose Driven
Business
Temple City, CA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Great location at affordable price

The hotel is very nice and the people very friendly and helpful. The room was small but adequate, and you can't beat the price for the location so close to the beach. There were also some good reasonably priced restaurants nearby. They have a small pool but we didn't get to use it because it rained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to shop by far the best place with the best deals was as the flea market on Wednesday, Sat. and Sun. in the Aloha Stadium. You can take the local buses to get there.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wendidave
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Not what I booked.

Booked a partical Oceanview with balcony. Room was small and you could only stand on the balcony and there was no oceanview. Parking is very tight and expensive. Pool is small. Great location close to everything. So if you stay here make sure you are not spending alot of time in your room. The IHOP was good and had specials. Not a fancy place. Was a little disappointed but dealt with it since it was only for 2 nights, we just stayed out all day & night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charper312
Business
Austin,TX
May 5, 2012

The Best Kept Secret for Locals

I'm not sure how tourist would feel because they may be seeking a grand experience. I fly into Hawaii every other month and stay for a week on business. I ALWAYS stay at the Ala Moana but wanted to change things up. My wife encouraged me to try the Aqua Palms. The location is perfect - IHOP below, Red Lobster and Outback Steakhouse across the street. The room was very clean and simple. Parking was GREAT. And that means a lot in Waikiki; I never had to search for a space. The workout room is very tiny but that is the only downside for me. For business travel, perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
george143
Business
Saskatoon, SK
May 7, 2012

Good for the value

Good value for a basic room. Located off the main strip and taking about a 15 min. walk to the center of Waikiki. Quiet and clean. Did not try the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top