$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
352 out of 352
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 15, 2007

Very friendly but needs more bang per buck

This hotel experience could have been so much better with very little effort/investment. Eg: in the high-end suite, which was very nice and roomy, there were only 4 plastic hangers, no luggage racks and coffee, soap,lotion were not replenished daily and there was no Do Not Disturb sign for door so housekeeping staff kept waking us up in a the am. The TV was mounted behind the bed which made it difficult to watch. Did not get wake-up call requested and mistake at front office had us checking out a day earlier which we only found out about from the housekeeping staff. That being said, all the staff was extremely pleasant. The Aqua hotels boast access to the owner providing personal numbers for General Manager and director of guest services as well. As we needed a bigger room and the staff was uncertain as to availability, I called the GM to see if a bigger room was available at another Aqua property. He called back immediately and expedited the request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom's Bucket List
Business
St Paul MN
Jan 4, 2011

Nothing spectacular

Booked this hotel because the description said it was accessible. The lobby was, but the room was not (we could just get the wheelchair into the room.) Some of the front desk staff were very helpful; others were not. Hard to find the pool (no info in the room or in the elevator.) Could not access internet from room, but was able to use wireless in the lobby. There is a trolley stop right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 13, 2010

You don't get what you pay for

We did not get the room we paid for. We paid for a Diamond head view and bigger room and they did not give us that instead we got a smaller room. We also added another room for additional family that joined us and there were roaches in that room. The bathrooms were not cleaned well and you could see the old dirt in the bathtub. They also do not have the complimentary breakfast anymore as advertised. We had stayed at this hotel last year and found it to be in a good location. The complimentary breakfast was small but good. Our room was clean and we wanted to give it another try because of the location being one block from the beach and everything around Waikiki is within walking distance. I was very disappointed to have experienced it negatively. The hotel staff was friendly even though they made a mistake in our accommodations. They also gave us a small discount. We would have rather gotten what we paid for and was expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is good if you are not planning on spending much time in the hotel. It is close to everything and you can walk to any location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Discrete Traveler
Business
Nor Cal
May 19, 2009

Careful

The Hotel was average the problem was with the elevators, three total, 2 working. it took up to 20 minutes to get any where. The garage was tight if you had anything other than a compact plus $20 a day parking. The light in the bathroom wasn't conducive for doing anything in the mirror or the shower. The continental breakfast was very weak. Red apples and bananas was all the fruit,(yes no pineapple). Mini muffins, juice and coffee with powered creamer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of choices for dining just a short distance away. Jimmy Buffetts and Bubbas Gumps had excellent food and wonderful staff. Dukes awesome location good food, average service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phoenix GM Traveler
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 17, 2014

Business Trip

Hotel was ok. Parking entrance was a little tricky and card reader did not always work to get into the parking lot. Room floor was slanted from the back to the front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom in Japan
Business
Hiroshima, Japan
Mar 3, 2014

Affortable Hotel in Waikiki

Excellent Location. Courteous and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wailana Coffee House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
big island grown
Business
Hilo, HI
Mar 11, 2014

Weekend Getaway - Island Hopping

We've been to this hotel a few times before they had their upgrades and renovations. When I saw the online pictures and reviews, it seems that they did good on the renovations. The renovations in the lobby area were nice. They had complimentary ice cold water, fruits, and coffee in the lobby. It seems that the only renovations they did to the rooms were decoration renovations. They put nicer things up on the wall and now have nicer curtains and bedsheets. However, the beds are still as uncomfortable as I remember them being before. Oh and I guess they added the flatscreen TVs to the rooms. We didn't make use of any of the amenities like their new exercise room and their pool since we only stayed one night. It would have been nice to know that the parking cost $25/day beforehand. There aren't any other alternative parking nearby, either. Also, the power went out a few times during our one-night stay, and that just motivated us to check-out earlier than planned. On the plus side, the staff are very friendly. In the end, the price was decent for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an IHop that connects to the hotel, but for those who are local and would like to support the local mom and pop restaurants, then I encourage you to walk outside past IHop and check out Wailana Coffee Shop for food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Take your pick
Business
Phnom Penh Cambodia
Mar 20, 2014

Great location, something odd about the water...

Hotel was perfect, so close to beach and shopping, airport. Room size was good, bed was king. Downsides: Water never got above lukewarm in the shower, front desk said that is just the way it is. Water we used in coffee maker had an odd taste. Get a small car, parking lot is cramped. Front desk were only mildly helpful. Cleanly staff were far more friendly and diligent. Thursday night treats and singing was a dud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Lani Kai beach, it's not crowded, perfect sand.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy Okay
Business
Indonesia
May 1, 2014

Small Hotel but good location

ok ok ok ok ok ok ok..... closed to Waikiki... small room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford, Nova Scotia & Lakeland, Florida
Jan 14, 2010

Great view of Diamond Head, Ocean

I feel hotels should have bus/trolley schedules available in the rooms....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

About a 15 min walk to International Market Place, where you can buy just about anything cheaper... and the sellers are quite willing to barter...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top