$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
392 out of 392
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay area, CA
Oct 5, 2009

just so so, do not expect too much

Basically the staff are very friendly. But the check in time is forced to be 3pm. Also their computer system seems having bugs, we got a room where there had been people living, which made us go up and down 3 times when we were very exhausted. Also their key card always did not work when you came back from outside. We had to go to the lobby desk to enable our cards very often. Once we were at the garage gate and found our card not work, this put us in a very dangerous position because the slope to the gate is very abrupt and very short to slip into the main street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 15, 2007

Very friendly but needs more bang per buck

This hotel experience could have been so much better with very little effort/investment. Eg: in the high-end suite, which was very nice and roomy, there were only 4 plastic hangers, no luggage racks and coffee, soap,lotion were not replenished daily and there was no Do Not Disturb sign for door so housekeeping staff kept waking us up in a the am. The TV was mounted behind the bed which made it difficult to watch. Did not get wake-up call requested and mistake at front office had us checking out a day earlier which we only found out about from the housekeeping staff. That being said, all the staff was extremely pleasant. The Aqua hotels boast access to the owner providing personal numbers for General Manager and director of guest services as well. As we needed a bigger room and the staff was uncertain as to availability, I called the GM to see if a bigger room was available at another Aqua property. He called back immediately and expedited the request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom's Bucket List
Business
St Paul MN
Jan 4, 2011

Nothing spectacular

Booked this hotel because the description said it was accessible. The lobby was, but the room was not (we could just get the wheelchair into the room.) Some of the front desk staff were very helpful; others were not. Hard to find the pool (no info in the room or in the elevator.) Could not access internet from room, but was able to use wireless in the lobby. There is a trolley stop right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 13, 2010

You don't get what you pay for

We did not get the room we paid for. We paid for a Diamond head view and bigger room and they did not give us that instead we got a smaller room. We also added another room for additional family that joined us and there were roaches in that room. The bathrooms were not cleaned well and you could see the old dirt in the bathtub. They also do not have the complimentary breakfast anymore as advertised. We had stayed at this hotel last year and found it to be in a good location. The complimentary breakfast was small but good. Our room was clean and we wanted to give it another try because of the location being one block from the beach and everything around Waikiki is within walking distance. I was very disappointed to have experienced it negatively. The hotel staff was friendly even though they made a mistake in our accommodations. They also gave us a small discount. We would have rather gotten what we paid for and was expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is good if you are not planning on spending much time in the hotel. It is close to everything and you can walk to any location.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Discrete Traveler
Business
Nor Cal
May 19, 2009

Careful

The Hotel was average the problem was with the elevators, three total, 2 working. it took up to 20 minutes to get any where. The garage was tight if you had anything other than a compact plus $20 a day parking. The light in the bathroom wasn't conducive for doing anything in the mirror or the shower. The continental breakfast was very weak. Red apples and bananas was all the fruit,(yes no pineapple). Mini muffins, juice and coffee with powered creamer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of choices for dining just a short distance away. Jimmy Buffetts and Bubbas Gumps had excellent food and wonderful staff. Dukes awesome location good food, average service.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent traveller Mabel
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 28, 2009

not sure I'd book there again

After confirming early check-in time of noon, our room was not ready til after regular check-in time of 3pm - wasting our entire afternoon. Little ants were all over the place in the room. Breakfast was only available after 7:30am - a bit inconvenient for those of us who need to be somewhere for a tour or activity earlier in the morning. Our wake up call for 5am to make a taxi at 5:30am didn't happen until 5:35am when our taxi was already there. All in all, customer service is lacking at this hotel. Location was good. Linen was clean. Other than that, I don't have much more positive comments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Klutz and the JJ
Business
Upstate NY
Sep 14, 2011

Mediocre at best

My new husband and I spent 8 nights at the Aqua Palms, and lucky for us we like to walk and we didn't spend much time in the room. One morning they turned off the water from 5-7am, but since we had a planned excursion at 7, we didn't get to take showers prior to leaving. Another day we left our room at 730am- returned at 430pm and our room had not been touched. When I mentioned this to the cleaning person, she was apologetic, and offered us new towels. The hotel is located at the very end of the main "strip" so anytime we wanted to go out for food or entertainment, it always started with a 15-20 minute walk. We had an amazing time while in Hawaii and this had nothing to do with the Aqual Palms. If you don't mind a bare bones hotel experience, then you wouldn't mind staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For cheap beer and a great time, visit Senor Frog's on the main strip above PF Changs.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New England
Nov 2, 2009

Mediocre Hotel

[...] Also, the room service was really poor. When I complained to the front desk, I was told that you have to wash your own cups! They said that I should have a bottle of dish soap and a towel in the room which I didn't. Overall, the service was awful. The staff was nice, but unwavering. I will not stay there again [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great thai plae just across from the Ala Moana shopping center near the Walmart. Definitely worth the walk.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 22, 2010

Hotel review

I am a pool person and the pool wasn't heated. Would of loved to do water aerobics in the morning but the water was freezing cold. The room was too small for 2 people. There was not one mirror in the room, just in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bernie
Business
N/A
May 17, 2015

Room too small

Location for hotel is good. Room was definitely too small for a family of 4. Outside of hotel looks modern but the inside is outdated. Did not appreciate additional charges of $15/day for using coffee in room and $25/day for parking. Overall experience is poor. Not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top